We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
18 East 93rd Street, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 84 New York City B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed not in the main location, but in a studio they have on the 87th st. It is an amazing bargain - for around USD 100 you get a full studio apartment with a kitchenette and even window AC in a nice safe and convenient neighborhood. Of course the apartment is pretty old - but thats NYC...

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank a z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you, very nice place to stay. Close to the everything and very convenient : Russian Embassy, Central Park entrance on the 90th street , Metropolitan Museum and bus #4 takes you to the Time Square. We will be back .
Marina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the beginning of July and we had a great time. Our room had a shared bathroom and was located on the 4th floor. We have found everything nice, clean and comfortable. The location is also great, a few steps from Central Park and close to the subway. All considered (cost of the room, location, cool old building) it is a great deal, and we would surely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScienCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed the night in the Lorraine which is on the 4th floor of this lovely brownstone. Located in a safe and secure neighborhood, close to Central Park and subway (96th Street); it's an ideal place to lay your head at night. Robin was extremely kind, espescially when we didn't have a reservation. He was able to accomodate us on short notice, even carrying our bags three flights up. I highly recommend staying here. Another check mark off my dream list of being able to experience what it's like to live in a brownstone in New York City! I can't wait to go back & I will definately be staying at Stay the Night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahs_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in the McKenzie Suite which was on the 4th floor. It was an actual New York 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishwasher, toaster, dishes, silverware, glasses, cups, just everything you would need for your stay. We truly loved the neighborhood on the upper East Side right by Central Park. We stayed for 3 days and wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and other tourist attractions. Everything was just a cab or subway ride away. While the Stay the Night is old, that is what attracted us to it. If you want modern and all the amenities that come with staying in a hotel, then stay at a hotel. We knew we were going to be on the 4th floor with no elevator, but those stairs are really steep. Robin said he would put in an elevator right after we left!!! Ha, Ha! He was just joking of course, but seriously we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazy4mel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spoke to Robin at Stay the Night a week prior to my wife and I's visit to NYC to see an off-broadway show for her birthday and was offered the Barnes Suite. I provided my credit card number and was told I could not arrive for check-in until after 4 pm the day of our stay. We planned accordingly and spent the day touring the city. Upon arrival at 5 pm, we were told that our room was already occupied, that Robin had no record of our reservation or conversation, and all other rooms had been booked months in advance. Due to the 'mix up' and our show being only a couple hours away, we were forced to pay double our budgeted rate at the only hotel we could find (via smartphone) with availability. The last-minute forced change of plans lead to us arriving 20 minutes late to our show.

I would highly recommend any traveler booking with Stay the Night to require Robin to provide you with a confirmation number or email to formalize your reservation. I overlooked this step because of the seemingly intimate and casual approach to the reservation process when I spoke to Robin over the phone. I'm not sure if anyone else deals with reservations, but it appeared to be a one-man shop which suffers a bit from a lack of organization.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin H, Manager at Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
I never heard of this guy. I searched for a record of any conversation with him when he showed up- I never received an email or phone call from him, never received any of his credit card information, nothing, The guy just showed up out of the blue demanding a room that had been booked for months prior to someone else. Our reservation process is very thorough. Upon requesting a room, we place a temporary hold on the room until we receive the credit card information. We then send a copy of the bill to the Guest for them to look over, at which point (and not before) the reservation is set. Two weeks prior to their stay, we send a confirmation email to ensure that everything is going ahead as planned. In the event that I never receive the credit card information, I make several attempts to contact the guest before I cancel the hold on thed room. This guy simply never made a reservation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I booked a staycation here a few years ago and it was adequate. The room was dark and slightly shabby, but it was spacious and had everything we needed.

Pros
- Spacious
- Safe and quiet neighborhood
- Large window with view into the garden

Cons
- Furniture was somewhat shabby and slightly musty
- Broken tiles in bathroom and didn't feel very clean
- At night the room is very dark. The lighting is very low.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatelmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#326 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,986 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 East 93rd Street, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanently closed. Thank you for the many great years! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing