We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Dumont

Save Saved
You added Affinia Dumont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Affinia Dumont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Activity Credit
Ranked #57 of 446 hotels in New York City
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is the absolute BEST! Spacious and large rooms for NYC. VERY clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York that wants an excellent location and fantastic room. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Miss Krista M,

I am incredibly pleased to read such a positive review from our very content guest! First and foremost, thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont and taking your time to provide us with your review! We highly value your feedback and the wonderful comments you expressed about our product and staff. We highly pride ourselves on having some of the best hospitality professionals in New York City who keep the Affinia Dumont immaculately clean and provide exceedingly superb service on a daily basis. Once again, many thanks for staying with us – we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,850
    947
    181
    64
    26
See reviews for
1066
869
110
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for a week on 36th floor facing north and had great views room was good with 3 adults in a jr suite start with a tour of the room by Alex who told us of great places to eat and to see close to the hotel. We did not know the Empire State was just up 34th street. Steph and Simone in the front were very helpful with directions and nothing was to hard. Used the hotel bike for a ride thru the streets and Central Park which was fun. Time Sq and Central Park were very close so we walked to most locations taxi to uptown or downtown was about 10 dollars so when walking got to much we took a cab.

Room Tip: Go for the jr suite it is great for 2 or 3 adults if willing to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for such a great review! You had one of the highly coveted corner Skyline Suites that overlook the Chrysler Building as well as the East River. Watching the sun rise in the morning over the East River is such a tranquil yet uplifting experience. And yes, yes, the Empire State Building is literally just steps away from the Affinia Dumont right on 34th Street. Additionally, it’s such a pleasure to hear that our staff what accommodating and helpful with all your requests and inquiries. You are absolutely right, nothing is too much too as they genuinely go above and beyond for our guests. We hope that we’ll have the pleasure of your visit very soon again.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The friendly, helpful staff made staying at the Affinia Dumont a pleasure. We had a reasonable sized room with two queen sized beds, a good view and a kitchenette. Beds were very comfortable. There is a bus that goes right along 34th Street and takes you straight up to Macy's and Penn station if you get tired of walking. Both young people and middle aged people staying in this hotel - good friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tamika2406,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am pleased you chose the Affinia Dumont and had a great stay with us. It’s even more pleasing to read about your wonderful experience with our staff and that you found them friendly and helpful. I’ll be sure to share your review with them as they love hearing positive feedback from our guests. Once again, thank you for staying with us this time. I look forward to your visit soon again.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at the Affinia with my 21 yr old son.Absolutely wonderful.Stayed on 26th floor and the view was stunning. Large room with two very large and comfortable beds.Full kitchen with cooker,fridge,toaster,microwave-everything you need!.Nothing was a problem for the staff-always helpful and nothing was a problem.Free wine hour was just very popular and just what we needed after those amazing shopping days.Central for all attractions and will definitely stay again when we return in the near future,,,,hopefully

Room Tip: views from the higher floors are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear holidaymaker213,

Thank you for your amazing review! It’s such a pleasure reading about your stay at the Affinia Dumont and in New York City…
Yes, the view from our high-floor Skyline Suites is breathtaking – especially if you have one of the corner rooms and get the dual view of the City as well as the East River. Simply stunning! And our Wine Hour, of course highly successful and popular, has been a great meeting and socializing point for a lot of our guests, and I thank you for stopping by and getting a glass of wine. I look forward to your next visit soon-we are just a call or click away.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 8 nights in NYC and loved staying here. The Skyline 1 Bedroom had a huge bed and ensuite. The lounge room was massive too. Two TV's and a small but convenient kitchen. Great for our family of four even though the kids thought our bed was way more comfortable than the pull out sofa lounge. The restaurant downstairs provides room service and there is a Baskins and convenience store on the corner too. Walking distance to Times Square 20-30mins and 10mins walk to the East River Ferry. Empire State Building and Macys on the same street 10mins walk too. Subway stop 5mins walk. We were even able to get a 10lb bag of washing done for $10 at the cleaners around the corner. Wash and fold. Staff always very helpful and room and amenities very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Janelle C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! The Affinia Dumont is perfect for longer stays such as yours especially when travelling with a family (with children). Our One-Bedroom Suites are spacious enough and come with either one King Size bed or two Queen Beds. And of course, the living room and bedroom are completely separate each featuring a large flat screen TV with a fully equipped kitchen to make you feel right at home and an oversize workstation should you have any work to get done. And not to mention our attentive staff who anticipate your needs and ensure that all of our requests are executed in a timely manner. Next time, for all of your laundry needs, please visit our laundry facility in the basement which will make your stay even more comfortable. Once again, thank you for staying with us! I look forward to your next stay at the Affinia Dumont!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is situated on East 34th Street and has lots of great cafés and restaurants nearby (Murray Hill area) including Jimmy's BBQ, Vezzo, Fatburger and Pie Face. All were reasonably priced. The portions at Jimmy's BBQ in particular were massive. A starter of nachos, fed me, my boyfriend and there was still some leftover! It was very studenty at night.

The Affinia Dumont is a great hotel. We went for a standard studio apartment for 2 people. The room was spacious (and quiet) and the bed was huge, with a firm mattress. The hotel offers a pillow menu, so you can choose the type of pillow which suits you best. We went for the magnetic therapy ones and slept like babies! There was a kitchen area with a large fridge, hobs, microwave, sink and cutlery and dishes were supplied. We found the kitchen facilities very handy. We had cereal in the mornings so that we could go out quickly and see more of the city. It was also nice to have cool drinks to come back to at night.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel offers a wine hour in the lobby (5-6pm?)

The hotel can organise a cab to the airport for a fixed fee. We made use of this as our suitcases were much heavier on the way back with our purchases!

5th avenue was in walking distance from the hotel and there was a metro (line 6) about 5 mins away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Anne S,

Thank you for such a fantastic review of the Affinia Dumont!
Your title sums up most of our guests’ experiences, especially the ones who keep coming back year after year – it truly is a home away from home. From the spacious suites, fully equipped kitchens in every suites, Signature Affinia bedding and six-choice pillow menu-you really end up feeling like you are right at home. And when you step outside, you are not part of the mad rush of Times Square or any other tourist area in NYC, but experience more of a neighborhood where you can take a leisurely stroll down 34th street and stop by at one of the cafes or authentic restaurants and take in the experience. I’m very happy you mentioned Wine Hour which we host in the lobby from 5-6pm every evening. It’s been such a huge success and our guests have a great time mingling and socializing with our management staff and with one another. Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience and provide us with your review – I look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great stay. Free upgrade and bottle of wine upon checkin. No issue setting up the pull out couch with sheets and pillows. Good location.and a fairly quick/cheap taxi ride to and from places. Lack of complimentary Wi-Fi is the only down side to the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear NickGottier,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us. I am elated to hear that your stay with us was simply flawless and that all of our requests were executed seamlessly. Should you have any special requests or preferences for any upcoming stays, please contact me directly and I’ll ensure everything is set up in your suite prior to arrival. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Affinia Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Dumont

Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City
Affinia Hotel
Affinia Dumont New York
Affinia Dumont Hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Affinia Dumont 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in vibrant Midtown East, Affinia Dumont has a little something for everyone. As one of the top boutique hotels in Midtown East NYC, business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. And everyone loves our Skyline Suites, with inspiring views of the historic Chrysler Building and tranquil East River. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Affinia Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Dumont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.