We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need with nothing you don't” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pod 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 451 hotels in New York City
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything you need with nothing you don't”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Don't be misled, if you want a big room, do not go to a hotel with the name 'pod' in the title. That said as one person in a double room it was PERFECT. Brand new bathroom, (much bigger than some much more expensive hotel bathrooms I have experienced in NYC), I had a window, THAT OPENED, and air conditioning that didn't wake me up.
It has an awesome roof top bar, great downstairs tacos. Super friendly staff. I will be back. Such a relief to find after so many grim NYC hotel experiences.

Room Tip: As always the higher the better :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    504
    146
    22
    13
See reviews for
104
323
227
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Chose the hotel for the price but was very pleased. We stayed in a bunk bed room which, although on the compact side, had everything that we needed. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and each bed had a flat screen tv. The room was surprising quiet and very cool (it was in the middle of a heatwave). The hotel was central to everything and although we did not try Salvation Taco it seemed busy and a fun place to hang out. For the money you cannot beat this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I chose this hotel for the location and price and was happy with my choice. Rooms, thought very small, have everything you really need, they are clean and aesthetically pleasing. Internet connection was good, and the staff were friendly. The first night I stayed here the price attracted me, but on other nights I saw the price rise which made me think twice and seem less worth it. Overall I liked this hotel and would stay here again at a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

i am a native new yorker without access to manhattan real estate at the moment but with plenty of reasons to be in new york city including family, friends, pizza and the yankees.the location really can't be better. i'm not in nyc to hang out in the room so this hotel served me well. the vibe is a little on the i'm so fabulous look at me side but in such a little way it was ok.i had a room on the top floor with the outside bar so there was a lot of loud and animated fabulous traffic but i like that noise so it was good. the hotel s clean as a whistle. the rooms are tiny but if you're staying at a hotel that calls itself pod 39 you should probably expect that you're not getting a suite. the price is crazy for the room in any other land but for nyc it is a great deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I walked into the lobby and was visually stimulated. Lots of color and people who were friendly and attentive. A great bar off the lobby was a plus. The room was very small but I was expecting it as it was only 75 Sq Ft. But, comfort wise, it was great. It was just what you need in NYC as you are out walking around. The location was decent and quiet.

Room Tip: You can choose a room with bunk beds but that was not something I wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I went to NYC for the weekend. We didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel room but didn't want a flea bag either. Pod 39 was just the ticket. Sure the room was smallish but this is NY. It was clean, the bed was fine, we had our own bathroom. The room was so quiet I actually slept in - which is like a miracle for me.

We had a drink on the rooftop deck. It was pretty crowded and we were definitely on the older end of the crowd. I went back up in the morning - a beautiful place to read with a cup of coffee.

Great location. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I requested a room in the back (away from street) and we were in the middle of the hotel (floor 9) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Pod hotels are trendy hotels in Manhattan, featuring small yet attractive rooms (pods). The vibe is colorful-compact.

We were greeted warmly and were told that our reservation for a "double" was upgraded for us, without charge, to a "queen."

Our room was not much larger than the bed and was sensibly designed to make the best use of the space. There was no furniture other than the bed, a night-table, and a chrome organizer unit. Under the bed is a large drawer labeled "Stuff" and an open space labeled "Luggage." In keeping with the "small" theme, the wall-mounted TV is also small.

Approximately 1/4 of the room is walled off by a partially frosted glass divider and sliding door, behind which was the toilet and shower area. It's a private bath with a "semi-private" feel, with some visibility into/out of the bathroom area a similar partial sound isolation :-S.The shower is rain-style shower delivering plenty of water.

We stayed on a 99º day, and the place was well air conditioned, both in the rooms and the hallways.

The only minor thing I noticed: the enameled masonite on the walls had some chips that were obviously inflicted by the installers - that took away from the otherwise clean room interior.

When we checked in, the staff recommended a visit to the rooftop bar on the 17th floor. It was wonderful, with a view of the East River, trendy (albeit pricey) drinks, and attractive old-world brickwork around the perimeter. Really a wonderful experience up there.

The offsite valet parking (with no in-out privileges) is approx 1 block away and was discounted from $47 to $25 with a Pod stamp on the ticket - not too bad for NYC.

I gave Pod39 a rating of Excellent because it is excellent at what it is - good value in a compact space. We paid $125 for one night ($147 with NY/C tax). If you want spacious elegance, you'll have to go somewhere else. If you want a cute, fun place and if small rooms don't bother you, you'll like this place.

Room Tip: It seems that not all rooms have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.