We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bachelorette Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bachelorette Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I hosted a bachelorette party of 11 guests at the Gansevoort Meatpacking. The level of care from the General Manager was outstanding - we spoke prior to my stay multiple times via email and between the upgraded suite and the bottle of celebratory champagne, I couldn't have been more pleased.

The bellhop was jovial and more than happy to help us unload our many bags and boxes.

Upon checking in, I was greeted by the on-duty manager, Valerie, and she was exceptionally sweet. She made sure I knew I could contact her with any issues or requests. She took her time to show me the upgraded suite before we officially checked in and she spent time chatting with me to make me feel excited about my stay. Many thanks to her!

We enjoyed our time at the pool (albeit small). We also enjoyed our lunch at the restaurant in the lobby. My salad was forgotten, then brought out wrong, and the host personally apologized, hand delivered the correct salad, and then removed it from the bill. A class act!

We had an issue in the suite with the air conditioning - we were way too hot. First an electrician came to assess the problem. When he couldn't remedy the situation quickly, two men arrived with multiple fans to help cool our room immediately. That did the trick!

Overall, our stay was great and the staff was VERY attentive to our needs during our stay.

Thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear coko383,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're sending our well wishes to the bride-to-be and we're thrilled your stay exceeded your expectations. We are dedicated to ensuring your experience is nothing short of amazing and we're glad you felt cared for. Valerie and the rest of our team will be pleased with your kind remarks, as we know they look forward to your next visit. We apologize for the inconvenience at The Chester, but we're glad they could quickly amend the issue. Additionally, we're happy we were able to provide a speedy solution for the air conditioning difficulties. It was truly wonderful having you and we hope you visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    315
    133
    99
    70
See reviews for
136
396
64
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just recently stayed at the Gansevoort Hotel and it was awesome! The rooms were great, the Pool was awesome, and the location was key. Easy to get to by subway and a short walk to the nightlife and great restaurants!

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for the rave review. We're elated your experience was wonderful from check-in to check-out and we're pleased you love the Meatpacking District. We agree, it's conveniently located and offers an immense variety of decadent restaurants and lively nightlife. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had one of our vendors organize a trip for us, and I was excited to hear that they booked rooms for us at the Gansevoort. I've been to the bar before, but never a guest. Let me just say, wow, what an experience. First off, we arrived early expecting to check our luggage and just hang out by the pool. Nope, not a chance. Room was ready, threw our bags in there, and got to the pool. Pool waitress was fairly available, considering the 50 or so guests she was attending to, so we had prompt service, with little wait time. The rooms were immaculate. Comfortable bed with very chic furniture. After going out for dinner and drinks, I couldn't wait to get back and sleep. I would stay here any time I had an opportunity, and the staff was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Keyser S,

Thank you for the splendid review and welcome back! We're thrilled you were able to stay with us and we're glad you had an outstanding experience. It's the little details that can make a moment memorable and we're pleased we could accommodate your early arrival. Heading to the pool was a great idea and we're happy you found our service to be attentive. We're also elated you enjoyed our cozy beds and we don't blame you for looking forward to a good night's sleep. We would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and were impressed with this hotel. The high ceilings make the room seem spacious, the bed linen is fantastic, bath robes very cosy and service from the front desk and concierge excellent. We particularly liked the way that when we asked for things to be sent to our room they arrived promptly. Also, we had a couple of packages delivered to the hotel during our stay and they were handled efficiently (kept for us before our arrival and delivered to our room whilst we were there) with no service charge. I really like hotels that don't charge extra money for this type of service. The gym is small but functional and the gym staff very friendly. The Chester restaurant is good value and the service excellent. We would definitely stay again.

There are some very minor issues: Because of the location, there is generally quite a crowd at the front door but the 'bouncers' are good at watching for hotel guests and letting them through. There's quite a lot of noise from other guests in the hallways at night (shouting at each other to keep quiet) - but this isn't the fault of the hotel.The pool area is tiny so it gets crowded really early on in the day. No chocolates on the pillow at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TwoBoffins,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and we're pleased you plan on visiting again. We strive to provide the highest standard of customer service and we're thrilled your requests were quickly fulfilled. We're happy you had a chance to indulge in The Chester's delicious cuisine and we're elated you felt well-taken care of. On your next stay, we’d be happy to sweeten up your room with evening chocolates. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Gansevoort in the Meatpacking district and could not have enjoyed myself more. The staff is exceptional from Julien and Bogdan at the front desk, to Raul the bellman, and Marc in In-Room Dining. Reading some other reviews from frustrated people I question what they expected....this is a hotel to stay at if you want to have fun. There will be a little extra noise on certain days of the week, but this is what the brand and neighborhood are - FUN. If you want cookie cutter service, stay at the ritz. If you want to want a stay to remember, and that has as much personality as you do, stay at the Gansevoort.

Room Tip: Upgrades are often available at the front desk upon arrival, you may have to pay a couple extra $$ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear par-le-view,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're pleased your experience was outstanding and we're glad you loved our vibe. We appreciate your kind words and we'll be sure to relay them to Julien, Bogden, Raul, Marc and the rest of our committed team. We agree, the Meatpacking District is an energetic area and we're happy you enjoyed all that it has to offer. We look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have to give the Gansevoort, in the Meatpacking District of New York City a thumbs down. The only good service was the waitress by the pool Saturday June 28, 2014. Other than that, the service was so poor it's not even funny when you pay $500-600/per night at this establishment. The rooftop bar, Plunge don't even waste your time, so many other amazing hotels with awesome service out there. I have no problem spending money when i receive service! Never again will I be staying at this hotel! Too bad since it's a beautiful hotel, in a trendy area.. ashamed the service brought the quality of the hotel down in ranks.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel, such as the Dream just a few blocks down if you want trendy with a pool, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear pusanyc7,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We deeply regret your visit was not up to par and we apologize you were unhappy with the quality of our service. We aim to provide you and the rest of our guests with impeccable experiences and we're disappointed you didn't feel well-taken care of. We'd love the opportunity to prove our commitment in making your stay seamless and we hope to have you again soon. Feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and had a good stay. cool vibe and clean rooms. staff was not as friendly as i would have hoped for given the price was higher than other places in the area. Noisy in the lobby as well. room was poorly lit so it was difficult to read in the room. Food was good and so many great places to eat in the area. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear David K,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you chose to stay with us, but we deeply regret your visit did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer the highest quality of service and we apologize for any miscommunication that occurred with our team. We appreciate your feedback as it will help ensure that all future stays are nothing short of amazing. Additionally, we're always happy to accommodate special requests and next time, we will gladly supply additional lighting. On another note, we are pleased you enjoyed our well-kept rooms and delicious cuisine. We're thrilled you plan to stay with us again, as we look forward to providing an impeccable stay. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Amex, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.