We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night!
Ranked #70 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“great location, home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We always stay here when we visit New York. Location is amazing and it is fantastic having what is essentially a small apartment, complete with kitchenette. I felt the standards had dropped ever so slightly since our last visit ... towels weren't as big and fluffy as I remember. Also, the restaurant formerly attached to the hotel has now separated. But the bed was big and comfy and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ms. Louise R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your review and feedback. We truly value our repeat guests like yourself and thank you for your ongoing patronage. It’s absolutely true that our suites are like apartments in the middle of the New York City. As you mentioned, the suites are spacious, have fully equipped kitchens (with plenty of utensils and dishes that are available upon request), a roomy bathroom and best of all, have our plush Signature Affinia beds that have been credited with allowing for some of the best sleep ever. And our location is simply fantastic! Some of the most amazing and authentic restaurants are just steps away along with a plethora of 24-hour stores, markets and delis. We can’t wait for your next Affinia Dumont stay!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,175
    1,136
    217
    76
    30
See reviews for
1,342
1,023
128
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The type of chamber provided was not available to our happened because an electrical problem. We had a chamber upper quality but do not suited the family need. We accepted their proposal to add a folding bed in the room and they have a monetary compensation we been given. We enjoyed the effort that has been done to address the problem. It has even brought us a bottle of wine to the room! The staff is very friendly, especially the valets

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Christian M,

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont and providing us with your review. While we do our best to ensure our guests’ requests are honored, there are occasions where upkeep needs to be performed which might impact our availability. However, it seems that our staff addressed any concerns you might have had and overall you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future for an exceptional and seamless stay. For any preferences or to customize your stay, please contact us directly at the Affinia Dumont.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel. I love the location and feel that we get great value for money. It is great having a little kitchenette and I LOVE the view of the Chrystler building! We've recommended the hotel to friends who also love it and we will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a high room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear jono58,

What a great review-thank you! Our Skyline Suites provide some of the most amazing views of the New York City skyline featuring the iconic Chrysler Building which seems to be your favorite. I would like to thank you for recommending the Affinia Dumont and continuing to be a loyal guest. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best staff in the city! Always pleasant and helpful. I will actually make plans to return more often, now that I have a great place to stay and look forward to. The rooms are comfortable, clean and luxurious. The best!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Andrew G R,

Wow-that’s quite the compliment and we highly appreciate it! Our staff truly stands out as one of our most valuable assets. Each member on our team anticipates your needs and addresses each requests promptly and courteously. We look forward to many more of your trips. For all your inquiries, please contact us directly at the Affinia Dumont.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor before we travelled we thought we'd take no chances with the accommodation, hence booked the Affinia. We were not disappointed. The room was huge for such a central location and the staff were great.

Our view of the Chrysler Building at dawn was picture-postcard stuff.

Many thanks to Alex for arranging the little things upon arrival (complementary telescope and Wii) that added to the whole special feeling.

The 5-6pm free wine tasting is a nice touch to get to know other folks and allow you to catch your breath as NYC is full-on.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Aim high and ask for a room facing the Chrysler Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear GeneCom,

I am thrilled you chose to stay at the Affinia Dumont especially after doing such thorough research! Our incredibly spacious suites, stunning views and simply perfect location are hard to beat – especially when you consider that you are in the middle of New York City. It was pure pleasure to be able to customize your stay with the Wii and telescope; our goal is to ensure you not only have an enjoyable hotel stay, but have a memorable experience. And thank you for mentioning our daily Wine Hour – it’s been such a success and guests like yourself, have had a great time chatting, mingling and getting to know each other over a glass of wine! Should you have any preferences for your future stay with us, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked direct with the GM from South Africa and booking ahead secured us a good rate with the dismal R/ $ exchange rate. The rooms are large for NY city - we had a one bedroom suite with sleeper couch in lounge for our two girls. The rooms are definitely in need of an upgrade and the aircons are noisy - ended up having to turn them off at night after wedging suitcases against them didn't help. Pity as that weekend NY was hot hot hot. We pre-ordered the pillow menu: - nice touch. Decent coffee machine in kitchenette. Hotel would be wide to advise that the Duanne Reed directly across the road has a really good range of cereals, fruit and breads and almost everything else compared to grumpy Chinese shop next door. Check your bill on departure: - we were charge for each device we connected with on wi-fi instead of a daily rate... honest mistake but surely needs a work around? Were also charged for extra person when this was just a query and never confirmed. (not sure how the extra person would fit in). Were swiftly credited for this though by GM. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor - less noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: nothing special noted. Why do no hotels have a recycling bin?
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear genevieve p,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! I’m happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the One Bedroom Suite spacious for your young family. I also appreciate the nice words you had to share about our friendly and helpful staff – who indeed are very attentive to any concern that one might have. And you are absolutely right, we have many stores and restaurants just steps away that are open 24-hours a day, just like the Duane Reade which is just across the street and has all the essentials from breakfast to dinner items, including a 24-hour pharmacy. Thank you for staying with us – we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Affinia Dumont for 4 nights at beginning of July 2013. I emailed hotel prior to arrival requesting a high floor if available. Jean, at check-in, honoured this request and we were thrilled to have a suite on the 35th Floor with a lovely view of the East River. I would like to compliment Jean as he was friendly and welcoming to us, after our long flight. We did not need to interract with any other hotel staff during our stay, but saw lots of people dealing with Reception and Concierge and Porters and all staff seemed very helpful and pleasant. Everything was as expected with the Suite, and my 16yr old son slept peacefully every night on the very comfortable sofa bed, with his own 42" TV to watch.! Nice fully equipped kitchennette (which we did not use), but great to have the coffee maker and full fridge for water etc.. Duane Reade's shop across the street which sells everything you would find from a chemist to a grocery store. (stock up there with water etc.. - very pricey to use the hotel's own supply). Very well located for all of the sights so I won't go into that.

Murray Hill Diner lovely for a filling good value breakfast (out the door turn left & left again). Barking Dog restaurant/bar attached to the hotel - nice food and beer. Pig "n" Whistle Irish Pub, newly opened - out the door turn right and across the road - tasty food and beer.

We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to all. Compliments to the Cleaning Lady also who was absolutely top class and visited every day, when we were out. How nice it was to come back to well made beds, fresh towels etc... after a hard day's sightseeing!

TIP FOR A CHEAP RIVER CRUISE: Just 2 blocks down from the Hotel at the East River on 34th Street, there is a Pier and the local New Yorkers use the boats there to go to work at Pier 11 / Financial District. We had a lovely trip with great views of the New York Skyline for only $4 each. We also came back at rushour so whilst everyone was running for buses / subways - we got on our boat and watched all the workers getting on and being delivered across the river to various stops. It made me feel good to be a tourist and not in the rat race for a while!

Go on Google Maps and put in the address of the hotel - you can "walk" up and down the street etc to get a feel for the area. Thanks to Google Maps I was in New York long before I actually got on the flight !

Room Tip: Book directly with the Hotel on their website - If you pay in advance, in full, you can get a very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ellengriswald,

What a magnificent review! Reading your review describing various details of your NYC trip was simply delightful. It’s wonderful to read a tourist’s perspective on this great big City as well as our own Affinia Dumont. I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and found the suite spacious – and yes, our One-Bedroom Suites have a separate bedroom from the living room and each room has its own flat screen TV. Our suites are simply immaculate and our incredible staff definitely deserves all the credit – from Front Office to Housekeeping, our teams are ready to assist 24-hours a day with all your requests. We are definitely looking forward to your upcoming NYC trip and many more stays at the Affinia Dumont! Should you have any preferences, please contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.