We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What is Adverstised On the Internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 East 93rd Street, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
kag0810
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not What is Adverstised On the Internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband booked the room on the internet and we found it to be a horrible experience.
The location is great and the lobby is very nice but the room was smaller than most rooms in Paris sor London. My husband is 6 foot and his feet would dangle over the bed. The room itself was so small I am petite and could barely go between the bed and the wall to get to the bathroom. You literally had NO space - the room fit a queen bed a bedside table that had a refrigerator under it and that was it! there was no room for your luggage. The closet was bedside the bedside table and was a cut out closet- very small and fit 4 pieces to hang. It was clean but that is as far as I will go. The bathroom was similar to European bath- barely one person could fit in it.

Room Tip: Only if you are looking for a location- and you know you will only be in your room to sleep is this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin_Hankin, Manager at Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The room is exactly as advertized, and is clearly described on our web page, with pictures included (it is the Irene Suite). The room she stayed in rents for $100 per night. That's rightm $100. For $100 per night in the Carnegie Hill district of Manhattan, you get a small room with a Queen sized bed and it is a fantastic deal- do the most cursory check of hotel rates in our area and you will agree. We have big, beautiful rooms with King Sized beds that rent for $240 per night. I find this complaint to be utterly ludicrous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    56
    16
    17
    12
See reviews for
35
53
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This well priced a(for NYC) accommodation is in a great location near Central Park on 93rd streeet, two floors up in a beautiful brownstone. Unfortunately there were problems with the Cecilia suite. One, with no way to control the heat (we did get permission to put a blanket on the radiator), we had to open the window. For someone like me who is a light sleeper and NYC is not a good place to sleep with a window open. Two, it would be nice to have decent pillows, the pillows were all really flat. The bed was very firm, you could feel the springs and of cheap quality. The room has great potential, but could use updating.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor and ask if there are issues with the heat as in the Cecilia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family stayed in the Madeline and Fox Suites.

PROS: Spacious, roomy and comfortable. Safe, quite neighborhood. Close to the park and museums. A few blocks from restaurants, markets, subway, etc. Robin responded to all emails and questions, greeted us on arrival, and helped carry our bags. Strong WIFI signal and all premium channels. Plenty of clean towels and bedding. Affordable upper east side brownstone living experience.

CONS: We were unable to control the heat. The Fox was too hot, the Madeline cold with a very noisy radiator. Even though the bathroom fixtures are old and unique, they didn't seem to be properly cleaned or sanitized. Gunk buildup around the shower door, etc.

NEUTRAL: The website states fully renovated, but that probably happened in the 1940s. The microwave/mini fridge/coffee maker were located in closets with power strips. The decor was mis-matched. If you get takeout, make sure you get your own utensils and plates, as there weren't any in the suites.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed not in the main location, but in a studio they have on the 87th st. It is an amazing bargain - for around USD 100 you get a full studio apartment with a kitchenette and even window AC in a nice safe and convenient neighborhood. Of course the apartment is pretty old - but thats NYC...

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you, very nice place to stay. Close to the everything and very convenient : Russian Embassy, Central Park entrance on the 90th street , Metropolitan Museum and bus #4 takes you to the Time Square. We will be back .
Marina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the beginning of July and we had a great time. Our room had a shared bathroom and was located on the 4th floor. We have found everything nice, clean and comfortable. The location is also great, a few steps from Central Park and close to the subway. All considered (cost of the room, location, cool old building) it is a great deal, and we would surely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed the night in the Lorraine which is on the 4th floor of this lovely brownstone. Located in a safe and secure neighborhood, close to Central Park and subway (96th Street); it's an ideal place to lay your head at night. Robin was extremely kind, espescially when we didn't have a reservation. He was able to accomodate us on short notice, even carrying our bags three flights up. I highly recommend staying here. Another check mark off my dream list of being able to experience what it's like to live in a brownstone in New York City! I can't wait to go back & I will definately be staying at Stay the Night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 East 93rd Street, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast welcomes you to stay the night in the heart of New York City's Museum Mile. A classic New York Brownstone, the magnificent 150-year-old building has been fully renovated. Stay the Night boasts large Victorian suites, Jacuzzi tubs, wireless internet, and premium cable television. The bed and breakfast is located in Carnegie Hill, a landmark historic neighborhood on the fashionable Upper East Side. Find yourself on the steps of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Cooper-Hewitt, or even the Guggenheim in a matter of minutes! Fine restaurants and exquisite boutiques line Madison Avenue along with every day conveniences from drug stores to dry cleaners. A security guard patrols the tree-lined block at all hours so rest easy knowing your stay with us will be safe. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast welcomes you to enjoy the classic beauty of New York City with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.