We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical Decor and Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circo

Circo
120 W 55th St, between 6th and 7th avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305 (Midtown)
2122653636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Circo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,613 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, European, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: Subway: E M @ 5 Avenue / 53 Street B Q N R @ 57th Street / 7th Avenue F @57th Street / 6th Avenue
Description: The bright blue circus ring is hung with gold stars; sculptures of monkeys swing near the striped pole; a clown peeps down from over the kitchen door; and a trapeze sails above the bar-- Ladies and Gentleman, Boys and Girl of All Ages, Osteria Del Circo is open in Manhattan, and the atmosphere is electric!This sophisticated big top is the creation of restaurateur Sirio Maccioni, proprietor of Le Cirque; his wife, Egidiana, who is the supervising chef, and their sons; Mario, Marco and Mauro, who are the ringmasters, hosts and owners of Circo.Circo outdoor seating is now available.HistoryEstablished in 1996Authentic Italian Cuisine Sophisticated Big Top Décor Private Dining The bright blue circus ring is hung with gold stars; sculptures of monkeys swing near the striped pole; a clown peeps down from over the kitchen door; and a trapeze sails above the bar. This sophisticated big top is the creation of restaurateur Sirio Maccioni, proprietor of Le Cirque; his wife Egidiana is the supervising chef and their sons Marco, Mauro and Mario are the owners. Party room available for parties up to 20 people. Big restaurant parties accommodate up to 150 people
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Whimsical Decor and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We walked in without a reservation on a Saturday night, and we were grateful that they offered us a table for 4 immediately. It was not noisy which is why we came here. The decor was fun and whimsical. The service was excellent. We each had salad and one grilled octopus appetizer. All were very fresh and delicious. I enjoyed the Bronzino filet and our guests ordered the chicken entree, shrimp entree and the pasta (2 different types on the plate). Everyone was happy. Our wine was delicious but quite pricey at $19/glass. My dessert were the chocolate and vanilla filled donuts. It was a lovely dinner!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta S, Manager at Circo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Audrey,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sincerely grateful for your support wonderful dining experiences.

We are really happy that you enjoyed the appetizers, entrees and dessert. The chef is very pleased. We are also happy that service was up to your standards and made your evening enjoyable.
We value your patronage and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Bruno D, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    106
    49
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balmenach, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Warm welcome. We did not have a reservation but this was not an issue. Service was good and although busy we were well looked after. Selection of bread served to the table with the menus, plenty of it. Nice menu and the two pasta dishes we had were excellent. Good wine list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta S, Manager at Circo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear friend

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sincerely grateful for your support and positive feedback, and we hope to provide you with many more wonderful dining experiences.
We are very please that you enjoyed our pasta and service.
We value your patronage and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Bruno D, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellence, lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in NYC. I come here often for business lunches and family dinners. The food is excellent across the menu, and the gelati and sorbetti are the best in NYC. The staff are particularly helpful on matching wines with food while respecting your price limits. It's not noisy and the tables are well spaced. Bruno, the manager, watches over everything. He remembers returning customers but also treats newcomers like family. Especially at lunch, the prix fixe can't be beat! Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta S, Manager at Circo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Marshall,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sincerely grateful for your support and positive feedback, and we hope to provide you with many more wonderful dining experiences.

We value your patronage and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Bruno D, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We took our family for dinner last week. My granddaughter, a sophisticated New Yorker, ordered the caprese salad. She mentioned the mozzarella cheese had a acidic, sour taste, My son, whose background includes being a sous chef and a stint on the Food Network, tasted it and said that it had "turned." The waiter disputed that was the case and inferred that we did not know the taste of fresh mozzarella cheese. They replaced the salad - however, it was clear by their attitude they were not pleased about it. I was surprised they did not offer a dessert. We would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta S, Manager at Circo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear J46_13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our restaurant. We value your patronage and are sincerely grateful for your constructive feedback.

We are very sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience dining with us.

Regarding your comments about caprese salad which you found acidic, we have notified our chef and he agrees it was an uncommon occurrence and sends his sincere apologies.

Regarding your comments about the server we have identified the appropriate person and have disciplined him as we believe that the customer is always right.

We take our customer complaints very seriously and we always aim to improve and provide the best service possible.

We hope that you visit us again and we will make sure your experience is enjoyable.

Best regards,
Bruno D, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High quality and reasonable value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We thought the food was very good to excellent and the pricing reasonable for what we received. The branzino was probably the best I've had outside Italy--perfectly cooked, moist, and tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Circo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.