We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location but Canal Street is very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribeca Blu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribeca Blu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tribeca Blu Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   276 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 449 hotels in New York City
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb Location but Canal Street is very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Really nice hotel at a fair price for NYC. the location of the hotel is superb, you can get all over Manhatten and to Brooklyn and Williamsburg with the many subway lines that go from here. Within 3-4 minutes walk form the front of the hotel you are served by most of the main lines on manhattans Subway, great. Lots of great shopping just around the corner on Broadway, Prince Street, Mercer Street etc. Tribecas cool restaurants is just another 5 minutes walk in the other direction and little italy and little china just on your right when you leave the hotel. Loved the location!
Rooms were small, but hey, this is standard for a fair priced NYC hotel. They were modern, had a small coffee maker, big TV, lots of sockets to charge phones etc. It was clean and staff was friendly. ONLY downside, was the noise at night from Canal Street. We didn't know beforehand that Canal street is one of the main crossroads going from Holland tunnel to Brooklyn, which of course means lots of heavy traffic during the night. The new windows were unfortunately not soundproof, which made it a bit hard to sleep sometimes during the night. When this is said, I would still go back, because of the location and the prices versus quality. Next time I will bring my earplugs though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    28
    19
    14
See reviews for
17
83
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the more expensive corner King Room (apprx. $330 per night) - the facilities were good, nothing to complain about, BUT:

We were on the 3rd floor and at night the road noise from the outside was very loud. I've heard it's better if you stay higher up, so I specifically requested a room higher up when booking (months in advance!) but they told us it was unavailable when we arrived. Not cool. So don't count on that and bring your earplugs if you plan to stay here.

Location is good, close to metro and walking distance to major avenues and lower Manhattan, however the area itself is a bit shabby (Chinatown).

Overall not the best value for money but from what I understand it hardly gets better anywhere else in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, but don't count on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Tribeca Blu Hotel is very well located, near several subway stations, what is quite useful to visit New York.
The staff is nice, pleasant and helpful.

Our room (a twin bed) was really small, and if it was really clean at our arrival, it seems not to have been cleaned up during our stay, it's a pity!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beware,
Rooms are so very tiny, nothing like the pictures. Clim does not work, very hot and humid.
They charged our credit card for an extra night!!
Try somewhere else, even if the metro is near.
It is a crowdy and noisy area, all hight long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent four nights at Tribeca Blu over Canadian Thanksgiving. The location is fantastic, with the subway just outside, and it's a great location to explore from on foot, too.

Room is normal New York - small but makes good use of the space. HUGE bathroom. And everything was spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

it got really hot in our room. you had to call the front desk. they had to go to the roof to turn it on. also the computer does not work.for.wake up calls. the front desk staff is helpful i would only stay again if cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tribeca Blu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribeca Blu Hotel

Address: 276 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tribeca Blu Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tribeca Blu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribeca Blu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.