We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be bragging for a long time about this stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Save on affinia.com!
Ranked #70 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Will be bragging for a long time about this stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Every aspect of my stay at the Affinia Dumont exceeded my expectations. The rooms, the cleanliness, the politeness and knowledge of the staff. From the moment I checked into a beautiful room, to the moment I was assisted with my bags/cabs to leave for the airport I was thoroughly happy with my visit. A good portion of my plan to return to NYC is based on what a splendid experience I had at the Affinia Dumont. I so appreciate the great few days and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Emily H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your complimentary review! As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we exceeded your expectations. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    1,118
    212
    75
    30
See reviews for
1,314
1,012
127
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived after several hours of travel to find a friendly receptionist . With a fast check in we found a comfortable quiet and spacious suite. Bathroom was very clean and the bed was so very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear murray8377,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I would like to thank you for providing us with a 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our spacious, clean suites. We hope to welcome you back as our valuable guest soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I recently stayed at the Affinia Dumont with a group of friends and I couldn't recommend it more. The hotel is in the perfect location so we were able to walk to Broadway, Grand Central Station and Time Square. It was also really close to the subway. The staff was super helpful and the suite was beautiful and clean (clean being really important to me). The view was probably my favorite aspect of the hotel--our room overlooked the Chrysler Building, which was so nice to wake up to. We booked a suite and I recommend that if you have a group. I also recommend taking advantage of the free wine hour the hotel offers every day!

Room Tip: Suite was large and had a door to separate the bedroom from the main room so people could have priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Stancy222,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Affinia Dumont. As the General Manager of the Hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After calling from the road to say we would be checking in late on Easter weekend, we were surprised to arrive at 11:45 pm, after a long day of travel, to find the hotel had given our suite to someone else. The night manager apologized, and offered us a $50 rebate on a much smaller room, and said a cot would be brought in (we were three adults and had booked and paid for a large suite). He promised that they would move us into our reserved skyline suite the following day, and for the rest of our stay. The next morning we packed up, left for the day, and returned after a play, once again at midnight, to find our reserved suite had been given to another guest; our packed bags were in the room exactly where we left them. This was completely inexcusable, especially as it required stressful negotiations two nights in a row on a precious 3 day vacation. I insisted they give us another room for our 25 year old son, especially as the smaller room they put us in turned out to be $75 less (not the $50 they offered), and to their credit they did. But I had to ask.

The rooms are nice and it's a great location, but if they don't honour their reservations, even after they deduct the amount from your credit card, how can the hotel be trusted?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear 322Susan,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations during your most recent stay. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Please contact me directly at the hotel so that I can rebuild your trust in our ability to provide you with only the highest levels of service. I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Large guest suites with a kitchen. Great staff. The wine hour from 5 - 6 was a nice touch. It was my first time staying in this part of Manhattan. Its a great area - Murray Hill. Lots of Restaurants nearby. We walked everywhere and when we didn't feel like walking the subway was nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Mike D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Affinia Dumont. We are so pleased to hear our spacious rooms and genuine service exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you back at our Wine Hour soon!!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Ok first of all, the staff here deserves some serious recognition - especially Paul. He gave us the royal treatment and was so easy to work to find the right suites for our group. He even moved us up to a higher floor because they had availability.

The hotel itself is a dream....from the fruit water & free wine happy hour in the lobby, to the views of the Chrysler Building, to the enormous size of the suites - this place beyond exceeded my expectations. I've stayed in teeny tiny rooms in NYC for double or triple the price of what we paid so I was nervous we wouldn't have enough space for our ladies' weekend. Boy was I wrong! Our suites even came with a kitchenette which was perfect for breakfast in the room, or late night leftovers. The views at sunrise were breathtaking, definitely worth waking up for!

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to bop all around the city. It's a quick walk to the subway, and easy to catch a cab. You can't beat it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor! As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I am pleased to hear your girl's weekend at our property exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalesund
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed 5 days at this hotel on our first whole family trip to NY. Unfortunately there was no room vacant on our arrival day in spite of our reservation placed 4 months earlier with expedia.com. The staff arranged one night at the nearby Afinia Shelburne and we got our room on the 28th floor the day after. There were a lot of apologies and we weren't charged for the first night. We had a room with 2 queen size beds for the four of us - 2 boys at the age of 16 and 17. Nice and clean rooms with a convenient size and possibility to prepare small meals in-between. Great location with walking distance to Empire state, Chrysler and UN. Metro-stop 5 min walk form the hotel. Breakfast and dinner restaurants close by.
We had a discouraging start after a long journey to NY but the staff did what they could to compensate for it and we ended up with really enjoying our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Jorn H,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our service levels exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any future assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.