We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection, good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Beer Company

The New York Beer Company
321 West 44th Street, New York City, NY
212-245-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The New York Beer Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,116 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 44th Street (between 8th Ave & 9th Ave)
Transit: 42nd Street Times Square Subway 1,2,3,A,C,E, N,Q, & 7 Trains
Description: The New York Beer Company is an exciting new Bar & Grill located at the historic New York Observer Building, in mid-town Manhattan. Close to Times Square, the theater district and the vibrant Hell’s Kitchen neighborhood. With occupancy for nearly 300 there is comfort for groups and parties of all sizes as well as regular bar patrons, theater goers & folks that live & work in the area. Open for breakfast daily at 7am, terrific lunch specials, pre fixed dinner menus and a vibrant late night scene, The New York Beer Company has something for everyone!
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stopped here for a beer and to watch part of a game before heading out to Shea on the Subway. Great beer selection with over 50 beers on tap and more bottles, mostly from various breweries on New York State. Friendly bartender let us sample a couple drafts we were contemplating. We didn't try the food but they have a great weekday lunch special with a burger, fries & pint for $10. Also, enough down 44th (between 8th & 9th) to get away from the bustle of Times Square. Great place to get off your feet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The New York Beer Company, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello there!

Thank you very much for visiting us at The New York Beer Company and for leaving a kind review on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our wide beer selection and that you found our staff to be attentive. Also much gratitude for mentioning our lunch special, hopefully you can come and enjoy it next time!

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff here know of your comments!

Thank you again. We look forward to you joining us again in the future!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New York Beer Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great selection of beers on tap! And terrific lunch specials. We had a BLT on multigrain. Very well done with fries. Can't beat the selection and service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The New York Beer Company, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Patricia!

Thank you very much for visiting us at The New York Beer Company and for leaving a kind review on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our BLT, beer selection, and attentive service.

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff here know of your comments!

Thank you again. We look forward to you & your guests hopefully joining us again in the future!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with quality of the food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A good beer selection. I enjoyed doing a flights of IPA's for side by side comparison. I say good beer selection, as most are widely available. I didn't see any hard to find gems.

The food was the biggest surprise. Very reasonable prices for NYC and the food was very good. We had a pizza and BLT and both were delicious.

I noticed on the way out that you can get a burger, fries, and a pint weekday lunch times, which is a great deal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The New York Beer Company, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi there,

Much gratitude for reviewing our establishment here after your most recent visit with us at the New York Beer Company. We're glad that you enjoyed our chef's BLT and pizzas, and beverage specials. We generally change our beer taps every week so feel free to ask a server or manager next time you come. You could also look at our website to see what we have available for the week: http://www.nybeercompany.com/bar/ Good or bad, each of our TripAdvisor reviews are taken into consideration to help us better our business. So your opinion is very important to us! We look forward to having you join us again!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place to meet for drinks and a bite to eat before a show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I frequently use The New York Beer Company as the meeting place when heading into the city for a show. It is conveniently located, within walking distance to the theaters. It is bigger inside than it would appear with high ceilings and a well designed floor plan with tables not sitting on top of one another. I like their beer cocktails. They were no longer in the menu today but the waitress was familiar with some of the more popular ones and despite that, the bartender was still able to make them for us. We like the hazy skyline..a combination of blue moon, absolut raspberry and chambord.
The food is good. They have the usual fare of sandwiches and burgers as well as brunch Items.
Would definitely recommend them as a pit stop before or after your Times Square jaunt. Great meeting point.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The New York Beer Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for frequenting our establishment here at The New York Beer Company for leaving some feedback here for fellow diners on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you found the our service attentive, and our drink specials and cocktails to your liking!

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff here know of your comments!

Thank you again. We look forward to you & your guests hopefully joining us again in the future!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good beer and burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went for a mid-afternoon lunch. They have really good $10 burger and pint specials from 11am to 4pm. Also really long HH hours as well.

The Maxed Out burger was really good. I was a little worried it was going to be so tall to be tough to eat as a regular burger but it was just right. Beef burger, pulled pork, cheese and bacon served with fries.

Full selection of draft and bottled beers available with a bunch of gimmick beer nights / self-serve beer keg table, etc.

I would return to try some other items on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The New York Beer Company, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello Jon,

Thank you very much for reviewing our establishment here after your most recent lunch at the New York Beer Company. We're glad that you enjoyed our chef's "Maxed Out" Burger, and beverage specials. Good or bad, each of our TripAdvisor reviews are taken into consideration to help us better our business. So your opinion is very important to us, Jon! We look forward to having you join us again!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New York Beer Company also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The New York Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Beer Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.