We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Manhattan.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best value in Manhattan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just came back from a very plasant 10 day New York trip with my girlfriend.
Our stay at the St. Marks Hotel was a real treat. We had a queen room at a very fair price (U$ 150) that was very clean with towels changed daily.
The only real problem with our specific room was that it faced the internal area of the building and the exhauster from the bar/restaurant downstairs would leave a very strong and unpleasant smell of greasy cooking throughout the entire room. Because of this, our only option was to keep the windows shut at all times with the AC on and even then some of the smell would eventualy come into the room, but no big deal. Maybe next time I'll request a room facing the street.
The staff was very professional and courteous, specially Sammi, who was always ready and happy to help our every need.
As everybody has already mentioned, there's no elevator, but I couldn't care less about that.
All in all, highly recommended and for the price, it's a no brainer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    129
    75
    29
    25
See reviews for
39
121
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had 6 nights here. The hotel is in a great location, close to subway, bars, restaurants,etc. It was also very clean. However, we had problems with our hot water and toilet. The toilet didn't flush half the time and we had to keep asking for someone to come and look at it, Which they did, but it was never fixed properly. Hot water was temperamental. Quite frustrating, staff tried to help but never really got the job done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

St. Marks is a very basic, but clean place to stay in Manhattan. Checked the bedbug registry and this place came back negative. Very well located in the East Village and within walking distance to the Lower East Side. We had a queen bed with private bath. The room was tiny, but that's the norm for Manhattan. The bed was made up only with sheets, not even a blanket or bedspread. We called and asked for a blanket, which was clean and promptly delivered. Very few amenities in the bath, not even kleenex. It is noisy, but all of Manhattan is noisy. Didn't really bother us, we slept well. I would stay here again but my wife would not. As long as your expectations are for something basic, it would be hard to beat the value of the St. Marks.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay. There were three of us and we had a two room "suite". Yes, the room is basic. However, it was very clean and larger than I had expected. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the area and especially The Bagel Cafe and the bar downstairs. So much fun to enjoy a beverage/snack at either of these spots and watch the world walk by. Subway stops are close by and lots of good resturants close by. The only draw back to me was the lack of an elevator. A small issue for such a nice room and great location. We plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a good stay at the St. Marks.

Pros : Good location, very close to subways, restaurants, bars, etc...
Price is fair for NYC.
Clean.

Cons : They only take cash.
No elevator.
Bathroom and the room in general was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

For $170 a night it was an excellent deal. The room was basic but surprisingly clean, small flat screen tv and bathroom was small but absolutely clean. Area is NYU territory so you will see college kids (bars, hang outs, etc.) but If you cannot tolerate the "college students" lifestyle then choose another hotel. I am in my mid 40's but I was once young and free :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I've been to new york multiple time as well as stayed at a couple of hotels. So far this is a huge upgrade from prevues hotels I've stayed, the plus, it's in the heart of the east village, great shops, restaurant, bars and dives, the room is clean standard room with a bathroom. The negative, if you get there before 12 pm, your room is not ready until 2, when you take a shower, your gonna wait a bit long to adjust the right water temperature while your naked and freezing to death in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.