We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Delancey Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #124 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Holiday Inn is not spectacular but worth the money. I had Room 301, the biggest one on the floor. Very comfortable bed, enough space for your stuff and very clean. I have been many times in NYC and the Lower East Side has become a hot spot, therefore the location of the Hotel is also good. Subway is only 2 blocks away. Very friendly staff and the restaurant in the basement is serving an outstanding omelet :-)

Room Tip: Room 301 was the biggest on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Peter_G017,

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next trip to NYC. Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    158
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
84
119
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PADOVA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is a brand new addition to the Holiday Inn group offer in Manhattan. This is a real deal! Although it seems a little bit out of the real downtown because you see it at the feet of Williamsburg bridge, actually this nice and well built hotel is very well located near the Metro and just at the edge of the lively lower east side scene.
Rooms are quite spacious compared to the New York City standards, furniture is new and modern, good looking. Bathroom has all amenities and finally the shower instead of the old fashioned space consuming bathtub!!! This way the architects saved some of the precious space and the shower is now quite big and well built.
Usual LCD big screen is paired with a huge choice of plugs for all types of connections
TV set with all plugs: HDMI, VGA, IPAD/iPod, VIDEO IN, AUDIO IN, USB DATA, USB CHARGER, INTERNET JACK AUDIO
Nearby there is a Dunkin donuts and an AT&T store in case you have to refuel your telephone after refueling yourself at the Dunkin.
The surroundings on the back of the hotel are very lively with dozens of restaurants, bars, pubs and all the kind of places the youngsters of the area prefer to visit to down a couple of beers.
Unfortunately this feature is also the cause of some noise on saturday evening. Guys are enjoying their evening out and don’t really care, at the point you can hear them even at 8Th floor!!
Beside this little inconvenience all the rest is absolutely above average and a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear KITER57,

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad to be the new hotel of choice in the Lower East Side. It is an up-and-coming area, as you mentioned. Convenience to the subway system is a huge plus, and lots to see and do nearby.

We hope to see you again. Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had been looking online for awhile trying to find a clean, convenient, affordable hotel in the city for our 3 night vacation. Everything was well over $200, and anything under seemed more like a hostel. So I was pleasantly surprised to find this brand new hotel in the hip LES for just $179 a night.
The hotel was very clean, with nice, contemporary decor that didn't look cheap. Our room was on the 6th floor & was very quiet for our entire stay; we didn't hear a peep of street noise, which seems to be unheard of in the city. Every staff member we encountered was very polite & helpful. They even stored our bags for us for a few hours after we checked out & handed us umbrellas when it was pouring down rain.
Besides the price, the best part of this hotel is the location to the subway, which is about a 2 minute walk. We also really liked the neighborhood the hotel was located in. We walked a few blocks to a restaurant called San Marzano one night for dinner & to also to the Clinton Street Bakery one morning for brunch. Both were delicious, if you're looking for places to eat in the area. I'm so happy we found this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear murgo,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We truly appreciate hearing from guests. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff. We are a brand new hotel with a great location in an up-and-coming area.

We hope to see you again soon. Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here for a two week and was happy with the overall experience. I picked this Holiday Inn as based on the reviews I had seen, it was new and clean. Well that is exactly what I experienced. The rooms were actually quite stylish and were big enough considering it is New York.
One note of caution is that Delancy Street is not the best place to be walking around late at night. Everything north of Delancy is great and there area several really good restaurants right up Suffolk to go visit. Houston Street also has a bunch of eating spots as well within walking distance from the hotel.
I've seen a bunch of complaints about the noise by other reviewers but well, it's New York City and comes with the experience.
Overall though this is a great deal in the city considering the price and the quality you receive.

Room Tip: Ty to get a view facing north as I was able to get a great view of the Empire State and Chrysler Bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear NJtoSH,

Thank you for the nice review. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff.

As you mentioned, there are many terrific restaurants and bars in the area, along with our own Retro Bar & Grill that is built in the 50's style diner with great American classic dishes. The Lower East Side area is really growing and becoming the hip place to be in the city.

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again. Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable and accommodating. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and I slept great. The surrounding area was so cool. Very walkable and felt safe everywhere I went. The noise level was low in my room, I was on the 4th floor with a corner room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear KacyE,

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend trip to NYC and it was absolutely perfect. We usually stay in New Jersey just to avoid the prices of staying right in the city but we went with a couple who wanted to stay in Manhatten. This hotel was exactly what we needed. Yes it was noisy, but if you were looking for a quiet peaceful vacation you've picked the wrong city! We kept the fan on during the night

The staff was very helpful and when we couldn't get the internet to work in our room I went to the front desk and they quickly reset it and had it working within a few minutes. They were also friendly and said hello every time we came back to our rooms and helped us with some toiletry items we'd forgotten.

It was the perfect location to hop on the subway (under a 3 minute walk to the nearest station) and get anywhere in the city. It was also easy walking distance to China Town, Greenwich Village, etc. The area is a little sketchy at night but really close to a lot of fun bars and restaurants. It is also right beside a Dunkin' Donuts which is my husbands favourite part of any trip to the USA and we got breakfast there every morning.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good price and wanting to stay in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Karebear85,

Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I love Dunkin' Donuts too! Glad it's so close for your husband. We hope to see you when you return to NYC for a visit.

Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was good on first sight - the lobby was clean and bright and welcoming.
The staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient which was super.
I was given an executive room quite high up - 7th floor (I think) and though it was small, it was immaculately clean and tidy. The hotel is quite a new build but I am a little concerned that if my room was an executive, how small were the standard rooms? There was room to move around the bed, but not much more.
The bathroom was again immaculately clean and well maintained though the design of the sink was a little odd - the tap was too close to the basin so hand washing was messy!
I was glad to have air conditioning as my room was south facing and opening the window was not an option due to horrendous traffic noise. The windows were double glazed but due to them being openable, obviously the seals were not great and the noise from cars and trains coming over the Williamsburg bridge was constant.
I ate in the hotel restaurant once - not really what I would call a restaurant, more a burger bar with a little drinks bar to one side.
the service was good and the food lovely but not much choice.
so all in all, not too bad, but it only gets 3 stars due to the awful traffic noise and bad windows!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street otherwise they will be in for a noisy night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear SopranoAlex,

Thank you for your review. I apologize if the size of the hotel rooms and beds were not what you expected. Our rooms have been described by many as a good size for the NYC market. Our king beds are indeed a full king size (U.S. 76" X 80"). As for the noise, and as with any hotel in NYC, if the window is opened there will be city traffic noise, but we are glad to have the AC functioning. We will have our Engineering Department look into the window seal issue.

Our restaurant, Retro Bar & Grill, is set to the 50's style diner theme and serves classic American food, but with a twist. Our bar serves several local brews on tap along with the big brands such as Budweiser and Miller.

Thank you for staying with us. It is our intent to ensure that every guest is pleased with every aspect of their stay. Next time you visit NYC again, please reach out to me personally and I will ensure that you get a room on the north side, which will be quieter.

Take care and safe travels.

Greg Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side

Address: 150 Delancey Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Holiday Inn New York City-Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On March 19th, 2013, the Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side opened at corner of Delancey and Suffolk Street, complete with a widely appeasing ambiance, decor, and amenities. This new, contemporary non-smoking boutique hotel brims with surprises-from the sleek walnut floors in our spacious guest quarters, to the impeccably adorned public spaces. Set in historic heart of Manhattan's Lower East Side, our friendly and familiar hotel delights at every turn, drawing repeat visitors with a heightened level of charm. From the linens to the lobby, the brand new reflects the joy, excitement, and luxury of the modern New York City lifestyle. Step through our boutique-style lobby, and you will instantly be treated with personalize service from our hospitality staff. Within the solace of our hotel, you will find free Wi-Fi, and many modern conveniences, including business and fitness center access and lobby snack shop. Enjoy service from our ever-attentive staff, delicious dishes from the tables of our in-house restaurant, and world-class amenities in the comfort of spacious and stylish guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.