We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Dumont

Save Saved
You added Affinia Dumont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Affinia Dumont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free $50 Credit!
Ranked #48 of 449 hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The reviews for the Affinia Dumont sounded too good to be true but the reality was better than the reviews. We booked a Junior Skyline Suite which had great views of the Chrysler Building and the East River, the kitchenette was a major plus as it allowed us to have breakfast and some dinners in the room which goes some way to offset the additional cost of the room. The nightly happy hour hosted by the staff in the foyer was a nice touch and it was interesting to chat with the staff. All in all a great place to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Pay the additional cost for a Skyline Suite, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Bill C,

I am delighted to read your review of your most recent stay at the Affinia Dumont!
It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed the Junior Skyline Suite and the breathtaking views of the Chrysler Building and the East River. These dual views are some of my favorite as well. Additionally, thank you for joining us for our daily wine hour which our management team hosts in the lobby from 5-6pm. It’s been a huge success thus far and just like you mention, it provides a great socializing platform for many of our guests to chat and get to know one another. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont and I would love to have you back again!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,969
    1,005
    188
    67
    26
See reviews for
1156
906
117
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel offers lavish space for 2 adults and 3 teenage kids in one room consisting of one large bedroom and one large living room with comfortable sofa-bed en suite with a large bathroom, separate kitchen and wardrobe space. The upper floor rooms have a tremendous city view of mid-town high-rise buildings. It is perfect location for exploring all of Manhattan and has very high cleaning and service standards at quite affordable prices. Clearly a must-stay place the next time my family visits NYC.

Room Tip: At reservation ask for top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear CphHenrik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with your teenage kids and found our spacious suite with the pull-out sofa bed very comfortable. And our location is simply perfect whether it is for a family or business travelers, we are close to everything NYC has to offer. We hope you will choose the Affinia Dumont for many more trips to NYC.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Affinia Dumont for 4 nights during a fall break trip last week, exploring New York City. The hotel was a great value, room size was large, facilities were clean and nice, and the location was extremely convenient. The small grocery store 3 doors down is a great convenience. There are some great restaurants within a few blocks- Try S'MAC directly behind the hotel (YUM!). This location worked great for us and our 15 year old daughter. Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel. It's not a Four Seasons, but it is well appointed, clean, spacious, and friendly hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Vacationtorelax,

Thank you for your review.
The Affinia Dumont is a boutique hotel located in the heart of the tranquil Murray Hill neighborhood right on 34th Street between Lexington and Third Avenues. The location simply cannot be beat – central to anything and everything that interests you from shopping to dining to all the tourist attractions you can think of – everything is walking distance. And if you are not much of fan of walking, subways, buses and taxis are just steps away. Our Suites are some of the most spacious hotel suites in New York City which feature a fully equipped kitchen in every suite. Should you require more utensils than are available in the suite, simply dial our friendly front office team and everything will be delivered to your suite in a matter of minutes.
Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with a staff that goes above and beyond! Every worker we encountered was friendly and very helpful. In particular, Juber is a true asset to this hotel and was an absolute delight! He kept us laughing the whole time and was always ready and willing to answer questions and offer advice about the area. He loves his job and it shows!

The room was huge and clean. I have absolutely NO complaints. It was a perfect stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear SC7694,

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont. I’m thrilled to hear that we did not disappoint – and that you had a perfect stay! From the immaculate suites to our exemplary customer service. Our guests keep coming back because our team truly prides themselves in what they do and just like you say – it shows! I look forward to welcoming you many more times in the near future. Once again, thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed 7 nights at the Affinia Dumont and found the hotel and the staff added to what was already a fabulous holiday.
The extra space was a blessing for all the shopping bags and when a friend came to stay on the sofa bed. with 3 girls in the room for 5 nights, we did not feel at all in each others space.
Extra touches such as a yoga mat and blocks and nail files and polish remover were nice.
Concierge were great and helped us out with tickets to Broadway, places to go and booked us in to a restaurant which was one of the best we have been to in a long time.
Whilst it was a little more than we had originally planned to spend, it was well worth it and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear nik_f_sydney,

Thank you for your review. I’m very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us – especially our spacious suites and our perfect location, which is very close to all the major NYC Attractions whether you choose to walk or take the closest NYC subway with a station on 33rd Street and Park Avenue. And of course, our team is available 24/7 to assist with any concierge inquiries or reservation requests-everyone is here to help you enjoy this very special time in New York. Thank you for staying with us this time-we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We (a family of 4 from Copenhagen, Denmark) just spent a week in New York - and Affinia Dumont was in all regards a very good experience! The hotel is very comfortable, clean, and centrally located in a more quiet area of Manhattan. We had a fantastic view from our room on 29 th. floor. The service is at it's best. Stephanie in the reception makes you feel very welcom and whatever you ask for, she will help you - with a great smile. A good way to begin exploring Manhattan. Thanks a lot. We will get back.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2906 - for a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jesper Jul M,

Thank you for this exceptional review! I am thrilled that our staff made sure you had a wonderful stay at Affinia Dumont which made your New York City experience that much more special! We truly have some of the most genuine and friendly associates in the NYC hospitality industry. In addition, we have some of the most spacious suites offering breathtaking views from our Skyline Suites. Thank you for staying at Affinia Dumont this time; we certainly look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My parents and I stayed at a suite at the Affinia Dumont for a week while celebrating their 40th anniversary. It is undoubtedly one of the better deals to be had in Midtown.

VALUE: The Affinia Dumont is probably best suited for families with a moderate budget. The rooms are by no means cheap, but are extremely spacious by NYC standards for the price. (Thrifty travellers who are not claustrophobic may be better served by the nearby Pod 39.) For longer stays, consider the weekly rate, which costs only about as much as six nights would, and waives the otherwise exorbitant Wi-Fi charge.

LOCATION: The hotel is conveniently located in Murray Hill. The subway is about a 5-minute walk away and Grand Central is about 10. The area is relatively quiet, but has a lot of great restaurants nearby.

SLEEP QUALITY: I can only comment on the sofabed, but it was more than adequate. Outside noise was not an issue.

ROOMS: The rooms are definitely the selling point of this property. Our well-appointed suite felt more like a condo than a typical hotel room and had an enclosed bedroom with attached bathroom; living space with sofabed, desk, and HDTV; and kitchenette. The only complaint I had was about the ambient lights, which would sometimes emit a loud buzzing sound.

CLEANLINESS: The rooms were consistently clean.

SERVICE: The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They even wished my parents a happy anniversary and provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine. When an inaccurate minibar charge appeared on the bill, they corrected the error promptly.

I cannot recommend the Affinia Dumont highly enough. Even my parents, who are not the type to praise hotel rooms, were impressed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Aaron R,

Thank you for your very detailed review of your recent stay at Affinia Dumont.
I have to agree with you on the points mentioned: Affinia Dumont is an exceptional value considering the extremely spacious suites, fantastic location, exceptional service and the fact that our staff keeps the hotel immaculately clean.
I’m delighted that your parents had a great stay with us and were able to truly enjoy their 40th anniversary! What a special celebration and please pass on my Congratulations to them!
Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont this time and I look forward to seeing you many more times.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Affinia Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Dumont

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Affinia Dumont 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in vibrant Midtown East, Affinia Dumont has a little something for everyone. As one of the top boutique hotels in Midtown East NYC, business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. And everyone loves our Skyline Suites, with inspiring views of the historic Chrysler Building and tranquil East River. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Affinia Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Dumont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.