We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night!
Ranked #70 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Ok first of all, the staff here deserves some serious recognition - especially Paul. He gave us the royal treatment and was so easy to work to find the right suites for our group. He even moved us up to a higher floor because they had availability.

The hotel itself is a dream....from the fruit water & free wine happy hour in the lobby, to the views of the Chrysler Building, to the enormous size of the suites - this place beyond exceeded my expectations. I've stayed in teeny tiny rooms in NYC for double or triple the price of what we paid so I was nervous we wouldn't have enough space for our ladies' weekend. Boy was I wrong! Our suites even came with a kitchenette which was perfect for breakfast in the room, or late night leftovers. The views at sunrise were breathtaking, definitely worth waking up for!

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to bop all around the city. It's a quick walk to the subway, and easy to catch a cab. You can't beat it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor! As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I am pleased to hear your girl's weekend at our property exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,172
    1,135
    217
    76
    30
See reviews for
1,341
1,023
128
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalesund
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed 5 days at this hotel on our first whole family trip to NY. Unfortunately there was no room vacant on our arrival day in spite of our reservation placed 4 months earlier with expedia.com. The staff arranged one night at the nearby Afinia Shelburne and we got our room on the 28th floor the day after. There were a lot of apologies and we weren't charged for the first night. We had a room with 2 queen size beds for the four of us - 2 boys at the age of 16 and 17. Nice and clean rooms with a convenient size and possibility to prepare small meals in-between. Great location with walking distance to Empire state, Chrysler and UN. Metro-stop 5 min walk form the hotel. Breakfast and dinner restaurants close by.
We had a discouraging start after a long journey to NY but the staff did what they could to compensate for it and we ended up with really enjoying our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Jorn H,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our service levels exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any future assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A change in travel plans found me in NYC and I needed a place to stay pronto. I made the reservation online. I have stayed at a sister property - the Affinia Manhattan -- and loved it, but had a bad experience there recently. So, I wasn't sure what to expect by staying here.

I was glad I took a chance. The room was awesome and everyone was so friendly, especially the bellman with the fedora! (Sorry I don't remember his name. It was very late when we arrived!)

Our room had a full kitchen, kingsize bed and a huge desk area. The room was very clean and the bathroom and shower were wonderful.

I was sad that we spent less than 12 hours in this room given our travel but definitely will try to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: You should know that they take a $50 charge on your credit card for incidentials which is reversed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Yepitsme2014,

We were sad to see you go! Can't wait to have you back for a longer stay soon! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any future assistance.

regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Affinia Dumont. We spent a long weekend touring NYC and were stunned by the generosity and service we encountered, particularly in Paul Y. The suites were gorgeous and the views unbeatable (we were on the 33rd and 36th floor). The daily wine happy hour, pillow service, and friendly staff were all great perks. We thought the prices were very reasonable and easy to get to subway lines to get all over the city. Would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved the suites on the 33 & 36 floor. Unbeatable skyline views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear SaraJoy12345,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Affinia Dumont. As the General Manager of the Hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to sharing your review with Paul as well! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I cannot believe how nice this hotel was for the price. Great location, shockingly huge clean/pretty rooms, gorgeous Empire state views, free wine hour (?!?!?). We saved a lot of money eating breakfast/snacking in the full kitchen- it was a huge perk.

The staff was also super helpful and sweet at times I thought for sure they would be annoyed with me. I had to add (then switch) check in names, switch the credit card on the room, and then I asked to be moved to a higher floor for an even better view... and Paul Y. hooked up each and every annoying request with a smile. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor! Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear aconokc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Affinia Dumont. As the Hotel's General Manager, I am pleased to hear our service and rooms exceeded your expectations. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest soon.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

As in every holiday there was a crowded hall waiting for check in and the staff was very busy to arrange our early check in and warm welcome. We couldnt get an upper room as requested and took a long walk waiting for the 16:00 call to finally check in. Not a big deal. The room was great and we had the chance to upgrade to a 33th floor skyline suite after the holiday. The huge room got a marvelous view. Best hotel experience ever. Made our stay in the big apple memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Renato B,

Thank you for your review of the Affinia Dumont on Tripadvisor. As the GM of the hotel, I am pleased to hear you had an opportunity to enjoy our spectacular views. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the Big Apple.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in two rooms on the high floors with wonderful views of the Chrysler.
I love the iconic building and watching it slowly light up as the sun set was wonderful experience.
The hotel rooms were huge with a small kitchenette and separate bedroom, lounge and bathroom areas. In addition to the large wardrobes in the bedroom thee was also a large hanging area in the hall. Parts could do with a little TLC but otherwise clean and practical.
Whilst the hotel is not central, we never had to walk far to anything. The Empire State is 5 minutes walk and 5th avenue around the corner, 5 minutes to grand Central and 15 minutes to Times Square. There is also a Subway satiation close by with easy travel to Battery or Central Park.
The big bonus with the Affinia was the free wine in the afternoons. How wonderful to walk through the door after a hard day sight seeing to be given a chilled glass of white wine.
The staff are friendly and greet you as you returned each evening welcoming you back.
We would definitely stay again on our next visit to New York.
Hertfordshire, UK.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear ERH _59,

Thank you so much for your kind words. As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I am thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on having some of the best views in the city from our Skyline Suites! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.