We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 3, Get 4!
Ranked #60 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Spacious room, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We had a large room with a kitchenette and 2 queen beds and an Aeron desk chair . High quality bedding. Genuinely friendly service at the front desk.
Near Penn Station and the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADMgr, Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Dear Spadina2,
Thank you for giving readers your positive feedback on the Affinia Dumont. I’m pleased to read that the spaciousness, comfort, location, and overall quality exceeded your expectations. Our front desk team is known for the warm service they deliver to all of our guests, and I will be sure and pass on your comments to them. If your travels ever bring you back to the Big Apple, I hope you choose to stay with us again.
Be well,
Glenda Maldonado
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    1,071
    197
    70
    30
See reviews for
1,257
974
122
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Affinia Dumont on a four- day vacation and we totally enjoyed the hotel and city. The Affinia was in a great location and the room was tastefully decorated and very spacious. There was nothing missing in the accommodations--full kitchen and beautiful bath. We'll stay here again when we visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADMgr, Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Dear Travel2learn56304,
Thank you so much for choosing the Affinia Dumont as your destination hotel in New York, during your trip with your sister. I’m sure you both enjoyed all the great things the city has to offer, and glad that our hotel was in a desirable location for your travel within the city. Pleased to read that you enjoyed the size and décor, as well as the convenient kitchens we offer in every room. Mostly, so appreciative that of your loyalty to the Affinia Dumont fan, and that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Be well,
Glenda Maldonado
Asst.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

First trip to NYC, with my two daughters. FANTASTIC!! Loved the city---loved our hotel! Great, great location and neighbourhood---everything you need all in one block. Walking distance to several tourist attractions. Very friendly, helpful staff. We had a junior suite, complete with full working kitchen---loved it! Fresh fruit from the street vendor outside, grocery and pharmacy very close by. Enjoyed the fitness room --- would definitely stay there again! Can't wait to return to NYC and the Affinia Dumont!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfraser, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Braun17,

Thank you for the positive review and the generous feedback on our recent stay with us. I’m delighted that you found the location so convenient for your NYC visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and thanks for being a loyal Affinia Dumont guest!

Be well,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We visited the Dumont first as a couple over Labor Day 2009. In June 2010 we returned with our two children. We'll be spending our anniversary there in November 2010. We love the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The location is terrific. It's right in mid-town, close to everything but has a nice neighborhood feel. The rooms are quiet and very spacious and the housekeeping staff does a great job.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfraser, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear MichelleBrass,

Thank you for your loyalty and for telling others of your experiences at our Affinia Dumont. We appreciate you sharing your generous feedback. We’re so pleased that you love the hotel so much that you have chosen us ,time and time again, to celebrate special milestones with your family. We look forward to welcoming you back in November, and please let us know if we can do anything for your anniversary stay this upcoming fall.

Be well,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Location is right smack in the middle of everything. Shopping, food, grocery store, pharmacy are all nearby. It was near several good restos, like around the block. Cab and subway were easily accessible. The room was clean and relatively quiet and private. The staff are pleasant and obliging. The only thing that prevents me from giving a full 5 star was the concierge who wasn't too kind and made us wait for ages. It was better to seek help for the bellboy or front desk who were more than willing to help. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfraser, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Annabanana70,

Thank you for your praise and positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m delighted that you found our location so convenient, and that our staff provided great service. I’m sorry to learn of your experience with our Concierge. I have shared your feedback with our concierge team, to ensure we prevent such repeat occurrences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well,

Don Fraser.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

First trip to NYC. Great location. Easy accessability to sites, shopping, eating, and subway, but far enough away from too much activity. Very friendly and helpful staff. Extremely quiet and comfortable rooms. Price very reasonable. Surprised to get so much for the money! Hope to go next year and will be staying w/ Affina Dumont.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Fantastic hotel in excellent location. Room very spacious for family of 4 and views on higher floor were amazing. All staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble from getting a guitar delivered to the room to a stretch limo to the airport. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again on our next vist to New York.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in vibrant Midtown East, the Dumont NYC t has a little something for everyone. As one of the top boutique hotels in Midtown East NYC, business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. And everyone loves our Skyline Suites, with inspiring views of the historic Chrysler Building and tranquil East River. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.