We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 468 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Awesome Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just recently stayed at the Gansevoort Hotel and it was awesome! The rooms were great, the Pool was awesome, and the location was key. Easy to get to by subway and a short walk to the nightlife and great restaurants!

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for the rave review. We're elated your experience was wonderful from check-in to check-out and we're pleased you love the Meatpacking District. We agree, it's conveniently located and offers an immense variety of decadent restaurants and lively nightlife. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    342
    138
    103
    73
See reviews for
145
418
68
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had one of our vendors organize a trip for us, and I was excited to hear that they booked rooms for us at the Gansevoort. I've been to the bar before, but never a guest. Let me just say, wow, what an experience. First off, we arrived early expecting to check our luggage and just hang out by the pool. Nope, not a chance. Room was ready, threw our bags in there, and got to the pool. Pool waitress was fairly available, considering the 50 or so guests she was attending to, so we had prompt service, with little wait time. The rooms were immaculate. Comfortable bed with very chic furniture. After going out for dinner and drinks, I couldn't wait to get back and sleep. I would stay here any time I had an opportunity, and the staff was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Keyser S,

Thank you for the splendid review and welcome back! We're thrilled you were able to stay with us and we're glad you had an outstanding experience. It's the little details that can make a moment memorable and we're pleased we could accommodate your early arrival. Heading to the pool was a great idea and we're happy you found our service to be attentive. We're also elated you enjoyed our cozy beds and we don't blame you for looking forward to a good night's sleep. We would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and were impressed with this hotel. The high ceilings make the room seem spacious, the bed linen is fantastic, bath robes very cosy and service from the front desk and concierge excellent. We particularly liked the way that when we asked for things to be sent to our room they arrived promptly. Also, we had a couple of packages delivered to the hotel during our stay and they were handled efficiently (kept for us before our arrival and delivered to our room whilst we were there) with no service charge. I really like hotels that don't charge extra money for this type of service. The gym is small but functional and the gym staff very friendly. The Chester restaurant is good value and the service excellent. We would definitely stay again.

There are some very minor issues: Because of the location, there is generally quite a crowd at the front door but the 'bouncers' are good at watching for hotel guests and letting them through. There's quite a lot of noise from other guests in the hallways at night (shouting at each other to keep quiet) - but this isn't the fault of the hotel.The pool area is tiny so it gets crowded really early on in the day. No chocolates on the pillow at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TwoBoffins,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and we're pleased you plan on visiting again. We strive to provide the highest standard of customer service and we're thrilled your requests were quickly fulfilled. We're happy you had a chance to indulge in The Chester's delicious cuisine and we're elated you felt well-taken care of. On your next stay, we’d be happy to sweeten up your room with evening chocolates. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Gansevoort in the Meatpacking district and could not have enjoyed myself more. The staff is exceptional from Julien and Bogdan at the front desk, to Raul the bellman, and Marc in In-Room Dining. Reading some other reviews from frustrated people I question what they expected....this is a hotel to stay at if you want to have fun. There will be a little extra noise on certain days of the week, but this is what the brand and neighborhood are - FUN. If you want cookie cutter service, stay at the ritz. If you want to want a stay to remember, and that has as much personality as you do, stay at the Gansevoort.

Room Tip: Upgrades are often available at the front desk upon arrival, you may have to pay a couple extra $$ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear par-le-view,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're pleased your experience was outstanding and we're glad you loved our vibe. We appreciate your kind words and we'll be sure to relay them to Julien, Bogden, Raul, Marc and the rest of our committed team. We agree, the Meatpacking District is an energetic area and we're happy you enjoyed all that it has to offer. We look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have to give the Gansevoort, in the Meatpacking District of New York City a thumbs down. The only good service was the waitress by the pool Saturday June 28, 2014. Other than that, the service was so poor it's not even funny when you pay $500-600/per night at this establishment. The rooftop bar, Plunge don't even waste your time, so many other amazing hotels with awesome service out there. I have no problem spending money when i receive service! Never again will I be staying at this hotel! Too bad since it's a beautiful hotel, in a trendy area.. ashamed the service brought the quality of the hotel down in ranks.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel, such as the Dream just a few blocks down if you want trendy with a pool, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear pusanyc7,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We deeply regret your visit was not up to par and we apologize you were unhappy with the quality of our service. We aim to provide you and the rest of our guests with impeccable experiences and we're disappointed you didn't feel well-taken care of. We'd love the opportunity to prove our commitment in making your stay seamless and we hope to have you again soon. Feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and had a good stay. cool vibe and clean rooms. staff was not as friendly as i would have hoped for given the price was higher than other places in the area. Noisy in the lobby as well. room was poorly lit so it was difficult to read in the room. Food was good and so many great places to eat in the area. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear David K,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you chose to stay with us, but we deeply regret your visit did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer the highest quality of service and we apologize for any miscommunication that occurred with our team. We appreciate your feedback as it will help ensure that all future stays are nothing short of amazing. Additionally, we're always happy to accommodate special requests and next time, we will gladly supply additional lighting. On another note, we are pleased you enjoyed our well-kept rooms and delicious cuisine. We're thrilled you plan to stay with us again, as we look forward to providing an impeccable stay. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I found ourselves kid-free for one night, and quickly looked for a place that would be fun and a little different. The rate we found online for the Gansevoort was very good, and the fact that they had a rooftop pool sealed the deal for us on a hot July weekend.

Front desk (Valerie?) was great and upgraded us to a Deluxe room upon check-in. The room was on the 12th floor and was fantastic. Plenty of room, and beautiful views of the Hudson and the rest of the meatpacking district.

Rooftop pool was crowded, but we skulked about until someone left and we could commandeer 2 chairs. We were definitely the oldest people there (late 40s/early 50s) but we really got a kick out of watching groups of girls from bachelorette parties and single guys making their moves on each other. This is quite the scene, so take it for what's it's worth, have a few drinks, and enjoy. Pool was warm and you can enjoy cocktail service in the water, surrounded by Manhattan views. What's not to love? P.S. Just want to compliment the bartenders and waitresses around the pool. Really tight area to maneuver with trays of drinks. Very impressive!

The location is amazing. Tons of interesting shops, beautiful streets and good restaurants. Great to walk along the Highline and to go for a run along the Westside Highway up or downtown. It is really a party zone, so don't expect a quiet night of sleep. Bring earplugs and just surrender to the fact that you're in the most happening area in NYC these days.

We'll definitely be back for another staycation if the price is right.

Room Tip: If you can, get an upper level room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guej,

Thank you for the brilliant review. Sometimes all you need is a quick getaway to escape the daily grind and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay-cation. It's the little details that can make a big impact and we're glad we could provide a room upgrade. We're also happy you had a chance to lounge on our rooftop. Although it can become quite lively, we're pleased you found chairs and enjoyed people watching. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to the rest of our devoted team. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#81 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#54 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,341 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#258 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#145 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#93 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Amex, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.