We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Semana Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Semana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Semana Hotel
25 W. 24th St, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #429 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

On our first night there, our room smelt heavily of mold. WE bought air fresheners to attempt to cover it up, but to no avail. WE somehow managed to fall asleep on our fist night, only to be woken up in the most wonderful fashion of having a piece of the ceiling fall on our heads. I wouldn't wish for anyone to have to endure this "hotel"

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    3
    22
See reviews for
1
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a"Hot sheets" hotel, just fit for cheap tryst, hence the stains on the sheets...!!! I needed a room to use as a dressing room during a photo shoot...what a dump and smells like one...suspicious characters...dubious looking towels....etc...I get chill and fear thinking about it...!!!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

atl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This room have no windows, no outside view, no phone to call front desk, there was orange stains on the sheet. I felt like I was staying under someone's creepy basement. The bathroom was very small and same for the whole room, and overall this room it's great if you're drunk or lost and u need a place to stay only for one late night ... that's it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicer, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My Wife and I were looking for an inexpensive hotel in the center of Manhattan and La Semana was perfect for us. It offers everything you need...a smallish yet clean and quiet room and a very friendly helpful staff. We would recommend La Semana.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Last week,my niece was visiting me in New England,so we planned a day trip to NYC. Not long before we went,we attempted to find a cheap,basic,no frill hotel outside Manhattan,and were looking mainly in Jersey,Brooklyn,etc. I couldn't believe my eyes when I stumbled across a hotel in the Flatiron district for a mere $119/night. Surely, it was a typo,and certainly not available in late May. I called-it was. I read the reviews-much like others,they consisted of people complaining about the decor,worn carpeting,lack of amenities,dustbunnies-stuff I tend to take in perspective. After all,it was a cheap(by NYC standards) hotel in a great area. So what if it looked gaudy and didn't have turndown service? we were there for New York,after all!!

When we arrived,we found the location to be prime(right around the corner from 5th/Broadway/24th). The desk clerk was helpful,allowed us to check in early,and informed us that we had been "upgraded' to a jacuzzi suite. We were thrilled. As we ascended the staircase, another woman was standing there (a maid?) and encouraged us to ask her if we needed anything. Yes,the lobby was small and plain,and the red chandelier in the hall was a bit tacky,but who cares? It seemed as though the service was top key.

We found our room,and sure enough,typical small room with one queen bed. My niece referred to the decor as "dorm room like," with flowered comforter and tiny table,fridge. Oddly enough,the tub was in the room but was a typical tub/shower with jacuzzi jets and a curtain around it. The bathroom was toilet/sink only. We shrugged,figured we could take turns leaving the room when one had to shower,but still manageable. We did discard the idea of using it as a jacuzzi,though,when we looked and found it to be dirty with pubic hair in it. Nevertheless,we asked the maid about it and were assured that it would be cleaned. With that, we got ready and headed out to the city for the day.

We didn't return until much later that night(around midnight). At that point we were exhausted,partially inebriated,an pretty much collapsed. As I drifted off, my niece noted that the door didn't have a deadbolt,only a chain lock,but we weren't yet concerned with safety-after all,there was a front desk clerk 24/7.

It was during the night that the problems started. I should mention,the other reviews discuss hearing other guests sexual activities. If this were the case,it wouldn't have been an issue-you can hear that kind of stuff at the Hilton if you are in an unlucky spot. (Also,as my niece mentioned,those sounds would have been preferable-at least we would have known that the sounds were from people doing something of consent).

No,what we heard was a lot of banging,and noticed that out little door seemed to shake off its hinges everytime someone walked by.it seemed as though someone could force the door open with a finger.We tried to sleep,but the room was baking,and we couldnt find a fan or a/c. Finally,I decided to venture down to the front desk and ask if there was a vending machine to get a drink,and to inquire about a fan. Stupid,stupid,stupid.

The guy at the desk was nice enough-didn't notice any porn vieweing,but who cares? He told me to flip a switch next to the tub to turn on the a/c,and gave me two cups of water. I turned to go back upstairs,and then.....

A man of questionable character strolled in the front door and headed for the stairs. I didn't think anything at first,but then the desk clerk yelled, "Hey! You! Who are you and where are you going?"

I froze.

The guy looked over his shoulder,said what room he was going to,and continued on. The desk clerk screamed, "Get back here and stop hiding!"

The guy came back to the lobby. I tried to shrink to the side. Was it safer to stay or run to my room and chance that the guy saw where it was? I debated this as the guy tried to convince the clerk that he was visiting "a friend" in room such and such,and that he had been there before.

The clerk shook his head. "No,no. You're up to no good,I can tell. Its 4am,its too late to visit anyone."

That did it for me. I decided to chance it and ran up the staits,closing the door quietly to the hall that our room was in. As I did,I heard the guy tell the clerk, "Now I understand what you are saying,but here's the thing---" And silence.

I franctically ran to my room,relayed the story to my niece,and we both were frozen,debating what to do. She pushed a chair to the door in a weak attempt to block us in. the only window to the room was almost at the ceiling-we couldn't escape from that. So we tried to convince ourselves that it was no big deal and go back to sleep. After about 20 minutes,I called the front desk from my cell-luckily the clerk answered,so he was alive,,at least.

Then we heard the thuds. Loud,bone chilling crashes against a wall,floor,I dont know. But they were heavy and silent. We didnt dare look at each other or acknowledge them. Instead,we prayed for morning to come and keep us alive. I dont think either of us slept much after that.

In summary...yes,this hotel was cheap. But how much is your safety worth?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I checked in on a Saturday evening with my colleagues, and was tempted to stay out all night so not to have to return. The hotel has an overwhelming smell of cheap, sweet tobacco spray. The gaudy, plastic red 'chandeliers' and mirrored walls make it look like a cheap porn set. I could hear all the other guests' activities and wore shoes in the shower because I was uncomfortable having my feet touch the plastic floor. There was Toilet paper hanging from the ceiling and bubblegum stuck over the peep hole on the door, from the inside... Creepy to the max.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Wake up people - this is not for travelers. This is for after lunch "nap"... Hence, mirrors and jacuzzi in a room. One positive thing I can say is that location is great, and, if person is traveling alone and doesn't care much - it would do it.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Semana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Semana Hotel

Address: 25 W. 24th St, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Semana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Semana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Semana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.