We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stay the Night Inc.

Save Saved
You added Stay the Night Inc. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stay the Night Inc.
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 East 93rd Street, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed solo last Monday night, in town for moms surgery nearby at Sinai. Great experience. Check in was easy and Robin added a nice touch of a room upgrade to a king suite. Loved the street, it was a nice experience to stay in one of the town houses you're usually just walking by on the more residential streets in NYC. Some nice looking restaurants very close by, subway for the 6 line blocks away. Be aware that it is a walk up of up to 3 flights ( not a problem ). True no breakfast but I knew that going in. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    12
    17
    12
See reviews for
35
50
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The king bed was two twin beds put together with a lump down the middle. The mattress hard and stiff. The only sitting spot was a metal fold out chair. The paint around the window was bulging and flaked as we lifted the shade for air. The refrigerator could not close so was useless. The shared bathroom was shabby and run down with stains in the sink, though clean. Robin was impatient and slightly rude. And how can it be called a Bed & Breakfast if it does not serve breakfast??? The cheap price gets you a cheap sleep, not worth it to us. We will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin_Hankin, Manager at Stay the Night Inc., responded to this review, April 13, 2013
The room rents for $125, and at that rate it is a great deal.
We do not serve breakfast, a fact which was communicated well before her stay, had she bothered to read her email. Pictures of the room are our website. The refrigerator door closes just fine- the mini-freezer door was open, which stopped the door from closing. Has she asked for help, I could have shown her how.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My 17 year old daughter and I were guests at Stay the Night over Easter weekend. The location was great - 1/2 block from Central Park and just a few blocks from the subway station. The ride to most sightseeing areas was less than 15 min with minimum transfers between lines. The brownstone is located in a mostly residential area of Manhattan with some great eateries nearby (Bagels Express and Yura were fantastic). The bed and breakfast was great for the price relative to staying at the same old chain places. It is not luxurious but had the old charm feel and appeared clean which was most important to us. We've stayed at upscale hotels before and had much worse experiences so no complaints here. Bed and breakfasts do vary by location however so don't expect the breakfast (but we knew this before we arrived).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There were four of us. We felt so much like the girls in Sex and the City. The bed and breakfast is in a really nice location. Mid Upper East and it is about a 5 minute walk to the 96th street #6 line of the MTA. The #6 is so convenient to travel to soho, canal st. St. Marks Place (nightlife scene) and of course Time Square.
The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The design of the rooms are of Victorian Era. Very classy. It is a 2 minute walk to Central Park by the Jacqueline Kennedy's Reservoir. There are many classy, but expensive restaurants around the area. Overall a great place to stay. They make it more homey by having baked cookies in a cookie jar out in the front table for guests to take and they were really good!

I would definitely come back. However, I wish there were actually breakfast at the bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kag0810
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband booked the room on the internet and we found it to be a horrible experience.
The location is great and the lobby is very nice but the room was smaller than most rooms in Paris sor London. My husband is 6 foot and his feet would dangle over the bed. The room itself was so small I am petite and could barely go between the bed and the wall to get to the bathroom. You literally had NO space - the room fit a queen bed a bedside table that had a refrigerator under it and that was it! there was no room for your luggage. The closet was bedside the bedside table and was a cut out closet- very small and fit 4 pieces to hang. It was clean but that is as far as I will go. The bathroom was similar to European bath- barely one person could fit in it.

Room Tip: Only if you are looking for a location- and you know you will only be in your room to sleep is this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin_Hankin, Manager at Stay the Night Inc., responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The room is exactly as advertized, and is clearly described on our web page, with pictures included (it is the Irene Suite). The room she stayed in rents for $100 per night. That's rightm $100. For $100 per night in the Carnegie Hill district of Manhattan, you get a small room with a Queen sized bed and it is a fantastic deal- do the most cursory check of hotel rates in our area and you will agree. We have big, beautiful rooms with King Sized beds that rent for $240 per night. I find this complaint to be utterly ludicrous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This well priced a(for NYC) accommodation is in a great location near Central Park on 93rd streeet, two floors up in a beautiful brownstone. Unfortunately there were problems with the Cecilia suite. One, with no way to control the heat (we did get permission to put a blanket on the radiator), we had to open the window. For someone like me who is a light sleeper and NYC is not a good place to sleep with a window open. Two, it would be nice to have decent pillows, the pillows were all really flat. The bed was very firm, you could feel the springs and of cheap quality. The room has great potential, but could use updating.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor and ask if there are issues with the heat as in the Cecilia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family stayed in the Madeline and Fox Suites.

PROS: Spacious, roomy and comfortable. Safe, quite neighborhood. Close to the park and museums. A few blocks from restaurants, markets, subway, etc. Robin responded to all emails and questions, greeted us on arrival, and helped carry our bags. Strong WIFI signal and all premium channels. Plenty of clean towels and bedding. Affordable upper east side brownstone living experience.

CONS: We were unable to control the heat. The Fox was too hot, the Madeline cold with a very noisy radiator. Even though the bathroom fixtures are old and unique, they didn't seem to be properly cleaned or sanitized. Gunk buildup around the shower door, etc.

NEUTRAL: The website states fully renovated, but that probably happened in the 1940s. The microwave/mini fridge/coffee maker were located in closets with power strips. The decor was mis-matched. If you get takeout, make sure you get your own utensils and plates, as there weren't any in the suites.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stay the Night Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Inc.

Address: 18 East 93rd Street, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay the Night Inc. 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast welcomes you to stay the night in the heart of New York City's Museum Mile. A classic New York Brownstone, the magnificent 150-year-old building has been fully renovated. Stay the Night boasts large Victorian suites, Jacuzzi tubs, wireless internet, and premium cable television. The bed and breakfast is located in Carnegie Hill, a landmark historic neighborhood on the fashionable Upper East Side. Find yourself on the steps of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Cooper-Hewitt, or even the Guggenheim in a matter of minutes! Fine restaurants and exquisite boutiques line Madison Avenue along with every day conveniences from drug stores to dry cleaners. A security guard patrols the tree-lined block at all hours so rest easy knowing your stay with us will be safe. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast welcomes you to enjoy the classic beauty of New York City with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Stay the Night Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay the Night Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.