We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Klamath Falls, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2005

Just got back from a weekend tryst with my wife. She chose the hotel and boy what a great pick. The location is ideal for a night on the town. The deluxe room we had on the 10th floor was perfect. The room was tastefully decorated and not too small. The service was exceptional. The only downer was the attatched restaurant. Food was good but the service was horrendous. Can't wait to go back for our next tryst.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    313
    126
    99
    69
See reviews for
133
390
63
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

Had the pleasure of staying at The Hotel Gansevoort back in February for 1 night. I now wish I was able to spend a few nights there, but now will certainly return. From the oversized guest rooms, to the rooftop pool and bar, to the amazing restaurant in house, which is called ONO this was the place to stay when in NYC. Service could not have been better as everyone from the front desk to the concierge was very helpful. Hands down the best new hotel in NYC.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2005

The hotel was exactly how I imagined ... very design, the room was perfect, big size, great view, very clean, nice bathroom. The location is very trendy and only 30 minutes walking distance from Nolita and Soho. and of course you have the lovely restaurant Pastis vis-à-vis... best hamburger and french fries!!! The only thing which really disappointed me was that the pool was closed the 3 days I stayed there. The staff was Ok (maybe too cool), the breakfast is not the best, the 2 bars are crowded with beautiful people. Didn't try the ONO restaurant, but looked good. Would definitly return because of location and accommodation

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2005

Just left the Gansevoort yesterday, stayed in a Grand Deluxe room and loved every second of it. I was in town for the Tribeca Film Festival, and top honors for this trip go to the Gansevoort. The service was outstanding, possibly the best I have ever had. Eat your heart out Four Seasons, the staff was laid back and professional at the same time. Looking forward to coming back real soon, it's my new NYC home.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

The Hotel Gansevoort is the perfect hotel, very trendy and is in a perfect location in the Meat Packing district. There is something for everyone in walking distance the hottest stores, bars, lounges, and restaurants right at your finger tips. The food in room service, and Ono is awesome. Not to mention a great bar on the roof, with an awesome pool. The mini bar is stocked with the cutest amenities and the staff is friendly and courteous. The staff is fully committed to providing exceptional service and making your experience the best possible. This full service hotel is so refreshing and much needed in NYC.

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2005

Whether you are staying at the hotel with or without your family, the hotel is located in a great part of NYC. Convenient to excellent restaurants and clubs, it's perfect for those wanting that fun night out in the city and all within walking distance. ONO, the restaurant located on the property, had a great ambience and fresh food. The rooftop bar is a great place to hang out and have cocktails if you don't feel like going out. Traveling w/my family worked out well because the hotel is pet-friendly and the neighborhood is too! My 2-year old had a blast because of the roof top pool as well as the easy walk to local playgrounds. We would definitely visit again!

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

The silver grey imposing building in New York's meat packing district is a little enclave of European sophistication in an area which has fast become THE place to stay in New York.
Now that ONO the Japanese restaurant is open the hotel is complete (although they are opening a Spa later in the year). The signature dish to have has to be the crab and caviar pizza which I know sounds an odd idea but it melts in your mouth and is beautifully presented.
The service was sublime and the atmosphere really buzzing as soon as the doors opened in the early evening.

The Gansevoort offers 5 star luxury with a touch of contemporary style which is attracting a very ecclectic crowd. ( I saw Lyndsey Lohan in the lobby....).

Concierge Jean-Francois has connections everywhere and was fantastic at securing tables for me and my gang wherever we wanted to go. Spice Market, Balthazar, etc.

The Gansevoort has a lot going for it. The hottest location in town, great views over the river, a roof top pool and bar, new Japanese restaurant and atmospheric bar and welcoming helpful staff. The rooms are VERY comfortable with all the usual facilities we expect in 5 star modern hotels and a few quirky extras too like the stuffed toy goose on the bed which when you squeeze it makes goose sounds, very funny!

If you like Chelsea and being in the middle of a happening restaurant and bar scene then The Gansevoort has to be for you.
You might have to fight your way through Leonardo Di Caprio and his entourage but trust me it'll be worth it!.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.