We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Run Place, Great Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doma na rohu

Doma na rohu
27 1/2 Morton Street, New York City, NY 10014
212-929-4339
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Doma na rohu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,485 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: German, Hungarian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh Avenue
Transit: We are two blocks from the Christopher Street or Houston Street subway stations. We are a few blocks from the West Fourth Street subway station. We are just a few yards from the M20 stop at Morton Street.
Description: Old World meets True Village in this charming, reasonably-priced restaurant featuring the best foods of Germany, Austria, Czech Republic and Hungary. Favorites include the Beef Gulash, Saffron Chicken Paprikash, Pork Schnitzel with Lingonberries and grilled specialties, including the standout hangar steak and the Sausage Platter. The well-rounded wine list includes wonderful Austrian and German wines, as well as some excellent French, Italian and Californian vintages. The tap beer selection includes Czech, German and Austrian beers, as well as a few local brews done in the Old World style. Masterfully designed to evoke the Old World while still feeling totally Village, the space lives up to its name. Doma means "At Home on the Corner," and the German light fixtures, reclaimed wood wainscoting, plaster walls, old Slovak prints and photographs are just what you imagine Great-Grandma grew up seeing in the Old Country. Or sit outside for a view of Village Life.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Run Place, Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had lunch here today at this family run restaurant that specializes in Middle European food with a few American items thrown in for good measure. The menu was full of interesting items. The soup and salad meal was wonderful. The soup was a cold chick pea puree and the sandwich was turkey, avocado and camembert cheese. We all had shared a pear and almond strudel that was served with a bit of caramel sauce and a scoop of rich vanilla ice cream. The service was very good and the atmosphere was nice in this indoor/outdoor restaurant. We would have no problem returning to sample other items.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin 8
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The menu though not extensive has traditional european styles and tastes. The duck is cooked to perfection and goes very well with red cabbage. For the very hungry go for the three sausages each prepared differently. Of course the beers here are as good as the food, for me the wheatbeer is excellent. On some nights they have live music-see website. For breakfast its also very good, the fruitbowl being especially nice. Watch also for the menu specials on the board. Service is excellent which helps of course.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Last time I was in NY I ended up trading in the hotel´s breakfast for the opportunity of trying out local Tribeca/Soho/Village cafes and restaurants, that´s how I came across this charming German/Austrian restaurant. The breakfast food is great, loved the cream cheese stuffed French toast. Service was good and attentive. The ambience is simple but cozy. Prices can be higher than what you are willing to pay for breakfast, but it was worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Returned Twice in One Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you're in the West Village of NYC, Doma is the place to go. Not overly expensive, the breakfast menu offered an assortment of delicious treats! I had the Bangers and Mash (twice). We stayed on Morton Street with our Uncle (he's a regular), so one evening we stopped in for dessert and listened to the live "Gypsy Jazz" group play for about an hour. Great place to meet friends and share or visit by yourself. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 10 days in NYC in May 2012, staying in the West Village at the Jones Street Guesthouse, which is run by the proprietors of Doma. We were just a short walk from Morton Street and we ate breakfast at Doma most days. Good muesli and scrambled eggs on the menu along with fresh juice. Service was good and the cost was easy on the pocket too.
We would try Doma again if we came to NYC.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doma na rohu also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Doma na rohu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doma na rohu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.