We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few blocks from Grand Cental Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
POD Free Walking Tours
Ranked #154 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a few blocks from Grand Cental Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed her mid-April 2012 with my 12 year old daughter. Had flown into White Plains & took the train to Grand Central Station. We stayed in a twin bunk room. Very small, but efficient. Was a short walk from Grand Central & a perfect place to stay after a long day of travelling. Was able to eliminate several cab & subway rides.

Very helpful concierge staff. Adjacent to very popular restaurant / bar - Salvation Taco.

Rooms are clean & efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    651
    178
    28
    18
See reviews for
138
434
279
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I shared a bunk bed room here for three nights and it met all our needs. If you are looking for somewhere with luxurious beds and lots of space then this is not for you. Everything is well designed with tvs, a shelf and a couple of power points for each bunk so that there are no issues with charging phones etc. The shower room again is very well organised - although the door isn't closed off so make sure you know the other person very well before sharing a room here! The only criticism is that although they had space to hang clothes and store a couple of tops, there wasn't any other storage space at all. However, as we were literally only sleeping and showering in the hotel it was a very convenient place to stay - and the location was fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The Pod 39 is the ideal hotel for a tourist visit in Ny for a couple. Take the queen size room, that is all ready small enough, but some things are well done in order to safe place. The place for the case under the bed, as the extra drawer under the bed to put some things. Ok, there is no wardrobe, but with some organization you find your way through. The bathroom is even small, but the shower is perfect. (You turn the tap whole the way to the left in order to have warm water - it took me sone time to understand the functioning). The room is cleaned up every day. We took a room on the 16th floor, but there are three elevators which do their job perfectly. Breakfast we normally took at the pret a manger at Madison corner.
The hotel is situated near the grand central railway station, which is beautiful but is also a stop for a lot of subway lines.

Wireless is for free and functions very good.

The only problem I never understand in a hotel is: why are the shower curtains always to small. You wont explain me that the 10 extra centimeter could make a difference and at least you would not have to wet the mirror.

But on the whole, we would certainly return here on a tourist visit to ny. We staid here for 5 nights but spent very little time in the room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a mini bunk bed, although room is small, it was very well designed and comfortable. Each bed has its own TV. Location of the hotel is a plus, central to eveywhere you need to go, Central Station is just 3 blocks away. Area is nice and safe..will be back again in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is decked out really nicely, it has modern fixtures & is kept super clean. The rooms are small and the frosted glass speparating the bed area from the toilet area make this perhaps not the best spot for a new couples first romantic break! That said it is surprisingly private.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar restaurant was really nice with an excellent range of beers and cocktails, didn't try the food but it looked great.

Location was perfect for a New York holiday, 10 mins walk to Grand Central, 20-25 to Time Sq.

All in this was a perfect hub for our weeks break, would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Rooms are small but manageable. There was enough room for all our bags (2 large bags, 2 carry ons and a back pack).

The bathroom is clean but the door is slightly awkward.

Overall, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me and a mate stayed at the Pod 39 for five nights.
Just returned, and can say it was a great experience.
The Pod is superbly located; very close to Grand Central station, and short walk to Times Square and Madison Sq Garden. Also walkable to Central Park.
Subway closely to catch train to Lower Manhatten.
The hotel itself is a great bargain for travellers to New York; a great price.
The mini-bunk room was fairly small, but we were only there to sleep. The bunk beds were very comfortable, with tv at the end of each bed.
The bathroom was, again, great; one of the best hotel showers I've ever been in - and a view across New York City!
We were on 15th floor; no noise problems.
Room was very clean and serviced each day.
All the staff were very attentive.
I would definitely recommend, and will return when next in the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.