We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #348 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had 6 nights here. The hotel is in a great location, close to subway, bars, restaurants,etc. It was also very clean. However, we had problems with our hot water and toilet. The toilet didn't flush half the time and we had to keep asking for someone to come and look at it, Which they did, but it was never fixed properly. Hot water was temperamental. Quite frustrating, staff tried to help but never really got the job done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    122
    72
    28
    23
See reviews for
36
117
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

St. Marks is a very basic, but clean place to stay in Manhattan. Checked the bedbug registry and this place came back negative. Very well located in the East Village and within walking distance to the Lower East Side. We had a queen bed with private bath. The room was tiny, but that's the norm for Manhattan. The bed was made up only with sheets, not even a blanket or bedspread. We called and asked for a blanket, which was clean and promptly delivered. Very few amenities in the bath, not even kleenex. It is noisy, but all of Manhattan is noisy. Didn't really bother us, we slept well. I would stay here again but my wife would not. As long as your expectations are for something basic, it would be hard to beat the value of the St. Marks.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay. There were three of us and we had a two room "suite". Yes, the room is basic. However, it was very clean and larger than I had expected. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the area and especially The Bagel Cafe and the bar downstairs. So much fun to enjoy a beverage/snack at either of these spots and watch the world walk by. Subway stops are close by and lots of good resturants close by. The only draw back to me was the lack of an elevator. A small issue for such a nice room and great location. We plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a good stay at the St. Marks.

Pros : Good location, very close to subways, restaurants, bars, etc...
Price is fair for NYC.
Clean.

Cons : They only take cash.
No elevator.
Bathroom and the room in general was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

For $170 a night it was an excellent deal. The room was basic but surprisingly clean, small flat screen tv and bathroom was small but absolutely clean. Area is NYU territory so you will see college kids (bars, hang outs, etc.) but If you cannot tolerate the "college students" lifestyle then choose another hotel. I am in my mid 40's but I was once young and free :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I've been to new york multiple time as well as stayed at a couple of hotels. So far this is a huge upgrade from prevues hotels I've stayed, the plus, it's in the heart of the east village, great shops, restaurant, bars and dives, the room is clean standard room with a bathroom. The negative, if you get there before 12 pm, your room is not ready until 2, when you take a shower, your gonna wait a bit long to adjust the right water temperature while your naked and freezing to death in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we had room 11, first floor (actually not the ground floor, as one has to walk up stairs from the street entrance to reach the hallway lobby. No credit cards accepted. Two double beds, little room to walk, no closet. small bathroom with touchy shower (very hot or cold, tricky to adjust). Only amenities were a TV, phone, shampoo, soap, and clean, very white towels (large and small, no washrags). It's clean enough, not cosy. For a night or two, it's fine if you're looking for the best price in town. Very near subway entrance. Lots of taxis around, too (NYC taxi fares went up 20% the first week of Sept. 12, so I am told). St. Marks has a bar on the ground (street level) floor that's popular and noisy at the weekends. No elevator in the hotel. St. Marks is good for the young. Good for ones looking for one of the lowest prices in town (buyer beware, you get what you pay for). Take earplugs.

Room Tip: No elevator. Not a lot of room for baggage. Tiny bathrooms. No in-room coffee maker or water heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.