We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny, ugly, cheap rooms but nice situation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“tiny, ugly, cheap rooms but nice situation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

+ very, very friendly and helpful crew
+ hard to find chipier (only hostels)
+ clean but very old and "grey"
+ the area is young, eclectic, energic and interesting... so you dont stay in the room!

- very basic comfort
- noisy
- room was incredibly small
- tiny bathroom
- TV didnt work
- wifi costs like 5$ a day

if i come to NYC again, i spend a little more $$$ on hotel but in that same area

Room Tip: if i come to NYC again, i spend a little more $$$ on hotel but in that same area or i take a queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    134
    77
    29
    28
See reviews for
45
122
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Funny, walked by this place a thousand times and never gave it a second thought. A friend came to town and said he was staying here and decided to join him. What a great place! The room was small but clean as can be. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was up to date. The front desk agent was very friendly and welcoming. Many shops and restaurants nearby and the subway is just steps away. It's not luxurious but it is great for a no frills stay. i would definitely recommend this place to anyone. One thing though. It took a while for the shower to get hot. Don't give up...it does get hot after a few minutes! I would stay here again, no doubt.

Room Tip: We had a street side room but it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Mirim
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed there in the beginning of June, 2003. The rooms are simple and clean. There were just a bed, a table, a TV and a place to keep our suitcases and clothes, unfortunately there wasn't any fridge. The room and bathroom are small, but it's enough to spend the night. The price is one of the lowest you can find in Manhattan and the reception staff is very helpful and offers a good service. The location is wonderful: plenty of restaurants nearby (mainly asian), subway station, grocery stores... you can not miss drinking a juice and eating a hot dog in the Papaya King just accross the street. As most things in NY, this region of the town never sleeps, so you may notice some noise coming from the street at night (it can be a great opportunity, too: enjoy it). If you have a lot of heavy luggage, notice there is no elevator and you may have some difficult in bringing them up and downstairs. If you're looking for something good enough, cheap and central, that's the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stay here every year its a great location right beside the metro line
Hotel is clean and the staff are great
The rooms are a little small but for what u pay and the amount of time u spend in them its not a problem they are also very warm
It can be noisey but u get use to it after all its New York
There are loads of bars around and also a 24h deli under neath the hotel .
So to sum it up Great Hotel Great Location and Great Staff ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just got back from another stay at the St Marks Hotel.
This is a very budget hotel but this is more than made up for by the price you pay for the location.
Set in the hip East Village with two of the more central subway lines just a minute's walk away. The hotel can't be beat for being central and in one of the best spots in Manhattan.

Rooms are very basic with sheets and a blanket rather than any plush linen and duvet. However the rooms are very warm so this isn't really an issue. The lack of double glazing may be an issue for some, especially those with road side rooms. I was in rm 44 on the ground floor and facing an internal courtyard. This was very quiet and worth asking for.
Staff were very helpful and courteous at all times.
For a budget hotel in a great location, I really can't fault the place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a quick weekend NYC visit, it isn't the Ritz, but definitely worth the the visit. Pluses for us were location, great value, clean, walking distance to everything you need (particularly entertainment, food & drink). Minuses were loud if you have a room on the street side (we were in room 35 and St. Marks is a bustling street into the wee hours of the night), no wash clothes, no alarm clock. Notables (not a problem for us but could be for some) were no elevators and cash only. Would definitely stay again, but would ask for a room non street side.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent 3 nights in October with my wife. Room: It's just a bed, with just enough space to walk to the tiny bathroom. It's small and standard enough to have a shower and sleep, and go do whatever you like to do in NYC. It's a clean room, but don't expect more from it.
Location is really great, close to SOHO and Union Square. Well, with a short subway trip you are close to anything!
I saw some reviews about noise from street or air conditioner not working... that was not my case. What is true is about stairs: you have to be prepared to go up/down 3 stories with your luggage.
It's definitely not a hotel/room where you are happy to stay, or nice to your eyes, but as I said it's decent enough to take a shower and have a sleep. Best of all: PRICE! I don't think you will find a room with private bathroom in this area for this price.

Hope it helps!

Room Tip: I got room 52 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.