We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lillie's

Lillie's
249 West 49th Street, New York City, NY (Midtown)
(212) 957-4530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lillie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #589 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway and 8th Avenue
Transit: 1, 2, 3, A, C, E, N, Q, R, and W Subway Lines.
south
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is decorated uniquely. Really neat. Good menu with reasonable prices. Food was decent, but nothing special. Lively bar atmosphere, and friendly staff. Near Broadway. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    110
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, food needs work...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived a few minutes late of our noon reservation only to find we had not to be concerned. The place had a few customers at the lengthly bar, but otherwise our party of four had the place to ourselves. We were led to a four top booth that the wife with poor knees had a hard time negotiating. I asked if they had any regular height chairs, the whole place is high tops. Not a place for the handicapped.

Our grandchildren decided on mussels and the lobster mac and cheese. I went with the Shepard's Pie with the wife going for the beef sliders medium rare. I queried our excellent waitress as to whether they could actually be served medium rare and got a no problem answer. I am sure you can anticipate the next sentence. Not only were the sliders well done, but the buns were black. They would have gone back, but timing was tight. The other dishes were well executed.

Take it off the menu if you can't toast a bun.

This place probably does a great after work business with the bar crowd. I will have to un-retire and give it a chance.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kaity's 21st birthday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went to Lillie's for my daughter's 21st birthday brunch. We were greeted immediately when we arrived and were seated in a great location. The ambiance and decor are beautiful. The staff was very attentive and the service was great. The food was delicious too! They even brought us a round of "chocolate cake" shots on the house to toast Kaity's bday. It was a great experience & I look forward to going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A great burger in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful Elizabethan-style restaurant, a stone's throw from Broadway. When you enter you feel the 'atmosphere of the past. The furnishings are antiques from France, Spain and Italy. The food is good (American menu'). The prices are not high. Try it!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The most beautiful bar in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Ok, so it wasn't a very long trip, and I'm sure that there are A LOT of very beautiful bars that I didn't get to visit, but this is an absolutely stunning bar. I only had a drink there, so couldn't vouch for anything else, but the decor is amazing, and the band playing the night we went were fantastic. Amazing to think that you're just a few steps away from the craziness of Times Square.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lillie's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lillie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lillie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.