We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ovenight stay, even better pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
“Wonderful ovenight stay, even better pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had one of our vendors organize a trip for us, and I was excited to hear that they booked rooms for us at the Gansevoort. I've been to the bar before, but never a guest. Let me just say, wow, what an experience. First off, we arrived early expecting to check our luggage and just hang out by the pool. Nope, not a chance. Room was ready, threw our bags in there, and got to the pool. Pool waitress was fairly available, considering the 50 or so guests she was attending to, so we had prompt service, with little wait time. The rooms were immaculate. Comfortable bed with very chic furniture. After going out for dinner and drinks, I couldn't wait to get back and sleep. I would stay here any time I had an opportunity, and the staff was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Keyser S,

Thank you for the splendid review and welcome back! We're thrilled you were able to stay with us and we're glad you had an outstanding experience. It's the little details that can make a moment memorable and we're pleased we could accommodate your early arrival. Heading to the pool was a great idea and we're happy you found our service to be attentive. We're also elated you enjoyed our cozy beds and we don't blame you for looking forward to a good night's sleep. We would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    344
    138
    103
    74
See reviews for
147
418
68
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and were impressed with this hotel. The high ceilings make the room seem spacious, the bed linen is fantastic, bath robes very cosy and service from the front desk and concierge excellent. We particularly liked the way that when we asked for things to be sent to our room they arrived promptly. Also, we had a couple of packages delivered to the hotel during our stay and they were handled efficiently (kept for us before our arrival and delivered to our room whilst we were there) with no service charge. I really like hotels that don't charge extra money for this type of service. The gym is small but functional and the gym staff very friendly. The Chester restaurant is good value and the service excellent. We would definitely stay again.

There are some very minor issues: Because of the location, there is generally quite a crowd at the front door but the 'bouncers' are good at watching for hotel guests and letting them through. There's quite a lot of noise from other guests in the hallways at night (shouting at each other to keep quiet) - but this isn't the fault of the hotel.The pool area is tiny so it gets crowded really early on in the day. No chocolates on the pillow at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TwoBoffins,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and we're pleased you plan on visiting again. We strive to provide the highest standard of customer service and we're thrilled your requests were quickly fulfilled. We're happy you had a chance to indulge in The Chester's delicious cuisine and we're elated you felt well-taken care of. On your next stay, we’d be happy to sweeten up your room with evening chocolates. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Gansevoort in the Meatpacking district and could not have enjoyed myself more. The staff is exceptional from Julien and Bogdan at the front desk, to Raul the bellman, and Marc in In-Room Dining. Reading some other reviews from frustrated people I question what they expected....this is a hotel to stay at if you want to have fun. There will be a little extra noise on certain days of the week, but this is what the brand and neighborhood are - FUN. If you want cookie cutter service, stay at the ritz. If you want to want a stay to remember, and that has as much personality as you do, stay at the Gansevoort.

Room Tip: Upgrades are often available at the front desk upon arrival, you may have to pay a couple extra $$ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear par-le-view,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're pleased your experience was outstanding and we're glad you loved our vibe. We appreciate your kind words and we'll be sure to relay them to Julien, Bogden, Raul, Marc and the rest of our committed team. We agree, the Meatpacking District is an energetic area and we're happy you enjoyed all that it has to offer. We look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have to give the Gansevoort, in the Meatpacking District of New York City a thumbs down. The only good service was the waitress by the pool Saturday June 28, 2014. Other than that, the service was so poor it's not even funny when you pay $500-600/per night at this establishment. The rooftop bar, Plunge don't even waste your time, so many other amazing hotels with awesome service out there. I have no problem spending money when i receive service! Never again will I be staying at this hotel! Too bad since it's a beautiful hotel, in a trendy area.. ashamed the service brought the quality of the hotel down in ranks.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel, such as the Dream just a few blocks down if you want trendy with a pool, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear pusanyc7,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We deeply regret your visit was not up to par and we apologize you were unhappy with the quality of our service. We aim to provide you and the rest of our guests with impeccable experiences and we're disappointed you didn't feel well-taken care of. We'd love the opportunity to prove our commitment in making your stay seamless and we hope to have you again soon. Feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and had a good stay. cool vibe and clean rooms. staff was not as friendly as i would have hoped for given the price was higher than other places in the area. Noisy in the lobby as well. room was poorly lit so it was difficult to read in the room. Food was good and so many great places to eat in the area. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear David K,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you chose to stay with us, but we deeply regret your visit did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer the highest quality of service and we apologize for any miscommunication that occurred with our team. We appreciate your feedback as it will help ensure that all future stays are nothing short of amazing. Additionally, we're always happy to accommodate special requests and next time, we will gladly supply additional lighting. On another note, we are pleased you enjoyed our well-kept rooms and delicious cuisine. We're thrilled you plan to stay with us again, as we look forward to providing an impeccable stay. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I found ourselves kid-free for one night, and quickly looked for a place that would be fun and a little different. The rate we found online for the Gansevoort was very good, and the fact that they had a rooftop pool sealed the deal for us on a hot July weekend.

Front desk (Valerie?) was great and upgraded us to a Deluxe room upon check-in. The room was on the 12th floor and was fantastic. Plenty of room, and beautiful views of the Hudson and the rest of the meatpacking district.

Rooftop pool was crowded, but we skulked about until someone left and we could commandeer 2 chairs. We were definitely the oldest people there (late 40s/early 50s) but we really got a kick out of watching groups of girls from bachelorette parties and single guys making their moves on each other. This is quite the scene, so take it for what's it's worth, have a few drinks, and enjoy. Pool was warm and you can enjoy cocktail service in the water, surrounded by Manhattan views. What's not to love? P.S. Just want to compliment the bartenders and waitresses around the pool. Really tight area to maneuver with trays of drinks. Very impressive!

The location is amazing. Tons of interesting shops, beautiful streets and good restaurants. Great to walk along the Highline and to go for a run along the Westside Highway up or downtown. It is really a party zone, so don't expect a quiet night of sleep. Bring earplugs and just surrender to the fact that you're in the most happening area in NYC these days.

We'll definitely be back for another staycation if the price is right.

Room Tip: If you can, get an upper level room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guej,

Thank you for the brilliant review. Sometimes all you need is a quick getaway to escape the daily grind and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay-cation. It's the little details that can make a big impact and we're glad we could provide a room upgrade. We're also happy you had a chance to lounge on our rooftop. Although it can become quite lively, we're pleased you found chairs and enjoyed people watching. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to the rest of our devoted team. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the gansevoort for 2 nights having stayed in similar NY hotels. I have never written a review before however feel compelled to do so given the experience and having emailed the following to the hotel and a second email asking for confirmation of receipt a week later have had no response which is really disappointing. Much better New York hotels ...

For the attention of the Reservations Director and Hotel Director

My daughter and I arrived at the hotel on Saturday 14th June just after 09.00 a.m. We didn't expect to be able to check in but were told that our room would be ready soon and that reception would call us when it was available and our luggage would be taken up to the room. My daughter gave the desk clerk the relevant contact phone number to note on our booking.

We didn't receive the expected call and returned to the hotel around 12.30 but our room was not available even though we had been told it would only take a short time to get ready. We left again, returning around 16.30 still not having been contacted by the hotel. We were told the room had been ready at 16.00 and that a call had been made to my daughter's phone. Given that we had been told at 9.00 am our room would soon be ready it was very disappointing for a room only to be ready an hour after 15.00 check in and also not to have received the relevant phone call. We later discovered a call had been made to the wrong number even though at 9.00 am we had been asked to confirm our contact number and had given the one we were using in the US. Clearly records were not updated.

When we got to our room, our luggage had not been taken up and it had a double bed rather than two singles. My daughter went downstairs requesting we be moved to a room with two beds as promised having called and arranged this prior to the trip. My daughter's experience from the manager was not good to say the least. She was asked to provide evidence that this had been agreed and was told that given the time we checked in at 16.30 this would not be an option in NYC on a Saturday night in June. When she challenged advising we'd arrived at 9.00am she was told there would have been a list by 9.00 am and bags would have needed to be in earlier which I doubt very much. The explanation for not having two beds was due to upgrades in bookings and my daughter was told that to get two beds we would have to pay more. When asking what the cost was she was told there were no more rooms as people who had paid more than us had them and hadn't checked in. Very mixed messages, very unsatisfactory and contradictory to say the least. The Manager involved Jonathan from reservations who apologised for some of the comments and arranged a room switch for the second night. From the house Manager all she got was comments on upgrades versus what we had paid. We were assured that the converted sofa bed would be made as comfortable as a hotel bed and we would not know the difference. This was not the case, the bed was concave not flat and my daughter had an extremely uncomfortable and disturbed sleep with the airplane bed on the flight being flatter that the hotel sofa bed.

At the point of leaving reception, my daughter was advised to always get everything promised by hotels in writing to provide evidence, not something I expect to have to do in the calibre of hotel the Gansevoort purports to be. My daughter commented that this level of service and inconvenience is not what we normally receive from hotels and mentioned our stay at the Trump to which she was fold she wasn't at the Trump and they dealt with far less people. The perception we were left with is it's not about service but all about the money at the Gansevoort.

Jonathan from reservations spoke to the manager and asked for a bottle of Champagne to be sent to our room as an apology. The manager said it would be up shortly and asked what time we were leaving the room to arrange for the bed to be made up for our return. Having spent 50 minutes in reception by this time it was 17.20 and my daughter advised we were leaving for a concert between 18.30 and 19. 00 so agreed the bed should be made at 19.00. A bottle of chilled prosecco was delivered at 18.50 an hour and a half after it was 'being sent up shortly'. Had we ordered from room service I am sure it would not have been delivered at that temperature and had I ordered champagne and received sparkling wine would have sent it back.

We subsequently returned back around midnight and were very disappointed to say the least to discover the sofa bed had not been made up as promised and, on going to reception, no one was aware of the position and we had to go through all the details again. The manager was not available and the desk clerk was rude and could not see why the bed not having been made up was an issue. The maid who came to make up the bed said it wasn't her floor but she had heard something
regarding our room. She called her manager to our room who said reception had not passed any instruction on. We moved rooms the next day and my daughter had a much better nights sleep.

Unfortunately on the Sunday afternoon we received equally rude service at the rooftop bar which deterred me from returning to use the bar and restaurant as planned. As part of the Sunday night we had two cocktail vouchers. My daughter ordered drinks at the bar and prior to being presented with the check mentioned she had the vouchers to which the bartender tutted and rudely stated in a derogatory tone 'they don't include a tip' and snatched them before my daughter had the chance to give a tip. This is absolutely appalling and as stated merely meant our going to another local establishment rather than using the facilities at the Gansevoort.

I didn't have time to go through the series of issues again on checking out as my daughter had a surprise birthday lunch planned for me bit I did tell the desk clerk that we had not had a positive experience, were very disappointed with the service received and would be requesting a refund of the first nights stay. I am sure you can imagine my astonishment therefore to receive not only an electronic receipt but also the email below both highlighting the hotels commitment to quality service assuming we'd enjoyed our stay and suggesting we might want to leave positive feedback on tripadvisor !

My daughter and I were very disappointed with the poor service received during our stay and request a refund for the Saturday. Please can you advise when you have made the necessary refund to my credit card.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#90 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#52 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,352 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#254 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#96 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,305 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#146 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#104 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Amex, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.