We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. James to your Saves list
Hotel St. James
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a small hotel (but has about 10 floors) and is situated 3 minutes walk to Time Square, right next to a Deli and an Irish Bar close by.
Rooms are clean, one of the best beds I have slept in for comfort (no back ache !!) and a good flat screen tv on the wall. room does not have a safe or coffee making facilities.
Staff really friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    778
    382
    106
    119
See reviews for
397
584
81
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and cannot fault it. Location is excellent, just off Times Square. Staff very friendly, room decent size and very clean. We took a trip to Washington DC for a couple days and hotel stored our luggage free of charge, a great stay and would stay here again. Positives all the way for this place! :)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having stayed at another hotel a few streets away four years ago I was aware of the location of the St James and its closeness to Times Square and The Rockefeller Center. The occasion was my wife's 50th Birthday and we stayed for two nights in early December. Our check in was quick and easy and soon we were on our way to up room 1007. Other reviewers have mentioned the cleanliness and I too would certainly endorse this. I have stayed in some five star hotels and the cleanliness of the St James would put some of these to shame - so it's a big pat on the back for the housekeeping staff from me.
The room is compact but more than adequate for a short stay. The window had been left partly open possibly to offset the heat from the radiator ( I couldn't say if this could be turned down via controls on the radiator itself ). There is no room safe and although we had no problems it is something to bear in mind and I would hope that the management look at installing some in the future especially as in our room there was a small walk in closet that could have been used to locate a small safe.
Our visit coincided with the visit to New York of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and I was anxious to establish when they were visiting the 9-11 Memorial and Museum so as not to get caught up in all the security and possible restricted access. Joey on the main desk was brilliant. He quickly accessed the computer and confirmed that they were going the following day which enabled us to visit that afternoon. Joey was funny and certainly added to the joy of staying this hotel.
Overall I was very happy with my stay and room safe aside I would whole heartedly recommend the St James.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel St James was just the ticket for our trip. It has no frills, but if you are visiting New York, you are not going to be sitting in your room are you? The rooms were a good size and had everything we needed. We had a ten day break in New York and every day clean towels and it seemed clean linen too every day. The room, including the bathroom, was spotless!!! Yes it's a little dated and I don't deny it could do with a freshen up, but location, value, cleanliness, friendliness, helpfulness can't be faulted. When we arrived there were visitors that had obviously returned year after year and it was clear reception made an effort to make them feel like family-repeat business can't be a bad sign. I see a lot of comments about the heat and hot water-let me clarify. Heat, yes hot, but turn off the radiator in the room and it's fine - but it's like that everywhere in New York in the winter. Hot Water, we were up and out by 8 a.m. every day, hot water always on hand and immediate when shower turned on (we stayed during Thanksgiving period).
A huge thank you to Joey on reception and the various concierges, you were always eager to help and had time to take interest in our day. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's not a nice hotel, however The position and The size of The Rooms are very comfortable. There is also The possibility to organize airport transfer at good price. I pay 25$ to jfk airport. I advice it if you don't pretend too Much as just The position

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very clean hotel and staff was very helpful. Great deli next door for a quick bite to eat. The room was very comfortable and a great location if you're visiting New York for the theatre experience! Less than two blocks to Times Square. The price was good for that area. They have large lockers where you can store your bags if you have a later flight on check out day.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you come to NYC to enjoy the city and not a fancy hotel....this is the place. Yes, it's a bit dated, but clean and serves the purpose of a good place to stay the night. Times Square is just a few leaps away, easy access to the subway, and a great deli next door for yummy breakfast. My only complaint is that the heat temperature can't be controlled and was a bit "toasty" for my taste. We ended up cracking the window a bit, problem solved. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.