We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you need if you're on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What you need if you're on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent 3 nights in October with my wife. Room: It's just a bed, with just enough space to walk to the tiny bathroom. It's small and standard enough to have a shower and sleep, and go do whatever you like to do in NYC. It's a clean room, but don't expect more from it.
Location is really great, close to SOHO and Union Square. Well, with a short subway trip you are close to anything!
I saw some reviews about noise from street or air conditioner not working... that was not my case. What is true is about stairs: you have to be prepared to go up/down 3 stories with your luggage.
It's definitely not a hotel/room where you are happy to stay, or nice to your eyes, but as I said it's decent enough to take a shower and have a sleep. Best of all: PRICE! I don't think you will find a room with private bathroom in this area for this price.

Hope it helps!

Room Tip: I got room 52 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    122
    72
    27
    23
See reviews for
36
117
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The rooms are small but clean and well organized.
They have TV and private bathroom.
The staff is nice and the area cheerfull but safe.
You want need more than that with a city like NY to discover and love out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Rooms are small and fairly shabby. It’s definitely not what you want to come back to on a hot Summer’s day in NYC. Location is terrific although it’s fairly noisy coming from the street at night. For just a bed and a shower, it’s fine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean, cheap, cheerful. Amazing area! Love this place! Took friends new to NYC they loved St Marks. Thank you again for an amazing stay. Desk staff always courteous from reservation to check out. Love Rays downstairs for a midnight feast and St marks store over the street which is 24 hrs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We took a bus from boston and arrived at NYC around 4PM. It was pouring heavily and no one seems to know where hotel St. marks is . Guess its because NYC is full of too many hotels and this one was some 10-15 min drive away from times square.
Points to note
• Neat and clean
• Although the rooms are very small and a tinie tiny bathroom, but with 130 dollars a nite, its totally cool, coz u just come back and sleep here.
• The beds wont be as comfy as a 5star, but they would be neat clean and comfortable enuf for u to get a good sleep.
• Front desk is very polite and courteous.
• Very good staff – courteous. Room service was quick.
• If u ask someone, they probably would not know about this hotel by name, so just take a taxi and ask him to go to “2nd street, 3rd avenue- St. marks place”. If he doesn’t know the way, show him the address, or better still, keep the hotel phone no. handy and call them, tell them where u r and what is the best way to reach the hotel. The cab fare from around times square/empire state/bolt bus stops is around 10 dollars one way.
• I had booked the hotel online, through an email reservation system of theirs and opted for cash on delivery, to my surprise I didn’t even have to show the print of the email, the checkin was done smoothly within 2 minutes.
• The front desk is not like a lavish lobby of a 5 star, its just a small room with the receptionist and their computer on one side the moment u climb the stairs.
• If u r on a tight budget and wanna spend as less as u can on accommodation, this place is superb. You might wanna keep some money aside for taxis though in case u don’t wanna walk so many blocks/pressed on time.
• The place has numerous eating joints , shopping markets around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The East Village is the real New York. The Saint Marks Hotel is the perfect launching point for your trip. Inexpensive, clean, and location,location,location! Great staff. Plenty of cabs available and the subway right across the street. The only downsides: no elevator, you have to walk up the stairs, so you get a little exercise, big deal. The shower is cruise ship size, but you get use to it. For some reason they do not provide face cloths, so you bring a couple from home. That is it , my man Sammi at the front desk makes sure everything is perfect , and the rest of the staff always have a smile. I was concerned my wife would not be happy , but my fears were unfounded and we will stay here from now on. Cash only, but once again the only problem there is you have no bill to pay 30 days later. Check them out

Room Tip: The suite is just two rooms joined together with a bed and bath in each room. For a couple just get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the St marks Hotel twice now, ones I. April 2012 and one in April 2010. It's in an excellent location on the junction of St Marks Place and 14th Street. There are several subway stops within a couple of blocks.

St Marks is close to parts of the university campus, so the area is young and buzzy with lots of cheap (but good) restaurants, bars, yoga studios and tattoo parlours. It's super easy to get around the city from here, you can get to Times Square/Port Authority in about 5 minutes by cab (depending on traffic) or in about 10 minutes on the subway.

The hotel itself is extremely basic. There's a bed, and a couple of bits of furniture and that's it. The rooms are small, but kept very clean. Both times we've stayed we had issues with the water temperature in the shower, it would fluctuate between very hot and very cold apparently for no reason. That being said, this particular problem seemed much improved on our second stay, but that may be because we were on the top floor, whereas we were on the 1st floor during our initial stay.

The first time we stayed our room over looked the street and was extremely noisy from he traffic. The second time we were on the top floor (there's no elevator FYI, that was fun with our suitcases) the room faced out over rooftops, so street noise wasn't so much of an issue, but our radiator made a lot of noise during the night and as the room was high up, it got a lot of sun through the window making it quite warm and the AC didn't seem to work. Luckily it was only April so this was bearable, so we didn't bother reporting it. Other than that, the bed was comfortable, the TV worked and it was clean.

In short, this is a brilliant base in a buzzy, fun, vibrant area, if you're not fussy and just wanting a place to sleep, shower and go. You cannot beat the value for money in terms of location and the staff are fine (but they definitely don't thrive to provide excellent customer service). However, if you want luxury, space, peace and quiet or high levels of customer care, I would recommend a different place. I would definitely stay again due to the location and value alone and the pizza from the restaurant below is awesome, especially if you're returning from a late night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;