We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Affinia Dumont

Save Saved
You added Affinia Dumont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Affinia Dumont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off your stay!
Ranked #51 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New York Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of New York, but within walking distance of Empire State Building. The staff at all levels were very polite and efficient. The concierge was very helpful and tried hard to get tickets for shows we wanted to see. The lobby staff were also very helpful too. I found Juber and Gaby went that extra mile to ensure our holiday and stay at the hotel was a pleasant one. Also because of the location of the hotel, you actually see how New Yorkers really live and work and is not dominated by tourists, yet it's within walking distance of subway and Empire State Building.. If I were to go back to New York, I would book the same hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Parmanand M,

I am so excited you stayed with us and enjoyed the Affinia Dumont, our location and our friendly and helpful staff. You are absolutely right, we are not in the middle of the tourist center such as Times Square; we are more in a neighborhood of New York City however, everything you want to do and see is walking distance or a short cab ride away. We absolutely pride ourselves on our staff and the exceptional customer service they provide every day. I will be sure to mention your review when I speak with them. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,976
    1,010
    190
    67
    26
See reviews for
1163
908
117
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Searched for a affordable hotel suite in NYC near subway for a weekend visit. Affinia Dumont was just what we desired offering spacious rooms with complete kitchens. I'm sure we'll visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Donna C,

Thank you for your review. Well if you were looking for something near a NYC Subway, you definitely could not beat the Affinia Dumont’s location which is just about a block and a half away from the #6 Subway on Park Avenue and 33rd Street. We, too, hope you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charandfamily
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I just stayed here July 9-20th and have to say it was great value, and a great location. Comfortable clean and central. Very nice staff too, especially Juber! I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children, as the room had 2 queen beds, a fold out couch and a kitchen. Perfect for families!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear charandfamily,

I’m very happy to read your review and feel you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. And what compliment to already recommend us future guests-we highly appreciate such wonderful gesture. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Dumont for a lengthy trip in New York City; we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located. It is 5 minutes away from subway station (which is only one station from grand central! Can go to everywhere easily) and 10 minutes away from Empire State Building and the world's largest Macy's. There is even a 24 hr Duane Reade next to the hotel.
The staff were all very nice and helpful. We arrived before the check-in time so they allowed us to place our luggage in the luggage room. When we left, Juber, a friendly staff, helped us to arrange transportation to the airport.
The room is spacious and clean, with a mini kitchen and a ginormous flat screen hd tv!
The only downside is that they don't have free wifi in the room. It can be quite crowded in the lobby at night because it is the only place with free wifi.
I love this hotel a lot and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ynmw,

Thank you for your great review and comments! The Affinia Dumont has the most lovely location – we are close to everything you would want to see or do in New York City, but we have none of the madness of the typical tourist areas such as Times Square. When you are done with all your sightseeing, it’s nice to be able to retreat into a homely neighborhood where you can take an evening stroll to dinner and not have to deal with the crowds of people. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location, quite rooms, very comfortable beds and an easy walk up to 7th Avenue. Close to subway. Plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from. Staff were efficient and friendly especially the persons who handled our bags. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. No complaints we would recommend it to others

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Gary G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review! We love hearing from our guests and appreciate the time they take to provide us many details of their stay. When it comes to Affinia Dumont, whether you choose to stay one night or an entire week, your stay will be comfortable, enjoyable and our staff will ensure that all your requests are taken care of. Thank you for staying with us and recommending our hotel to others!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

AC too loud if your a bit noise sensitive. Good for deaf people or in the winter when no AC is needed. To expensive for the fact that we didn't slep well either because of the loud AC or the temperatures when we switched the AC off.....Otherwise everything fine.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear W S,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It looks that overall you had a pleasant stay. Next time, I do invite you to contact our 24-7 front desk team who can enlist the assistance of our Engineering team to assess and mend should there be an concern with anything in the suite. To further discuss your stay, I invite you to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although the location of the property was central and nice, it would be nice to consider making all guest feel welcome at this location. Making eye contact a greeting goes a long way. and Makes the guest feel welcomed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Affinia Dumont, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Melinda J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your review. Your feedback is appreciated and important to us as we utilize it to continuously improve our service, product and guest satisfaction. We hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Affinia Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinia Dumont

Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Affinia Dumont 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in vibrant Midtown East, Affinia Dumont has a little something for everyone. As one of the top boutique hotels in Midtown East NYC, business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. And everyone loves our Skyline Suites, with inspiring views of the historic Chrysler Building and tranquil East River. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Affinia Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affinia Dumont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.