We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY City Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Delancey St, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #94 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“NY City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister while visiting New York on a 3 day city break in Feb. We had a fab time, the hotel was in a great location for accessing all the sights, with the subway just a 2 minute walk away. We had a standard twin room which was very clean and spacious enough for us. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Greetings Gayle D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is fabulous to read that our rooms, staff, hotel location exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your future stays with us, happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    131
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
76
102
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We found this location buzzing and ethnic. The hotel was perfectly located from- 2 min walk - the tube, a short walk from Katz Deli and Chinatown. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows. All you need after a busy day sightseeing. Although there was a slight shortage of wardrobe space everything else was perfect for our family trip to NY. Jackie Poole , Dawlish, Devon, uk.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Jackie P,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience at the Holiday Inn NYC-Lower East Side. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed the vibrancy of our neighborhood and were able to explore the amazing restaurants near us. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to your next adventure in the city that never sleeps! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to my ailing uncle's nursing home -- only 3 long blocks walking - 10 minutes! I visited him for his 87th birthday.
I was very pleasantly surprised at the excellent customer service - I had read some reviews before booking it and called ahead to advise about a late check-in and to ask for a "quiet room" as I'm not used to city noise and was told they would do their best but that I had to wait until I checked in for availability. When I checked in I was granted my request - and the room I had was not only quiet, since it faced a courtyard, but it had a nice view of the Empire State Building from the window, was well appointed, clean as a whistle and very pleasant. My only "complaint" might be the noisy heating unit -- it took me a couple of nights to get used to it but the room was a perfect temperature.
The staff was very helpful when I asked about a small market (two blocks away), a deli for one of those famous NYC deli sandwiches for lunch with my uncle at his nursing home every day - (one block away) and when it rained, they lent me a lovely Holiday-Inn-green umbrella. Thank you!
Whereas I felt very safe in the hotel, as a mature woman traveling alone I didn't feel comfortable walking around that neighborhood after dark. Thankfully, my visit was uneventful, the location of the hotel was perfect for the purpose of my trip and I even had good weather (in the 40's) - no polar vortexes happened while I was there!
One other thing -- my cousin and I had dinner at the Retro Cafe downstairs the night I arrived and it was very pleasant, affordable and yummy! My cousin "built her own hamburger" and it was one of the most fantastic hamburgers I've even seen! The waiter was very attentive and courteous.
My reason for only 4 out of 5 dots rating is because of the dicey neighborhood, but the hotel itself was super and for those who are visiting the sights very conveniently located and affordable!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are wonderful if you are not into city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello CS,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn NYC-Lower East Side family! Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to read that our hotel location was convenient to your traveling needs and that our hotel staff were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. The "build your own hamburger" at Retro Bar and Grill is amazing, there are so many tasty toppings to add to create you perfect burger. We welcome you back with open arms and don't forget to call us in advanced for your next booking on your next visit to our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in years. Husband and I were looking for a hotel that would not cost us an arm and a leg. Price was great..front staff is incredible! Walking distance to China Town and Little Italy. Also felt very safe here. We will stay here again!!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Nannagirl,

Thank your for your amazing 5 Star Review! Our Holiday Inn NYC-Lower East Side family is so delighted to read that you experienced such a wonderful stay with us! If you aren't already an IHG Rewards Member, you should definitely enroll to become one of our loyal members. It's the largest Rewards Program to date and grants our members great benefits. Thank you again for your recognition and recommendation, we look forward to your next adventure in the city that never sleeps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked this hotel through expedia and ended up incredibly happy about the choice. The three of us stayed in a room with 2 double beds and would say it was comfortably sized. The bathroom fittings were all no nonsense simple, modern and practical. Similarly the beds served their purpose well, giving a good nights sleep throughout the stay.

What really made our experience at this hotel was the friendliness of the front staff as well as the daily room clean/change service, which meant we could return in the evenings to a home from home environment with new towels, pillowcases etc. Really top marks from us!

The computer, internet and gym services were also very welcome and we appreciated the option. In regards to location it is just in that perfect spot to travel out from and return to. There is a subway just a block down which makes it easy to travel further into Manhattan, towards Brooklyn and return to JFK when flying back.

When we return to NYC we will definitely consider booking back at this particular holiday inn. Personally for me the best hotel experience I've experienced so far in regards to budget and location. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Nam T,

Thank you for your amazing 5 Star Review!! Our Holiday Inn-NYC Lower East Side family is truly humbled by your kind words and pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Our main priority is to ensure that our guests feel at home while they are with us. Thank you again for your recognition and recommendation. Please contact us in advance for your next booking, and take advantage of our Book Smart- Deals that Work Promotion. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Given what I have paid for hotel rooms in New York before, this was a good room at a good price in a convenient location. Room was a bit small, but I wasn't there for the room, I was there for a clean place to sleep close to restaurants, attractions and nice neighborhoods. This did the job well, you're walking distance away from so much, at a rate lower than what you'll find at a lot of other SoHo/Tribeca/Village hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Sadosky,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn NYC- Lower East Side family! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us with the traveler community. We are delighted to read that you found our hotel location convenient to your traveling needs. We are located in a terrific neighborhood, home to so many amazing restaurants and historic sites. We welcome you back with open arms and don't forget to contact us in advance for your next booking! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in February, 2014. We got the AAA rate of only $117 a night, which is amazing for Manhattan. The hotel is very conveniently located just 1 block from the Delancey St subway stop and in the heart of the Lower East side. We walked everywhere we needed to go - LES, East Village, Soho, Chinatown. Tons of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

I had requested a quiet room because I'm 6 months pregnant. We were put on the top floor in a corner room. It was a great room - almost brand new, nice bathroom, great bed, really nice view looking all the way out to the new Freedom Tower. The room was quiet but not totally quiet - we could still hear sirens and taxis in the night time and were woken up a few times by people in the hallway. I think because of the location and price of the hotel it attracts a lot of young people - it seemed like there were lots of parties going on. But what can you expect for this price?

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. While the room was small, it was functional, very clean, and almost brand new. We had a nice TV, nice toiletries (Bath & Body Works), a really nice tiled shower, and a great view. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms on each floor that overlook the back of the hotel - I would ask for these if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello goldengirl217,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn NYC- Lower East Side with our traveler community. We are truly humbled by your words and are glad all of our accommodations and the beautiful views we offer exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next adventure in the city that never sleeps! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Address: 150 Delancey St, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel is located in New York (East Village - Lower East Side), close to Lower East Side Tenement Museum, Brooklyn Bridge, and New York University. Also nearby are Federal Reserve Bank of New York and World Trade Center - Ground Zero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.