We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal value for NYC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added St. Marks Hotel to your Saves list
St. Marks Hotel
2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #348 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Phenomenal value for NYC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

For $170 a night it was an excellent deal. The room was basic but surprisingly clean, small flat screen tv and bathroom was small but absolutely clean. Area is NYU territory so you will see college kids (bars, hang outs, etc.) but If you cannot tolerate the "college students" lifestyle then choose another hotel. I am in my mid 40's but I was once young and free :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    122
    72
    28
    23
See reviews for
36
117
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I've been to new york multiple time as well as stayed at a couple of hotels. So far this is a huge upgrade from prevues hotels I've stayed, the plus, it's in the heart of the east village, great shops, restaurant, bars and dives, the room is clean standard room with a bathroom. The negative, if you get there before 12 pm, your room is not ready until 2, when you take a shower, your gonna wait a bit long to adjust the right water temperature while your naked and freezing to death in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we had room 11, first floor (actually not the ground floor, as one has to walk up stairs from the street entrance to reach the hallway lobby. No credit cards accepted. Two double beds, little room to walk, no closet. small bathroom with touchy shower (very hot or cold, tricky to adjust). Only amenities were a TV, phone, shampoo, soap, and clean, very white towels (large and small, no washrags). It's clean enough, not cosy. For a night or two, it's fine if you're looking for the best price in town. Very near subway entrance. Lots of taxis around, too (NYC taxi fares went up 20% the first week of Sept. 12, so I am told). St. Marks has a bar on the ground (street level) floor that's popular and noisy at the weekends. No elevator in the hotel. St. Marks is good for the young. Good for ones looking for one of the lowest prices in town (buyer beware, you get what you pay for). Take earplugs.

Room Tip: No elevator. Not a lot of room for baggage. Tiny bathrooms. No in-room coffee maker or water heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a bunch of friends. I think we got the suite which the reservation email referred to as the "deluxe double" - so there was a little inconsistency there, and it was also a little vague regarding the details of what a "suite" or a "deluxe double" gets you. What we ended up with, was a 2 double, 2 bathroom room.

Note that during the week there is construction near by - you won't be able to sleep in due to the noise.

The room itself was pretty adequate. For the price in NYC and for the location, you cannot really complain. The hotel is within walking distance from several metro stops and IN Japan town with a 24hr grocery store on St Marks St and plenty of pizza and other food near by. The truth is, the room had very little by way of flat surfaces. We made due without it, but it drove me crazy. I didn't have a place to put my cup of water! Again, these are minor things, when all you need is a clean place to sleep in the busy city. As well, the toiletries were not so great, so I would recommend that you bring your own (or if you forget, then walk down to the 24hr walgreens). Also, if you're sensitive to air conditioning, then you will not like this hotel. The window units are used, and it's difficult to get the right setting. Bring a small blanket and you'll probably sleep better.

I gave this hotel an average rating because the hotel itself is average. I've stayed in 4 star hotels in Manhattan, near times square and in the financial district, and I would recommend this hotel over the others solely based on its location close to many metro stops and great food! It is clean, but a little old. There are zero amenities, but the location is what saves this hotel.

Room Tip: Consider all your options by asking for the rates for all the rooms available that would suit your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I was expecting them to charge by the hour by the looks of the place. This is just an amazing location with a real east village feel but it's tiny rooms, seedy guests, hallway bathroom, and no reservations necessary. I'm thinking it's used for unsavory purposes more than for tourism.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I can't agree more with other reviewers here about the Hotel's great location (my fave spot in NY) and the room (clean and airy with window overlooking the bustling street). But I wasn't fortunate enough with the staff. The men at the reception were okey but rather indifferent. Perhaps the busy summer bug? I stayed with my partner here for two separate nights only as emergency (we didn't like our bnb) before we moved to another. There was a rather unpleasant incident (someone literally burnt his/her bed) which sent us hurriedly to the streets at wee hours - firemen everywhere and the sirene! And none of the staff apologised or said something about it. But all in all, we'll come back if we have to simply and purely for the location, the room and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, one block from the subway, in one of the best neighborhoods in New York for only US $120.00 (one twin bed and a bathroom). What else could you ask for? Maybe an elevator and credit cards accepted? But then it wouldn't cost so little (for New York standards).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 St. Marks Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.