We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but nice, convenient and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Delancey St, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #110 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small, but nice, convenient and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed here for the location and the location alone, while wanting something predictable that a chain hotel provides. As with any non-luxury hotel in Manhattan, the rooms are small, but they were clean and accommodated my family when we needed sleep. and the hotel was conveniently located near Little Italy and the subway that took us to Battery Park which is all we needed. Also, the parking situation was as convenient as you are going to get in NYC as there was a private lot across the street that charged $41 for 24 hours, and I was able to get into my vehicle several times to put luggage in after checking out of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings Jason G,

Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy you were able to enjoy your stay and found our accommodations and location to your liking. The F,J,M Subway station is located just a block away from the hotel which can take you to any part of Manhattan in just 10-15 minutes! Please visit us soon in the city that never sleeps. We look forward to your next adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    139
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
105
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel had everything we needed plus it was so handy to the Essex St. subway station. The room was small, (but who cares about that? We didn't come to NYC to spend time in the room!) but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. AC was noisy, but didn't notice after walking 5-8 miles a day on tours, we fell asleep right away.

Front desk staff were helpful with transit instructions.

You should stay here. I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting a safe, clean place in an interesting area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings Becky_Wagner,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your amazing review with the TripAdvisor traveler community. Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family is glad we were able to meet and exceed all of your expectations during your leisure trip in NYC! Please visit us soon and do not forget to contact us in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is tucked away in LES in a great location. It is impeccably clean and looks like it has recently been renovated and updated to a crisp modern design. The staff were very helpful and always so nice and pleasant.
This will be our 'go-to' for NYC!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings Jennifer,

Thank you for your short but sweet review! Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side team is truly humbled by your words. We strive to ensure each and every one of our guests feel safe and comfortable while they are with us. Thank you for your recognition and for making us your home away from home. Don't forget to contact us in advanced and well have a small welcome back surprise set up for your arrival. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My absolute favorite hotel in Manhattan. Good location (near the Essex subway entrance), very clean, and well maintained. I love staying in the Lower East Side because of the great restaurants and the fact that it’s away from the crowds and high rates of midtown and other parts of the island. I love staying at the Holiday Inn LES because of the friendly staff and clean & comfortable rooms. And the cold water in the lobby is a nice touch – especially during the hot New York summers!

Being immediately over the Williamsburg Bridge makes the taxi ride to LaGuardia and JFK a lot quicker and cheaper than other parts of Manhattan. It's also an easy walk to the East River Esplanade which offers great views of the Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridges.

On our last trip to NYC, our flight was cancelled and we arrived two days later than originally planned. Because of the terms of our reservation, we were responsible for the two nights we missed but we’re repeat customers to the hotel and, after calling the manager to explain our situation, he did not charge us.

I will remain a devoted customer and stay here whenever I get to NYC!

Room Tip: I like staying on the Delancey Street side because of the view of the bridge and the World Trade Cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Greetings G S,

Thank you for your amazing 5 Star Review!! We are so delighted to read you had yet another magnificent experience with us. Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family would like to thank you for making us your home away from home. If you are not an IHG Rewards Member as of yet, its definitely a wonderful hotel loyalty program to be a part of. You earn points for each stay and can redeem them for free nights, memorabilia, gift cards, escapes and much more. We certainly look forward to your next stay with us, happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Ct
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the HI LES for a night in July.

The hotel is clean, the staff is excellent, and we enjoyed our stay.
The room we had was small, but there were 4 of us.
The immediate neighborhood is a little sketchy, but it's easy to get out of there.
The price was great.
I would recommend this hotel for any number of travelers.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for City View. The view is a parking lot across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Greetings Murbike,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback! It is delighting to read you had a wonderful stay with us. Our City View rooms provide a view of the city as opposed to some of our other rooms that face our courtyard which some of guests prefer for a quieter experience. They are also located on our top floors and have views of the Freedom Tower, Empire State Building etc. The F,J,M Subway station is located just a block away from our hotel, which can take you to any part of Manhattan in just 10-15 minutes! We certainly look forward to your next stay with us. Don't forget to take advantage of our Book Smart Deals that Work promotion for your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great stay the HI LES during 4th of July. This hotel served as a great base to view the Macy's 4th of July fireworks over the Brooklyn Bridge. This is my first time staying in a Holiday Inn branded property, and my expectations were exceeded. The service was great and on par with most other IHG properties that I have stayed in over the years. Updated room, on par with most modern style rooms in the city. We were upgraded to an executive room on the top floor, so I'm assuming the room had more space than a standard room. The space was more than adequate for two people. Everything was clean and new. Bathroom was large for NY standards and we had a great view of the new One tower. Staff were always polite. We are used to staying right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city (Times Sq., UES, UWS, ect.). This property is somewhat on the outskirts of Manhattan and bit more quiet one could say, which was a welcoming change. Still some traffic on Delancey though. There are not a lot of the tall buildings immediately surrounding the hotel that one would associate with NY. The area almost has a residential feel to it and there seemed to be more locals than tourists. Subway is very close and convenient to multiple locations around the city. This area is surrounded by some of our favorite areas in the city including SoHo, Chinatown, and Little Italy. There is a 7-11 near by which served our purposes for snacks and water. This location is also very close to Brooklyn which we visited. If you do face Delancey, it will be a little noisy at night, but the AC typically drowns a good amount of the noise out. The AC is a bit noisy and is pretty powerful, so it may a little uncomfortable is you are sleeping on the side of the bed that is closest to it. Privately operated parking lot is across the street from the hotel with good prices. All in all, we had a great stay. We visit the city about 10 times a year, so we will absolutely be back at the HI LES. Highly recommended!

Quick recommendations: Doughnut Plant is a few short blocks away. You must try the Tres Leches doughnut! Clinton Street Baking Company is a few blocks away also!

Room Tip: Face away from Delancey for no street noise (might miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Greetings GlobeTrekker1983,

Our Holiday Inn NYC-Lower East Side family would like to thank you for your stellar review! We are so delighted to read you had an amazing stay with us. It is our mission to meet and exceed guest expectations and your kind words are truly humbling. Please make us your home away from home, and to continue your valued loyalty we recommend joining our IHG Rewards Program for maximum benefits or if you already then wonderful! We look forward to your next adventure in the city that never sleeps, until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just completed a very pleasant three-day stay at this hotel. The lower East Side location is convenient to Chinatown, Little Italy and the financial district, and immediately across the Williamsburg Bridge from that section of Brooklyn. It is conveniently located 1 block from the subway.

Check-in was a breeze, and the staff were uniformly cheerful and helpful during our stay.

The rooms are modern and in good shape, though on the small side. Our room, located on the side of the building facing away from Delancey Street traffic, was quiet, a fact that my wife appreciated.

The hotel has a small restaurant which seemed to be reasonably priced for a NYC hotel. We preferred to head out into the city to grab breakfast, and so never tried it. There is also a fitness center and an "e-center" with two Mac computers that are free for guests. Neither was able to print out our boarding passes due to various glitches, but the desk clerk was happy to print them for us at her terminal.

If your travels take you to lower Manhattan, I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room. The north side of the building, away from Delancey Street is the quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Greetings KM2L,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are extremely happy to read you experienced a short but sweet stay with us. It's great you were able to explore our wonderful neighborhood and were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer. Our team members take pride in the service we provide to our guests, we thank you for your recognition and recommendation. Please make us your home away from home and contact us in advanced for your next booking. Happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Address: 150 Delancey St, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel is located in New York (East Village - Lower East Side), close to Lower East Side Tenement Museum, Brooklyn Bridge, and New York University. Also nearby are Federal Reserve Bank of New York and World Trade Center - Ground Zero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.