We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I read lots of people saying it is so so small. I don't know what they are used to, this place was big enough for me and my giant suitcase. Clean and friendly. Close to the central station as well. And the roof top terrace, awesome! If you dont stay here, come for a drink to the roof top!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    773
    206
    33
    21
See reviews for
163
526
326
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My daughter and I stayed her while on a long weekend in NYC. It was a great price and great location. The room was small but well designed and had great furnishings and finishes (love the overhead rainshower showerhead!). Perfect for our needs and the location is wonderful - easy walking to many sites. We had a great time. Staff was helpful and friendly. Downstairs restaurant and rooftop bar draw alot of folks (mostly a 20s-early 30s crowd) but the room was quiet (even located near the elevator). Will definately stay again - or try the Pod 51.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My cousin and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights a few weeks ago. The place portrays itself very honestly in terms of room size and level of service. It is awesomely located - walkable to just about every where.
The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful at every turn.
Rooftop bar is extremely cool with great staff and inventive drink menu.
It gets packed by all manner of well-dressed yahoos as dark approaches.
Our room was right next to the elevators and we heard zero noise from that.
Having Salvation Taco on the premesis was an added plus.

Expect to stay in a reasonably priced POD in midtown and love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My best friend booked two rooms in Pod 39 in July. They ended up being double rooms and my husband and I preferred a queen room. The front desk easily moved us to a queen room when we checked in. All of the staff was great and very attentive. Even the rooftop bar had great bartenders!

Speaking of the rooftop, what a view!

The room was very clean and perfectly organized for it's space. Very modern and fun. We literally only showered and slept there so it was the perfect home base. The only thing I would say was a little different was the fact that the bathroom is close proximity to the bed and it is just sliding glass. So my husband and I actually went up to the roof restrooms when we needed certain bathroom privacy.

A few blocks walking distance to the Empire State Building and Grand Central Station and close to Lexington Ave that has many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

...they close the roof terrace for private parties, which when you travel to NYC for July 4th to watch the fireworks from the snazzy roof terrace of your kitsch hotel is more than a little irritating. I guess someone with more money than me decided to hire the rooftop, but they don't mention this is a possibility on their website, beyond saying the roof is open 'seasonally'. Don't factor in the roof terrace as part of the reason you stay here as it may well be hired out to the highest bidder whilst you're staying.

Back to the rooms - I stayed in the sister hotel Pod 51 a few years back so knew that small is the name of the game and I have to say it was just fine. I had a double pod and I think if there had been two of us we might have got cabin fever, but then who goes to NYC to stay in their room all day? Staff were all young, hip and friendly. Great location, much more of a neighbourhood than tourist area feel which is great. Five minute walk to Grand Central, fifteen or so minutes to Port Authority, near lots of diners and cafes etc. Lovely spot (just don't pick it for the roof terrace!). Wifi was excellent too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I guess I was spoiled from my first stay here when I had a room that was decent sized but my last two says were in much smaller rooms. I understand that is the nature of this hotel, but after explaining exactly what I was looking for and mentioning my ealrier stay, I guess I was expecting the same. But the room was clean, the bed comfy and check-in/out efficient. If you're staying in the city on your own nickle, this is a great option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The best thing about Pod 39 is the location. It is within walking distance to Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and many more. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around the hotel which was a great convenience for us.

The rooms are small, but when you are in New York you only need a place to sleep and shower. The rooms were cleaned daily. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked perfectly and the TV, although small, worked well.

The room we had had a double bed, a small desk and a corner for storage. There was additional storage drawers located under the bed.

Although there was a window in our room, we could not open it and sometimes when we got back to the room there was a stuffy smell in the room, but using the air conditioner this quickly disappeared.

The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by means of frosted glass. This may not be ideal for some people but we didn't find it a big hassle. The shower was lovely and toiletries were provided daily.

It would have been nice if a small bar fridge and coffee/tea making facilities had been provided, but according to the Pod hotels they remove all the unnecessary items to provide travellers with what they really need - a good place to sleep at reasonable prices. Although reasonable compared to other New York hotels, the Pod 39 hotel rates were still higher than hotels in other cities, but still far below the average rates of other New York hotels.

The (3) lifts sometimes took a bit long, but considering the number of rooms in the hotel this was to be expected. The decor of the hotel was quite funky and modern.

Breakfast at $3 for a coffee and croissant was on offer, but we never used this. There was also a rooftop bar and small restaurant on the hotel premises which we never used. They seemed popular as they were quite busy at night.

We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. They were efficient as well. Checking in and out was quick and they even offered to e-mail me the invoice for the room without me having to ask. We also asked them to arrange a shuttle to the airport for us and this was done quickly and efficiently as well.

In the hotel lobby there is a staff members that offers advise on tours and sights to do. We also appreciated the free ipad use opposite the lifts. We were able to print from the ipads for a travel pass we had booked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.