We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and modern and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at Pod 39 for a few night this November. Reception staff were great, very friendly and efficient. Our room was small, we guessed it would be given the hotel name but it was very clean and modern, had a nice view of 39th street and some of the taller buildings in the area, and had everything we needed for our stay. Our own bathroom, free WiFi, a TV, phone, safe and hairdryer. We were a couple of blocks from Grand Central Station and the Chryslar building, NY Public library and Fifth Avenue, so location was brilliant. There a lots of places to eat with a minutes walk, we ate at the Hunan Manor Chinese restaurant just round the corner quite a few times and the food and price was great. Also ate in Scottys Diner, very nice too. Very glad I booked this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 15th floor of 17 floors. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    772
    206
    33
    21
See reviews for
163
525
326
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyumen, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was looking for just a shower and a bed between flights. I found myself in the smallest room i have ever been to, which was also freezing cold so I had to push the AC unit to max. There was also a bedside lamp which could be switched on only when the main light was on. There was a tiny window above the bed with a typical NYC view. I spent a terrible night dozing on and off listening to the AC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The heater wasn't working the coldest day in this winter. My room temperature was 60 degree. The manager asked me to have 'EXTRA BLANKET' to sleep in that cold. I asked him back how come he come up with that terrific idea. He said "well, some people likes to stay in cool." i finally switched over to the next room at 11pm, but i felt so sorry that i was not the one who likes to stay in cool and made his idea from 'terrific' to 'terrible'. It was so nice to stay the little, tiny, cosy bunk bed room in great location. But how they treated their guest was horrible!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The pod hotel is just that – pod-sized rooms for travellers looking to spend more time out of their rooms than in it but who want to get back to a neat place for a shower and some rest after all the walking and shopping.

The location is great since it is only a few minutes away from Times Square and other attractions.

The design of the room is such that it can only fit one or two people and is perfect for those travelling solo, for business, or as a couple. The bathroom is situated right by the bed and have glass doors but they have a frosted finish which gives you your privacy if you’re sharing the room with someone else.

The towels are clean and there’s plenty of shampoo and conditioner for everyone.

Although the hotel doesn’t provide any breakfast, there is a bar downstairs if you’d like to enjoy a drink at any time. There are also many restaurants around the area so you’ll never go hungry. The pod hotel is highly recommended since the other hotels in New York are either way too expensive or located further away.

They also have a concierge and cab facilities that are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Yes its very small- but clean and has all the amenities you need in a room in NYC. Your not going to spend alot if time in there anyway !!
Very easy access to Grand Central. May be a little awkward if sharing with a friend as the bathroom has glass wall and not very opaque at that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Superbly located on 39th St at Lex, just near the Chrysler building and a few blocks from Grand Central is this little gem. It's called a Pod hotel so don't expect spaciousness but you can expect a friendly welcome, a comfortable, clean room and a reasonably priced (and sized) breakfast. We were expecting small but the rooms have everything that you need including a lovely shower and full sized bed! We would recommend it as a great base to visit New York and would come again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a great stay here... maybe we are biased because we used to live in the neighborhood, but we found the location very convenient--three subway lines are accessible a few blocks away at Grand Central, and you can walk to much of Midtown easily, as well as hit the Morgan Library, Bryant Park, Koreatown... Empire State Building if that's your thing :)

The hotel is hip and lively, with friendly staff. Our room was very clean and well organized. Be aware that the rooms are tiny, so I wouldn't pick this place if I had a ton of luggage. But for a couple nights, it is very comfortable, and the small space is utilized very effectively. Our room also had a view downtown--a rarity in NYC hotels that often look out onto brick walls. For the price we got online, we were very pleased.

Be aware that the Mexican restaurant/bar that is attached to the hotel is popular, and on Friday nights the crowd spills into the lobby--it is not necessarily a tranquil spot. It didn't bother us, and we didn't hear noise in our room (on a higher floor) but if you dislike noise/crowds, this may not be for you.

All around, we found this a good deal for a central Manhattan location and were very happy with it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms DO have a view, so you could ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.