We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$199 Summer Suites!
Ranked #75 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is situated on East 34th Street and has lots of great cafés and restaurants nearby (Murray Hill area) including Jimmy's BBQ, Vezzo, Fatburger and Pie Face. All were reasonably priced. The portions at Jimmy's BBQ in particular were massive. A starter of nachos, fed me, my boyfriend and there was still some leftover! It was very studenty at night.

The Affinia Dumont is a great hotel. We went for a standard studio apartment for 2 people. The room was spacious (and quiet) and the bed was huge, with a firm mattress. The hotel offers a pillow menu, so you can choose the type of pillow which suits you best. We went for the magnetic therapy ones and slept like babies! There was a kitchen area with a large fridge, hobs, microwave, sink and cutlery and dishes were supplied. We found the kitchen facilities very handy. We had cereal in the mornings so that we could go out quickly and see more of the city. It was also nice to have cool drinks to come back to at night.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel offers a wine hour in the lobby (5-6pm?)

The hotel can organise a cab to the airport for a fixed fee. We made use of this as our suitcases were much heavier on the way back with our purchases!

5th avenue was in walking distance from the hotel and there was a metro (line 6) about 5 mins away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Anne S,

Thank you for such a fantastic review of the Affinia Dumont!
Your title sums up most of our guests’ experiences, especially the ones who keep coming back year after year – it truly is a home away from home. From the spacious suites, fully equipped kitchens in every suites, Signature Affinia bedding and six-choice pillow menu-you really end up feeling like you are right at home. And when you step outside, you are not part of the mad rush of Times Square or any other tourist area in NYC, but experience more of a neighborhood where you can take a leisurely stroll down 34th street and stop by at one of the cafes or authentic restaurants and take in the experience. I’m very happy you mentioned Wine Hour which we host in the lobby from 5-6pm every evening. It’s been such a huge success and our guests have a great time mingling and socializing with our management staff and with one another. Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience and provide us with your review – I look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,228
    1,172
    231
    77
    31
See reviews for
1,390
1,049
132
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great stay. Free upgrade and bottle of wine upon checkin. No issue setting up the pull out couch with sheets and pillows. Good location.and a fairly quick/cheap taxi ride to and from places. Lack of complimentary Wi-Fi is the only down side to the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear NickGottier,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us. I am elated to hear that your stay with us was simply flawless and that all of our requests were executed seamlessly. Should you have any special requests or preferences for any upcoming stays, please contact me directly and I’ll ensure everything is set up in your suite prior to arrival. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was my first visit in NYC for the Electric Zoo festival (Randall's Island) . Location was great, because it was walking distance to the ferry. The service is great! I was amazed how big were the rooms! I was very surprised when I saw full kitchen! I was on the 20th floor so the view was fantastic! ;) Great experience!

Room Tip: Top floor will have better view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tamara R,

Thank you for your great review of Affinia Dumont!
I hope you had a great time at Electric Zoo! I am very proud to say that we offer some of the best service and our staff truly goes above and beyond for our guests – from front office to our housekeeping staff – they take our guests’ experience very seriously. And yes, all of our suites have fully equipped kitchens. This is in part provides the utmost comfort and that one of a kind home away from home feel – and all of that, right in the middle of New York City!
Please be sure to visit us again when travelling to New York!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you're as lucky as we were and are greeted at the curb by Juber then you'll most assuredly feel at home, and well on your way to an amazing stay! We had to contact the front desk for Computer printing and additional towels, and they were GREAT. No charge for the printing and extra towels arrived within 15mins both days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Christopher N,

Thank you for such a great review and wonderful comments about our staff. They truly look forward to making our guests’ experience a memorable one at the Affinia Dumont and in New York City. We look forward to your next visit and stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Affinia Dumont while in NYC for a wedding. NYC is fantastic this time of year. We were especially impressed with the level of service we received. The staff was amazing - thank you to Paul and Abraham for going above and beyond the call of duty. We asked for a high floor and thankfully are request was accommodated. The views were spectacular! As for getting around the city, the hotel is in a great location and you can easily get to anywhere you want.

We will definitely be staying at the Dumont again on our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Brian J,

Thank you for your exceptional review! Yes, New York City is absolutely beautiful this time of year. The weather is perfect for exploring the city on foot. And as for our location – it truly could not be better. Murray Hill is not a tourist hub so you end up getting the experience of a NYC resident, however, should you choose to visit the more tourist areas such as Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue shopping, etc., you are just minutes away. In fact, the Empire State Building is only blocks away and can be clearly seen from in front of the Affinia Dumont.
And we definitely look forward to your next stay with us – we are just a call or click away!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are used to staying in NYC and this time we tried a hotel close to people we were visiting. This was a wonderful hotel, great service, friendly people, and we had a "to die for" room...with great views. The only thing I would suggest is that they offer a coffee bar in the lobby. We wanted some really good coffee in the morning and had to go out to get it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear HappyTravellersTw0,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It looks like overall you had a fantastic stay with us and really enjoyed our exceptional service. Since the Affinia Dumont is an all-suite hotel with a fully equipped kitchen in every suite, we do provide coffee makers and coffee should guests choose to make fresh coffee in the morning. And right next door to us, there is a Dunkin Donuts which opens very early serving coffee and an array of pastries. However, your feedback is excellent as we continuously strive to improve our product and service.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great to return to Affinia Dumont to finish our holiday.Staff friendly and welcoming-good advice on sightseeing/travel/shopping/dining.View of Chrysler building every other lasting memory.Miss it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jane R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! I am incredibly excited that you returned to the Affinia Dumont to finish up your holiday and had a wonderful time this time. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#81 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.