We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, except for....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, except for....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It was everything I expected and was looking for. Would have given it 5 stars if not for the few mosquitoes that got in the room each night. Seems the seal around the air-con unit was poor and allowed the critters in. Did my best to shorten the time the light was on before bed - seemed to limit their attraction that way. The shower head was poor as well, but not a big deal.

The rest I was plenty happy with. It was a good location for me given the events I was attending. Has a breakfast/pizza joint on the corner (just 2 doors down) for my morning coffee and egg sandwich. Has a nice bar downstairs (good food too) for lunch or a nightcap at the end of the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    127
    74
    29
    24
See reviews for
37
121
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a GREAT little neighborhood in NYC I never knew existed. Our room as small, but very clean. Not a lot of extra amenities, but perfectly fine for the 2 nights we were there. The staff was courteous and the price was right. If you want the Waldorf/Trump/Helmsley Palace experience, you're going to pay for it. However, if you're on a budget and want a nice little room in a cool/funky/fun section of town, give it a try!

I read something negative about how noisy it was...um, you're in NEW YORK CITY, not Mayberry...HELLO?! We had so much fun until the wee hours both nights we were there that we crashed as soon as our heads hit the pillow and had ZERO problem sleeping because of the outside noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I first stayed at this hotel well over 20 years ago because it was the cheapest I could find in NY, just slightly cheaper than the Y. Then it was a flea pit even renting out some rooms for "short Time" use.

I re visited June 16th to June 21st 2014 and had a great stay. For location and price you just cant beat it.

Rooms are small as is the bathroom and it was pretty cramped for 2 adults in there 50,s with overseas travelling luggage but it was clean and comfortable once you find a spot for all your stuff and there were power points everywhere which was a plus.

Location sells this hotel and will continue to do so. you could imagine yourself writing down some "Charles Bukowski" quotes while looking out the window then surveying your room lol "Luvvv" :)

Front desk staff were hit and miss but it was safe to leave your cash in their safety deposit boxes behind the counter. ($25 returnable key deposit) and your rooms are safe because front desk is attended 24-7 with CCTV cameras in all hallways, it also has an in house EFPOST machine.

Its not worth mentioning whats in the area as everything is in this area as soon as you step foot outside the front entrance and anything else is within walking distance with the subway only around 200m away. For those on the cheap it has some of the most famous and cheapest eateries in NY

Front desk will order private car airport transport for you any time night or day and the transport will cost the same as the cab fixed rate but unlike trying to hail a yellow cab with luggage in this busy area they come to your room and get you.

I would recommend this hotel to young travellers and singles mainly but for older "Flashpackers" like myself who want to rough it just a little bit like the old backpacking days its perfect with the right price tag.

Room Tip: Insist on a window facing the street or you will be looking at a fire escape, if noise bothers you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week and got back yesterday. The room was small but clean and the staff were very helpful. The only thing i didn't like about the hotel is that there wasn't a lift, but there was someone on hand to help me get my luggage to my room. The hotel is in a really good location and there are lots of things to see and do within walking distance (it takes about 20 - 25 minutes to walk to times square) and there is a wide variety of food places to satisfy any palette. It is also close to 2 train stops. This hotel is one of cheapest you will find with a private bathroom and working air conditioning. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My second stay here and I'd be willing to say it was even better than the previous one.

As usual the crew (especially Sammi) was incredibly accommodating, helping us with our every need.

The rooms, as it is well known, are on the small side, but nice and clean, with good tv and very decent bathrooms, although this time our shower was a bit erratic, switching from freezing cold to steaming hot in a matter of milliseconds. That will be taken care of, I hope.

Apart from this, another winning stay and I'll keep coming back for the good service, fair price and AWESOME location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What best about this hotel is location, very easy to find, easy to take subway to anywhere in Manhattan. It is very easy to find places to eat in that area especially Asian foods. Very cheap in such location. The room is not best, but livable, with sufficient facilities. I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Yet the rooms are simple and a bit small, the location is amazing, just in the middle of animated streets.

We've got a 4 bedrooms on the court (not the street). The bad point the lack of space for the luggages.

I would still recommend this hotel for those who are ready to share a bit of comfort against a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.