We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dumont NYC to your Saves list
Dumont NYC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly Affinia Dumont) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Suites only $199
Ranked #59 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my wife and three children for a week. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen makes the trip so much cheaper. The hotel is well located, close to restaurants, supermarkets and delis. The only downside, as previously mentioned for the hotel, is the excessive internet charges. It is free to use the wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: The Chrysler building view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Adam P,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It’s wonderful to hear that Affinia Dumont suited your family so well – especially our spacious suites! Whether you prefer to make a ‘home’ cooked meal or dine out, you are perfectly situated to supermarkets (just a block away) and a plethora of restaurants (just choose whether you want to head out on Lexington or Third Avenues). I thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    1,069
    197
    70
    30
See reviews for
1,256
973
122
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Every stay has been superb. We have never had a problem, and the size of the rooms for NYC is extraordinary! Perfect location, close to fantastic restaurants and attractions. The only comment I have is how the price has increased so much for this hotel in the last few years it feels like it will soon become unaffordable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Regina W,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your most recent stay and provide us with your review. It looks like you had a wonderful stay with us and definitely enjoy our suites and our lovely location in the heart of Murray Hill. Hotel prices vary based on a number of factors throughout the year; I invite you to visit our website where we routinely offer great deals and packages that might suit your needs and preferences. I do hope that we’ll see again soon at Affinia Dumont.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was there for an extended stay and got a room with a kitchenette. The kitchenette was not fancy but it worked for my needs. The rooms were clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. And the wine hour was a nice touch...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Susan G,

Thank you for your review. It looks like overall you had a wonderful stay with us and definitely enjoyed our Wine Hour which we host each evening in the lobby from 5-6pm. It’s such a pleasant experience to have our guests socialize over a complimentary glass of red or white wine for an hour and learn more about one another. And it’s a perfect opportunity for our management team to get to know our guests and offer suggestions whether it’s for dinner or subway directions, whatever the conversations may bring up. Thank you for staying with us – we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is the absolute BEST! Spacious and large rooms for NYC. VERY clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York that wants an excellent location and fantastic room. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Miss Krista M,

I am incredibly pleased to read such a positive review from our very content guest! First and foremost, thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont and taking your time to provide us with your review! We highly value your feedback and the wonderful comments you expressed about our product and staff. We highly pride ourselves on having some of the best hospitality professionals in New York City who keep the Affinia Dumont immaculately clean and provide exceedingly superb service on a daily basis. Once again, many thanks for staying with us – we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for a week on 36th floor facing north and had great views room was good with 3 adults in a jr suite start with a tour of the room by Alex who told us of great places to eat and to see close to the hotel. We did not know the Empire State was just up 34th street. Steph and Simone in the front were very helpful with directions and nothing was to hard. Used the hotel bike for a ride thru the streets and Central Park which was fun. Time Sq and Central Park were very close so we walked to most locations taxi to uptown or downtown was about 10 dollars so when walking got to much we took a cab.

Room Tip: Go for the jr suite it is great for 2 or 3 adults if willing to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for such a great review! You had one of the highly coveted corner Skyline Suites that overlook the Chrysler Building as well as the East River. Watching the sun rise in the morning over the East River is such a tranquil yet uplifting experience. And yes, yes, the Empire State Building is literally just steps away from the Affinia Dumont right on 34th Street. Additionally, it’s such a pleasure to hear that our staff what accommodating and helpful with all your requests and inquiries. You are absolutely right, nothing is too much too as they genuinely go above and beyond for our guests. We hope that we’ll have the pleasure of your visit very soon again.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The friendly, helpful staff made staying at the Affinia Dumont a pleasure. We had a reasonable sized room with two queen sized beds, a good view and a kitchenette. Beds were very comfortable. There is a bus that goes right along 34th Street and takes you straight up to Macy's and Penn station if you get tired of walking. Both young people and middle aged people staying in this hotel - good friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tamika2406,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am pleased you chose the Affinia Dumont and had a great stay with us. It’s even more pleasing to read about your wonderful experience with our staff and that you found them friendly and helpful. I’ll be sure to share your review with them as they love hearing positive feedback from our guests. Once again, thank you for staying with us this time. I look forward to your visit soon again.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at the Affinia with my 21 yr old son.Absolutely wonderful.Stayed on 26th floor and the view was stunning. Large room with two very large and comfortable beds.Full kitchen with cooker,fridge,toaster,microwave-everything you need!.Nothing was a problem for the staff-always helpful and nothing was a problem.Free wine hour was just very popular and just what we needed after those amazing shopping days.Central for all attractions and will definitely stay again when we return in the near future,,,,hopefully

Room Tip: views from the higher floors are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear holidaymaker213,

Thank you for your amazing review! It’s such a pleasure reading about your stay at the Affinia Dumont and in New York City…
Yes, the view from our high-floor Skyline Suites is breathtaking – especially if you have one of the corner rooms and get the dual view of the City as well as the East River. Simply stunning! And our Wine Hour, of course highly successful and popular, has been a great meeting and socializing point for a lot of our guests, and I thank you for stopping by and getting a glass of wine. I look forward to your next visit soon-we are just a call or click away.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumont NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly Affinia Dumont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in vibrant Midtown East, the Dumont NYC t has a little something for everyone. As one of the top boutique hotels in Midtown East NYC, business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. And everyone loves our Skyline Suites, with inspiring views of the historic Chrysler Building and tranquil East River. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dumont NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumont NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.