We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Dumont

Save Saved
You added Affinia Dumont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Affinia Dumont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off your stay!
Ranked #50 of 451 hotels in New York City
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor before we travelled we thought we'd take no chances with the accommodation, hence booked the Affinia. We were not disappointed. The room was huge for such a central location and the staff were great.

Our view of the Chrysler Building at dawn was picture-postcard stuff.

Many thanks to Alex for arranging the little things upon arrival (complementary telescope and Wii) that added to the whole special feeling.

The 5-6pm free wine tasting is a nice touch to get to know other folks and allow you to catch your breath as NYC is full-on.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Aim high and ask for a room facing the Chrysler Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear GeneCom,

I am thrilled you chose to stay at the Affinia Dumont especially after doing such thorough research! Our incredibly spacious suites, stunning views and simply perfect location are hard to beat – especially when you consider that you are in the middle of New York City. It was pure pleasure to be able to customize your stay with the Wii and telescope; our goal is to ensure you not only have an enjoyable hotel stay, but have a memorable experience. And thank you for mentioning our daily Wine Hour – it’s been such a success and guests like yourself, have had a great time chatting, mingling and getting to know each other over a glass of wine! Should you have any preferences for your future stay with us, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,976
    1,010
    189
    67
    26
See reviews for
1163
908
117
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked direct with the GM from South Africa and booking ahead secured us a good rate with the dismal R/ $ exchange rate. The rooms are large for NY city - we had a one bedroom suite with sleeper couch in lounge for our two girls. The rooms are definitely in need of an upgrade and the aircons are noisy - ended up having to turn them off at night after wedging suitcases against them didn't help. Pity as that weekend NY was hot hot hot. We pre-ordered the pillow menu: - nice touch. Decent coffee machine in kitchenette. Hotel would be wide to advise that the Duanne Reed directly across the road has a really good range of cereals, fruit and breads and almost everything else compared to grumpy Chinese shop next door. Check your bill on departure: - we were charge for each device we connected with on wi-fi instead of a daily rate... honest mistake but surely needs a work around? Were also charged for extra person when this was just a query and never confirmed. (not sure how the extra person would fit in). Were swiftly credited for this though by GM. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor - less noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: nothing special noted. Why do no hotels have a recycling bin?
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear genevieve p,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! I’m happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the One Bedroom Suite spacious for your young family. I also appreciate the nice words you had to share about our friendly and helpful staff – who indeed are very attentive to any concern that one might have. And you are absolutely right, we have many stores and restaurants just steps away that are open 24-hours a day, just like the Duane Reade which is just across the street and has all the essentials from breakfast to dinner items, including a 24-hour pharmacy. Thank you for staying with us – we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Affinia Dumont for 4 nights at beginning of July 2013. I emailed hotel prior to arrival requesting a high floor if available. Jean, at check-in, honoured this request and we were thrilled to have a suite on the 35th Floor with a lovely view of the East River. I would like to compliment Jean as he was friendly and welcoming to us, after our long flight. We did not need to interract with any other hotel staff during our stay, but saw lots of people dealing with Reception and Concierge and Porters and all staff seemed very helpful and pleasant. Everything was as expected with the Suite, and my 16yr old son slept peacefully every night on the very comfortable sofa bed, with his own 42" TV to watch.! Nice fully equipped kitchennette (which we did not use), but great to have the coffee maker and full fridge for water etc.. Duane Reade's shop across the street which sells everything you would find from a chemist to a grocery store. (stock up there with water etc.. - very pricey to use the hotel's own supply). Very well located for all of the sights so I won't go into that.

Murray Hill Diner lovely for a filling good value breakfast (out the door turn left & left again). Barking Dog restaurant/bar attached to the hotel - nice food and beer. Pig "n" Whistle Irish Pub, newly opened - out the door turn right and across the road - tasty food and beer.

We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to all. Compliments to the Cleaning Lady also who was absolutely top class and visited every day, when we were out. How nice it was to come back to well made beds, fresh towels etc... after a hard day's sightseeing!

TIP FOR A CHEAP RIVER CRUISE: Just 2 blocks down from the Hotel at the East River on 34th Street, there is a Pier and the local New Yorkers use the boats there to go to work at Pier 11 / Financial District. We had a lovely trip with great views of the New York Skyline for only $4 each. We also came back at rushour so whilst everyone was running for buses / subways - we got on our boat and watched all the workers getting on and being delivered across the river to various stops. It made me feel good to be a tourist and not in the rat race for a while!

Go on Google Maps and put in the address of the hotel - you can "walk" up and down the street etc to get a feel for the area. Thanks to Google Maps I was in New York long before I actually got on the flight !

Room Tip: Book directly with the Hotel on their website - If you pay in advance, in full, you can get a very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ellengriswald,

What a magnificent review! Reading your review describing various details of your NYC trip was simply delightful. It’s wonderful to read a tourist’s perspective on this great big City as well as our own Affinia Dumont. I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and found the suite spacious – and yes, our One-Bedroom Suites have a separate bedroom from the living room and each room has its own flat screen TV. Our suites are simply immaculate and our incredible staff definitely deserves all the credit – from Front Office to Housekeeping, our teams are ready to assist 24-hours a day with all your requests. We are definitely looking forward to your upcoming NYC trip and many more stays at the Affinia Dumont! Should you have any preferences, please contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw, poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked two one bdrs suites for our families. one was on the 7th, another on 9th floor.
Both were dark with dirty windows and no view. Therefore, except sunny days, it was quite dark inside. The dark furniture did not help.

I felt like our rooms are in a need of renovation, espacially kitchen furniture (I was afraid the kitchen door cabinet will fall down on my head), and wardrobes.

No free internet.

We stayed 6 nights paying per suite $400/ night.
I regret I did not choose Afinia Manhattan which had better price and renovated rooms!
However, I made my decision based on great tripadvisor reviews. It was not a good choice this time unfortunately.
Pro: location is very good indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear agnieszkamac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.
The Affinia Dumont is a boutique all-suite hotel located in the heart of the leisurely Murray Hill neighborhood offering tremendous value on our incredibly spacious suites as well as complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby. We thank you for your feedback and will utilize it as will continually strive to improve product and service. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very good choice. Excellent location, almost all staff really nice and helpful, comfortable room (I had a great view of the Chrysler Building also!) The only thing that really bothered me was charging $15/day for internet access, which I think is totally unfair given the price paid for the room and the overall quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Carlos S,

Thank you for your review. I’m happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us especially our lovely location, our friendly and helpful staff and our super comfortable suites. While Wi-Fi in the suite is charged, our Wi-Fi in the lobby is complimentary. We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel with very friendly staff! Huge rooms, comfortable bed and the "best sofa bed" my kids have ever slept in! The property was spotless and felt almost new.Terrific midtown location and walking distance to many sites!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Debra S M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with your kids and found our spacious suite with the pull-out sofa bed very comfortable. And our location is simply perfect whether it is for a family or business travelers, we are close to everything NYC has to offer. We hope you will choose the Affinia Dumont for many more trips to NYC.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of New York, but within walking distance of Empire State Building. The staff at all levels were very polite and efficient. The concierge was very helpful and tried hard to get tickets for shows we wanted to see. The lobby staff were also very helpful too. I found Juber and Gaby went that extra mile to ensure our holiday and stay at the hotel was a pleasant one. Also because of the location of the hotel, you actually see how New Yorkers really live and work and is not dominated by tourists, yet it's within walking distance of subway and Empire State Building.. If I were to go back to New York, I would book the same hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Parmanand M,

I am so excited you stayed with us and enjoyed the Affinia Dumont, our location and our friendly and helpful staff. You are absolutely right, we are not in the middle of the tourist center such as Times Square; we are more in a neighborhood of New York City however, everything you want to do and see is walking distance or a short cab ride away. We absolutely pride ourselves on our staff and the exceptional customer service they provide every day. I will be sure to mention your review when I speak with them. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Affinia Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Dumont

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Affinia Dumont 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in vibrant Midtown East, Affinia Dumont has a little something for everyone. As one of the top boutique hotels in Midtown East NYC, business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. And everyone loves our Skyline Suites, with inspiring views of the historic Chrysler Building and tranquil East River. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Affinia Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Dumont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.