We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, friendly hotel a stone's throw away from Times Square!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. James to your Saves list
Hotel St. James
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Safe, friendly hotel a stone's throw away from Times Square!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the St James for 6 nights in August 2013. We felt incredibly safe throughout our stay and the staff on the front desk were very friendly and always on hand to answer our questions. We couldn't have asked for a better location, especially for the price! The room was quite small but to be expected in the city. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor facing the back of the hotel which was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    836
    402
    114
    122
See reviews for
433
622
87
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the price that I was offered through Backbid. We stayed here 5 nights for $754. The hotel is located very close to Time Square and the Theaters. It is a bit dated and needs a lot of updates, but it is very clean. Very basic. No frills or extras. But you are not paying as much as you would for an upscale hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfect spot near theaters yet quiet enough. Felt safe, was clean, though small room. Enough for visitors who have lots to do and only to sleep in the room. Given NTC prices was good value. No restaurant but many near by.

Room Tip: We took what we were given and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I arrived in NYC several hours before check in time. The friendly staff informed me they have lockers to rent so I wouldn't have to lug them with me until 2pm. There are several lockers are large enough to accommodate 3 big suitcases and carry-on bags. I only had one suitcase and a back pack. They were only $5 to rent for the day so it was well worth it.

It was great being near Time Square, Rockefeller Center and Bryant Park and their corresponding subway stations. It made going to other areas within NYC very easy.

The room did lack a couple of things, but it wasn't a huge deal. My room didn't come with an alarm clock radio or coffee maker. The coffer maker would have made it nice, but I went to McDonald's around the corner for a $1 coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent 4 nights here end July 13. Superb Location from which to explore NY. Just off Times Sq. Hotel basic but aware of that from previous reviews. We found the Hotel staff helpful and Friendly. Hotel not fancy by any means but Location made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's not a modern hotel, it feels like it was decorated in the 80s and has never been updated since. It doesnt have a pool, or a breakfast bar, or a gym. But its clean, quiet and the location is amazing. If you're like me, and the hotel is just a room to sleep, shower and leave your luggage then this will be perfect. great location for a fair price.
If you're looking for somewhere to spend any time, for meals or relaxation - you're in the wrong place. If what the wallpaper looks like, or the newness of the carpet matter to you, then your in the wrong place - and i'd suggest you re-think your priorities

Recently found out this was the hotel Tom Hanks stays in when he first moves to Manhatten in BIG. Awesome fact, wish i'd know when i was there. (note the inside of the hotel is nothing like it is portrayed in the film).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As other reviews have noted, the location is fantastic. Go less than one block west, and you're literally in the heart of Times Square and theatre district. Go east, and it's more business suits and less annoying tourists stopping in the middle of the footpath to take photos.
My room was away from the street on the 9th floor, and was extremely quiet. Only things that I would have liked would be a mini fridge (which I knew did not come with the room) and safe deposit facilities at the front desk (which I was surprised that they did not have).
For value for money, cleanliess and location, it woule be pretty hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.