We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with amazing rooftop pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 461 Hotels in New York City
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location with amazing rooftop pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I finished up our honeymoon through North America with 4 nights at the Hotel Gansevoort. We had been to the rooftop bar on a previous visit and knew one day we wanted to stay! We had requested a room with a view of the Hudson River which were moved to on day 2 of our stay as they were fully booked on the Saturday night when we arrived. The location is fantastic being right in the middle of the action in the Meatpacking district close to the bars, restaurants and shops. However unsurprisingly this is not the place to stay if you are wanting some peace and a quiet. The room whilst not huge is fairly typical of what you can expect in NY and had a good amount of storage meaning you did not need to live out of your suitcase.
This hotel is all about the rooftop pool and bar which has the most amazing views and fantastic cocktails! Also it is right across the road from pastis which is perfect for brunch. If you love New York and want a hotel to match then this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LordandLadyH2013,

We wish you a warm welcome back and thank you for the great review. We're delighted with your kind words and will pass them along to our diligent team. We apologize that we were unable to provide your requested room upon arrival, but are glad our team quickly resolved the issue. We’re pleased you enjoyed the Meatpacking District as it truly offers an array of decadent restaurants, luxurious shopping, vibrant nightlife and more. The area does get quite lively in the evenings, but our reservation department will happily work with a guest to provide a room that best suits their needs. On another note, we would have to agree that a trip to the rooftop is always worthwhile with mesmerizing views of the Hudson River. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    304
    125
    97
    69
See reviews for
130
381
62
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
geneva new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Three gal pals spent a weekend in NYC and decided on the GANSEVOORT Hotel... WOW! It was a real treat. We were greeted by Chris at the front desk who seemed to know who we were before we even approached the desk. Gave us a warm welcome, made our check in easy and offered us ideas of places to go and things to do while in the Meat packing district!
Our room, huge for NYC had two double beds and a terrace that looked out over Hudson Street. Every amenity was available in our room ( for a fee, but none the less). The room was spotless, colorful and welcoming! Chris offered to send a bottle of Chardonnay up to our room when we came hone from our evening out and other staff checked on us during our stay. The roof top is beautiful with a swimming pool, roof top bar and restaurant.. beauiful view of the area from the top! Check out was a breeze... door man at our finger tips and we never lifted a finger!
You certainly pay for the area, but it was worth while for a special treat.. which we all deserve. Nice job Gansevoort! and thank you Chris for taking us "under your wing"... it was delightful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear mbg228,

Thank you for the remarkable review. We are honored your experience was nothing short of amazing. Chris and the rest of our devoted team will be pleased to hear of your compliments. It's the little details that make a trip memorable, and we're delighted we could offer a bottle of chardonnay to end your evening out on the town. We're glad you had a chance to enjoy the breathtaking rooftop views. There's nothing better than taking a moment to sit back and relax with great company above the skyline. We look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Convenient location in a FUN part of Manhattan; beautiful hotel; and tremendous customer service - Paul at the front desk is great! Everyone is so friendly. I hosted a bachelorette party in the Meatpacking district. The price was a little high, but we were upgraded to a suite and given a discount on the rooms for booking more than one at a time. It was definitely worth it! I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Jtierney24,

Thank you for the exceptional review. We are delighted to have surpassed your expectations on all levels of service. We will be sure to relay your kind words to Paul and the rest of our committed team. Our reservations department will happily work with our guests to find a room that best fits their needs, and we're pleased that they were able to upgrade and discount your suite. Additionally, we're glad you enjoyed the Meatpacking District. From the vibrant nightlife to the decadent restaurants, it's a wonderful area to host a celebration. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I wanted to take my 18 year old daughter for a birthday trip to New York and to find a hotel that would be chic and stylish yet meet my older tastes as well as hers. She chose this hotel and from the second the taxi drove up to the front door we had a feeling we had struck gold. We walked into the cool trendy foyer from the delightful street and from that moment on, the service was first class. The front desk staff were professional but relaxed and everyone we met was so lovely and friendly. The concierge team were brilliant - and a huge thank you to the amazing Lorenzo for planning every small detail of our complex itinerary to absolute perfection. My daughter and i had the most fantastic weekend and it was in no small part due to the wonderful location, accommodation and services of the Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC. A big thank you from us both for a magical experience. We will be back and recommending you to everyone!

Room Tip: our manhattan suite was not huge but you don't expect that in NYC but it was stylish, comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Helen W,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and happy birthday to you daughter! We are honored to celebrate such a special occasion and are glad your visit was exceptional. We are thrilled you enjoyed New York City and that we were able to make it positively memorable. We will pass your kind words along to Lorenzo and the rest of our team, as we know they look forward to having you again. It's the little details that make a big difference, and we're happy you and your daughter thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary planned for you. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stephan in reservations is the best, very professional, but you can tell he's not just taking an order, he's looking out for us to get us the best room. Can't wait to stay at Gansevoort again. Also great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Liz U,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased our dedicated team was able to provide a room that best suited your needs. We will be sure to let Stephan know of your kinds remarks, and that your stay was absolutely wonderful. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent NYC location with great rooms and amenities.
Consistent great customer service at this hotel from bellman to every single member of personnel.
Special thanks to Bogdan - he is the best, always making sure my stay is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Alon K,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are pleased that you had such an excellent experience and enjoyed the Meatpacking District. We love to exceed your expectations and hope to continually do so in your future stays. Furthermore, we appreciate your kind words regarding Bogdan as well as the rest of our team's outstanding service. We will be sure to let them know of your lovely sentiments. Looking forward to taking caring of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and always enjoy returning. It's conveniently close to most of the places I visit and service and rooms are good. They were very helpful when I needed to extend my visit due to weather conditions. Thanks again for accommodating me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Karen H,

Thank you for the fantastic review. It's always a pleasure having you and we look forward to each new visit. Our team will be happy to know they helped make your stay positively memorable. Your loyalty is invaluable and we hope to continually exceed your expectations. Additionally, we understand last minute travel plans often occur, and we're pleased we were able to accommodate your alterations. Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, TravelClick, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.