We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pod 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Pod 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
POD Free Walking Tours
Ranked #153 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ok if you have a short stay in NY and need somewhere central. V close to Grand Central, UN etc. Reasonable value. Rooms are clean and small, but quite well designed. Bring earplugs to sleep through all the students charging up and down the corridors.
Better than the Pod 50.

Room Tip: Get the end of a corridor to minimise noise in the night from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    652
    178
    28
    18
See reviews for
138
434
280
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is absolutely ideal for those who are looking for a clean room to stay in NYC. The location is great, right in the middle of mid town, couple blocks again from Grand Central Station, Penn Station, and Madison Square Garden.

The room was cozy and small, but practical. I reserved a single room and to my surprises, the front desk upgraded me to a double when I was there. It was clean, and practical. Since I only need the room to sleep, size of the room is not important to me. In the matter of fact, it probably bigger than the room if you are staying at your friend's place.

When I made the reservation, the rate was $195. My recommendation is to keep checking the rate until you check in. It seems that the hotel lower the rate on Tuesday and Friday. I found a cheaper rate before I checkin, and the hotel was gladly adjusted it when I phoned them. My rate ended up was $155 which was a bargain consider it is in NYC. If there wasn't any special event, the rate sometime goes as low as $125 (that's the rate if I go a week earlier).

The hotel has a rooftop lounge and bar. Great drink and atmosphere. For those who are not staying at the hotel, you will need to get the stamp from the Salvation Taco Restaurant on the ground floor. For those who are guests in the hotel, all you need is to show you room key.

Highly recommended and definitely will return.

Room Tip: When I made the reservation, the rate was $195. My recommendation is to keep checking the rate unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Pod 39 is ideal if you are looking for a bargain in NYC but don't want to give up on location. It's in a great area, convenient to both Grand Central and Penn Stations, with lots of dining options. The rooms are very compact but have comfortable beds and working WiFi. It's probably $50-75 a night less than other hotels in the area, but the only thing you give up is a little floor space and privacy. Excellent for solo travel - if you are with a friend, be aware that the bathroom in your room has glass doors/walls so you will not be keeping any secrets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This review for Rooftop Lounge & Bar only.

Fun place to meet after work. Close to Grand Central.

It's an open outdoor rooftop lounge (17th floor) with panoramic view of skyline.

Friendly waitstaff. Notably good homemade guacamole served with chips.

Selection of draft brewskies.

Small Gripe: Maybe it's a legal thing, but why the plastic cups?

Will return.

Room Tip: Arrive early...the access to Rooftop Lounge is controlled when too crowded after work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights which is a real luxury in NYC. I liked the style of this hotel. It's laid back and less stuffy than the Sofitel I stayed in the previous visit. The good parts: location is great, with plenty of bars and eateries nearby. It's also central to get to most destinations easily enough. It's modern, clean and stylish. The bars are busy and lively with a good quality selection of food and international drinks. There's even two full sized table tennis tables in the bar areas, which gave me the opportunity to thrash the wife with my superior skills!!

The not so good parts: the aircon is individual to each room. Surely that's good? Apparently not. It makes it impossible to resolve a noise problem if its emanating from another room, which occurred during my stay. There was a really loud and annoying rattle all night, every night. The maintenance guy was wonderful, but he couldn't fix the problem unless the occupier of the rattle complained. As they were young hipsters, they put their aircon at full blast so their room would be cool when returning from clubbing exploits at 4:30am!! Therefore no problem for them. The lifts were really slow, and the metal door of the room wouldn't lock from inside. The room size isn't like the example on the website so if that bothers you, beware. Mine was no more than 10x10 ft, including the bathroom!! It's very very small. Saying that, to me these were not that important as I put earplugs in at night and was out from 8am to 12:30am everyday. It's definitely a couples only hotel. Young couples will love this hotel, as its a hive and local haunt for young hipsters, and upper east yuppie types. It's very New York

Room Tip: Average room size is tiny. Avoid 15th floor as it gets lots if revellers to roof bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed in a queen room on a high floor. Room was more spacious than expected. Bathroom was more than adequate and had a sliding door to separate it. Only two minor gripes about this stay: room was a bit musty smelling but that happens when you put a bathroom in a bedroom (opening the windows solved this problem and provided a nice breeze). The second problem was the result of me opening the windows--it was loud. The rooftop is quite a scene but the noise from there continued well past midnight. Notwithstanding those minor issues, overall this hotel exceeded my expectations and was way less expensive than a room at any nearby Hilton or Marriott. I will likely stay here again when rates are outrageous elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent 4 nights in April with my teenage daughter; we got the bunk bed room and I could stand with my arms outstretched and touch each wall of the room. She thought it was fun; I thought it was perfectly acceptable. We were on the 9th floor; noise was never a problem. Our bed was right up against the window, so we couldn't open the shutter, but we could adjust the louvres so as to let light in. Yes, the beds are quite comfortable, and there are shelf lights next to each bed where you could put a glass of water. The bathroom glass door is a sliding door that is shaded-glass only in the middle portion of the door - so if one of us was on the toilet, and the other in the top bunk, we could see each other's faces. We laughed about it, but it's quite "intimate". We had only carry-on luggage, if you bring a larger suitcase you'll have a go of it trying to find a place to store it in that type of room. There are two hanging hooks in the bathroom. If you bring only a little bit of things with you, you'll be fine. If you pack like my mother with a change of clothes for every few hours, you'll be living out of your suitcase. The hotel is 4ish blocks from Grand Central which was delightfully manageable; and an easy 10-15 minute walk to Times Square. There is a bodega on the end of the hotel's block, and lots of little restaurants nearby. We went to a lasagna place for dinner at the end of the block (across from the bodega) and it was excellent. We ate breakfast at Pret a Manger - there are a few to choose from within 4 blocks. Luxurious? No. Comfortable? Yes, if you're okay with very small spaces.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pod 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.