We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and no bad surprises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Delancey St, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #101 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money and no bad surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We picked this hotel for its location and its quality to price ratio, considering other people's reviews. We had no surprises : little Italy and Soho are really at a walking distance and the metro is right around the corner. Employees were nice and friendly. Rooms were very clean, everything was new and working but our room was a little too small for two persons. For example, you could only open one luggage, the other one had to remain vertical otherwise you couldn't walk around. There's only one closet for coats and pants. The bathroom was nice but again too small, except for the shower where you had plenty of space. The bed was comfy. We appreciated the tv: there was many channels and the flat screen was large and right in the middle of the bed.
The main problem with the room was that it was pretty noisy (which was not a issue for us as we brought earplugs) : there's a lot of traffic in the street, we were nearby the ice dispenser and the air conditioning was really loud and big.
The room service's breakfast is reasonably price but I would recommend to call to make the order, rather than leave your order on paper, as they didn't bring what we wanted. Also, they were late, so you might want to consider that if you're in a hurry (which we were not). The food was good.
We also tried the restaurant. Again, good value for money. The pastas were good but it took a while. The waiter was friendly. It was clean and the decor was nice.
As a conclusion, we had a really good stay, despite these small flaws, because we were aware of them and we knew we wouldn't mind them.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings Emma0047,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel location convenient to your traveling needs. It is also wonderful to read you enjoyed our hotel restaurant Retro Bar & Grill. We certainly look forward to your next stay with us and don't forget to contact us in advanced for your next booking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    131
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
76
99
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a great hotel for those looking for a less expensive place to stay in the city. The service was excellent, and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and a nice size, and there were many great places to eat nearby. There's a subway station right by the hotel, so it was very easy to get anywhere in the city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Greetings from the Holiday Inn Lower East Side family,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our traveler community ! We always strive for perfection and were so glad your stay with us exceeded all of your expectations. The F,J,M Subway station is just a block away from the hotel and can take you to any part of Manhattan in just 15 minutes! Thank you again for your recognition and recommendation, we look forward to your next stay with us, happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay, we had a king size executive room, the room was a good size with a very comfy large bed, great air con system and TV,also a good size bathroom with walk in shower.
Location at first glance could potential put off some guests, no need to worry although the surrounding area is a little raw we had no issues at all, perfect for the Metro, 15 mins max ride to any of the many great places to see in Manhattan, if you don't fancy the metro there are great resturants and pubs all within a 10 min walk away, also Delancey Street is brimming with passing cabs, cost us between $15 to $20 to get back from various points uptown furthest point being Central Park,we looked at staying nearer the mainstream Avenues but the cost was 30% more and the rooms half the size! We found all the staff very helpful and the hotel and room very clean, would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to rebook!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Greetings Steve G,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share you experience at the Holiday Inn Lower East Side. It is fantastic to read you experienced a marvelous stay with us. We are truly humbled by your words, it is our priority to ensure each and every one of our guests feels safe and comfortable while they are with us. Thank you for your recognition and recommendation, we look forward to your next stay, Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights for a family vacation to NYC. Location was great with subway station only a block away with easy commuting into midtown and other areas of the city. Burger King, 7-11 and Dunkin Donuts between hotel and subway, and other excellent dining options close by. We flew in and out of LaGuardia, and commute via a private shuttle at 6 am on a Tuesday was only 15 minutes. Hotel was clean and well kept, and staff was friendly and very helpful. Price was great in comparison to other NYC hotels we looked at. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Greetings wxinms1,

Thank you for your amazing 5 Star Review! We are sure the TripAdvisor traveler community will surely benefit from it. Our hotel location, the Lower East Side is a wonderful neighborhood with so much to see and explore, great restaurants and places to shop. Please make us your home away from home and contact us in advanced for your next booking!

Warmest Regards,

The Holiday Inn Lower East Side Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this gem for 5 days and 4 nights. I mention the days because out flight was a late one our last day and the staff worked easily with us in preparing for a late checkout - no storing luggage and returning later to collect it. The week we stayed was atrocious as goes the temperature. Our room was always cool and delightful. Staff were polite and friendly, always smiling at us when we left or returned. It's situated in a super neighborhood that is walker friendly and very close to the action on Houston street. Neat and affordable restaurants nearby. I can't say enough about this gem in the city.

Room Tip: This hotel does not provide breakfast but there is a cafe in the lower level that's more than ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings from the Big Apple!

Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family would like to thank you for your amazing review! We are so delighted to read you had such a perfect stay with us. Our hotel location is superb as we are surrounded by so many terrific restaurants, historic sites, arts and galleries and most importantly places to shop! We look forward to your return, and don't forget to contact us in advanced for your next booking. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Our son lives in the Lower East Side and we have stayed at various place when visiting. New York is known for small, expensive hotels; so our expectations were not high, even though this place had very good reviews here.

Upon our arrival, the desk staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze. When we opened the door to our room, we were shocked! The place was spotless. For NYC, the room was quite large. The bathroom had plenty of room and it was perfectly clean.

There is a subway station just down the street and cabs are simple to hail right in front of the hotel.

Every time we entered the lobby the staff greeted us. Security was very good, room keys we required to activate the elevators. Check out was fast and easy.

We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello fog49,

Greetings from your home away from home and thank you for your amazing feedback. Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family always strives for perfection and we are glad your stay exceeded all of your expectations. We like to treat our guest as family and are always willing to assist with any inquiry. We look forward to your return. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the rooms were really nice, lovely and clean and a decent size.The only thing was that it was a little hot at nights and the air con was too loud to keep on all night but Im from the north of england so not really used to the heat and it was 34 degrees while we were there

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello rebecca852!

Thank you for your amazing 5 Star Review! We are so glad our staff made such a positive impact on your experience with us. Our Holiday Inn Lower East Side family are truly humbled by your words, please make us your home away from home. We look forward to your next stay. Happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Address: 150 Delancey St, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel is located in New York (East Village - Lower East Side), close to Lower East Side Tenement Museum, Brooklyn Bridge, and New York University. Also nearby are Federal Reserve Bank of New York and World Trade Center - Ground Zero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.