We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sohotel to your Saves list
Sohotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   341 Broome Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed here twice. It's more expensive than we usually spend on a hotel, but very reasonable for NYC. The rooms are very small, but clean. And it's in such a great location that you won't be in the room much anyway! This is our go to hotel in NYC. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    332
    168
    66
    98
See reviews for
174
201
55
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Sohotel for four nights, and overall we were happy with our choice. It’s in a great spot in between SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown, which means there are lots of cool spots within walking distance—and it’s much quieter than, say, Times Square area. However, there was a bar located directly below our window on the second floor, and on the Friday night it was extremely loud in our room. The air conditioning unit helped drown it out, but not completely. Noise from outside was not an issue any other time during the week. The walls are also extremely thin, and we could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms around us, including people walking around, moving luggage, and a couple ‘enjoying themselves.’ Sigh.

Sohotel’s staff were really nice and helpful any time we required assistance, and there is also free wifi throughout the hotel including in the rooms, which many NYC hotels make you pay for. The beds were also incredibly comfortable, and the décor is very trendy throughout the hotel. While the price tag was high considering the size of the room and limited amenities, NYC is extremely expensive and we found Sohotel to be one of the more affordable spots.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely hotel and a great location...quite even though there was construction going on. Loved the decor..fun color scheme,funky furniture,and beautiful exposed brick. Nice hotel bar attached..though we didn't eat anything there,had a nice drink at the end of the night.Comfortable beds and clean. Definitely going to use this hotel every time I am in the city!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchberg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is situated ideally in the interesting Nolita and close to the Underground, to SoHo. Little Italy and China Town are just around the corner. There are many good restaurants and interesting shops. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are very good. The staff is very friendly helpful. We also appreciated the free coffee and tea in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was my daughters second stay and my first. She rebooked based on good value for money and it's downtown location. The hotel itself is significantly historical dating back to the early 19th century hence the absence of an elevator and the smallish rooms. I like the fact it still retains much of its historical features which add to the charm of the interior. The staff were friendly and obliging the rooms were basic but clean and well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Really not like the pictures. Not worth the price. Bathroom looks like a basement bathroom with black mold around the shower. No standard amenities, like phone, iron etc. rooms smell like head sweat.would not reccommend to stay here. for not too much more you could stay at way better hotel in NYC

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and the service and staff was excellent. The room was very clear and up to date the pillow and bed was very comfortable. The location was very convenient and right downtown. We would definability stay there again.

Rehana
Toronto

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel because the room was spacious and newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: 341 Broome Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sohotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.