We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hype place in Meatpacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hype place in Meatpacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place is pretty hype, just opposite the Apple Store in Meatpacking. Nightclub on the roof and terrace downstairs. Good place to stay and smell the atmosphere of New York for a few days. Can surely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear MPH010,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We agree, our location is the perfect area to truly have a New York City experience and we're glad you're fond of it. We appreciate your recommendations and would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    320
    134
    100
    71
See reviews for
136
401
65
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Without doubt one of the best hotels we've stayed in anywhere. The room was sensational, location to shops and the Highline perfect and overall experience terrific. My only critisism would be that of the bar staff on the roof top bar....a little more of a sincere approach to customers would be appreciated. We all understand tipping in the US is part of the cost however if a good tip is given early it would be good to have staff understand that the service level should follow. Didn't detract too much from what was a great experience and one l would highly recommend to friends and colleagues however get it right as the competition in a place like NY will be fierce!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Otto A,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're glad you had a great experience and loved the Meatpacking District. It's a wonderful location filled with a plethora of attractions and we're thrilled you had a chance to experience all that it has to offer. On another note, we apologize your visit to our rooftop did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to relay your comments to the rooftop team. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited NYC, for just one night, with two adults and three kids. We absolutely loved this hotel! The service was impeccable, some of the best I have received in NYC. John, who worked in the front, was so accommodating and helpful! He's a gem! This hotel is definitely worth the money. We were worried that the hotel, and especially the rooftop pool, wouldn't be kid friendly, but it was! The lifeguard, even brought a child sized life jacket over for our 2 year old daughter. The kids loved the pool, and it was very enjoyable for adults. The room was perfectly cleaned and they even re cleaned it and brought us new towels, the same day as check in. When we asked for something, they were there within 10-15 min. I would definitely stay at the Gansevoort Hotel again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jessica M,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time and plan on staying with us again. We work to provide seamless service and we're glad you felt well-taken care of. John and the rest of our dedicated team will be pleased to hear of your kind remarks. It's important to offer amenities that a variety of guests can enjoy and we're happy your family loved our rooftop pool. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Traveled with my husband to NYC in June for business in the Meatpacking District. The location of this hotel is amazing and we happily navigated the area with ease.

I never really know what to expect for a NY hotel. Although we were very comfortable at the Gansevoort, there were a few reasons I gave only a 3 "star" review. First of all, this IS a NOISY hotel. I found this out only after I booked. Not for families. We were not interested in the scene here nor did it bother us. We just were not "wowed" here as thought we might be.

When we arrived to our hotel room the first thing I had to do was call housekeeping to get some windex as all the counter tops (including the bathroom) and end tables were dirty! Bummed we also got a queen bed but since we asked for a somewhat quiet room, we stayed put. The rooms are good size but indeed in need of a makeover! Commen areas were nice but for the $ and reviews I did expect more from this hotel. Front desk not very friendly but doorman and bellmen cordial and pleasant.

The best experience we had was with Monica and Rebecca at the concierge. We wanted to reseach NY upscale salons and Monica booked my husband with a top stylist at Sally Hershberger salon. Monica was friendly and knowledgeable and very helpful the duration of our stay.

We also visited the Exhale Spa downstairs as the hotel offered a great discount for massage so we took advantage of it after we checked in, tired from our travel. The spa also needs updating however our service was excellent. PJ and Shirley were amazing!

Only ordered coffee from room service which arrived quickly within 5 to 10 minutes top - great! You also have to call to get ice every time you need it -fyi.

All in all, we may or may not rebook here - was comfortable but not impressed. Left the door open for me to try the Standard or another local hotel.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear italean,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was a pleasure having you and we're glad you enjoyed your time spent in the Meatpacking District. It's a wonderful location that offers a plethora of attractions, from decadent dining to lavish shopping and more. We're glad you had the chance to take advantage of our concierge and we're thrilled they were able to point you in the right direction. New York City can be overwhelming at times and it's always helpful to have a knowledgable helping hand. On another note, we apologize your room wasn't up to par when you checked in. We would love another opportunity to prove our commitment in making your experience impeccable and we hope to have you again soon. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is great in the heart of the meat packing district. Close to both Chelsea and Tribeca. That is where the positives end. The room service and restaurant are terrible. They also have a club in the bottom floor that blasts music until 4am, even on weekdays to ensure a terrible night sleep. The lobby turns into a trashy club vibe post dinner that isn't really what I want to come back to. This was my second try for this hotel and my last.

Room Tip: Stay as high as possible in hope to avoid the music all night, and hope there is no party at the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Trey D,

Thank you for the review. We sincerely regret that your experience did not meet your expectations and we apologize your stay was disrupted. Although the Meatpacking District is a wonderful area it does become quite lively in the evenings. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and if you choose to stay with us again, our reservations team will happily place you in a room that meets all of your needs. As the saying goes, “The third time’s the charm." We'd love to have another opportunity to provide an outstanding trip from check-in to check-out. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I loved staying here! The location is amazing with plenty to do and see within walking distance of the hotel and close to subway stations to get anywhere else you might want to go. After checking in, I wanted to find a sports bar so I could watch Olympic hockey and grab a few drinks. I asked the front desk staff for a good place to go and instead of recommending their on-site bar, they suggested my friend and I would have more fun at a place across the street. We had a great time (and great food) and made a point of visiting the Gansevoort bar that night, which was also a really great time. The room was very clean and spacious and had great views of the city. I definitely recommend the Gansevoort to anyone and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear SweetKeats,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're pleased your experience surpassed your expectations and we're thrilled you plan to stay with us again. We agree, the Meatpacking District is conveniently located near the subway and is filled with various attractions, lively bars and more. We tailor all suggestions to each guest’s preferences, and we're glad you loved our bar recommendation. We appreciate your compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I usually take day trips to New York City, and so I have only occasionally stayed in a hotel. I got a good price on this hotel, which was a real bonus. It was an excellent location for my purposes, but an extra plus for me was that I really enjoyed the neighbourhood. I walked from Penn Station, popping into galleries along the way. It is well located for bus and subway, too. I walked along l4th Street for groceries, too. Breakfast was fantastic. The only weird thing is the dim lighting in the lift, but once you get used to it, it's okay. I think it's supposed to be romantic, which also goes for the choice of pictures on the walls in the room! I asked for a quiet room, and I had no problems at all with noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear RosaBonheur,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're thrilled you chose to stay with us and we're glad you enjoyed our convenient location. Being able to take a quick subway ride to your destination is one of the many perks our area has to offer. We aim to accommodate all requests and we're pleased your quiet room suited your preferences. In regards to our lighting, our dim elevator is meant to match the rest of our décor, but we do appreciate your feedback and we'll pass it along to the rest of our team. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.