We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #180 of 458 Hotels in New York City
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and always enjoy returning. It's conveniently close to most of the places I visit and service and rooms are good. They were very helpful when I needed to extend my visit due to weather conditions. Thanks again for accommodating me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Karen H,

Thank you for the fantastic review. It's always a pleasure having you and we look forward to each new visit. Our team will be happy to know they helped make your stay positively memorable. Your loyalty is invaluable and we hope to continually exceed your expectations. Additionally, we understand last minute travel plans often occur, and we're pleased we were able to accommodate your alterations. Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    283
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
358
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed and had a wonderful experience at the Meatpacking District location, more than once. The rooms were extremely clean and service was implacable. It became our favorite hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear MMOTZA,

We wish you a warm welcome back and thank you for the great review. We’re thrilled with your compliments and are honored to be your preferred Manhattan hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your time spent in the Meatpacking District. From the luxurious shops to fine restaurants, the location truly offers it all. We look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I absolutely love the consistent good customer service at this hotel! I especially want to credit the amazing experiences to Malik S. He's the best! Always prompt, efficient, and professional. The door men always take good care of me as well. I couldn't ask for a better place the call my "home away from home"!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Lawrence W,

Thank you for the amazing review. We are honored that you consider us your home-away-from-home! We strive to provide the best possible guest services and are delighted you experienced this first-hand. We will be sure to pass your kind remarks along to Malik and the rest of our devoted team, as we know they look forward to taking care of you again. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights in a 12th floor suite. Excellent accommodation for 3 persons. Living area used as a second bedroom as we were working all day. Although comfortable, staff made extra effort with extra mattress and sheets. Only slight concern was noise from construction work in street 12 floors below could still be heard from early morning. Front desk and concierge staff faultless. Food in the restaurant was good, Location is exceptional. Restaurants, shops in walking distance.Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear agallerist,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re thrilled with your compliments and will pass them along to our dedicated team. We are pleased we could provide you with a comfortable and spacious suite, but are saddened that the construction disrupted your slumber. We understand the importance of a good night’s sleep, and our reservations team is always more than happy to move guests to a room more suitable to their needs. On another note, we'd have to agree, our downtown location is ideal for an abundance of luxury shopping and decadent dining. We look forward to having you again!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is located in one of the best areas to truly get a flavour of New York and with surprisingly large rooms, a great little roof top night club and bar. Couldn't really fault it and room was amazingly quiet for such a busy hotel.

Room Tip: Views from the top floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Nicsussex_England,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're pleased you were able to retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life in the comfort of our spacious accommodations. Your wonderful sentiments will be shared with the rest of our team and we look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at the Gansevoort this past Saturday night with a few girlfriends for a night out and our stay was great! The hotel's location can't be beat - in the heart of the meatpacking with lots of shops, restaurants, nightlife right outside its door. We were in a deluxe room that had plenty of sleeping area and room to walk around. 10th floor has a nice view of the Hudson. The hotel parking is crazy expensive but we were able to find a free spot onthe street a few blocks away. My friend used the rooftop pool in the early morning and enjoyed it! We also enjoyed the bar upstairs, which is much easier to access as a hotel guest. The staff was very helpful and friendly - especially Bogdan and Dan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Natalya M,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're thrilled that you and your girlfriends had such a lovely experience and will be sure to share your wonderful compliments to Bogan, Dan and the rest of our team. There truly is no other area that offers such a plethora of fantastic shopping, dining and nightlife. We're pleased that you and your friends found the room to be spacious and suitable for a group such as yours. Perhaps next time you and your girlfriends may be interested in our ‘Ultimate Shopping Spree' package. It includes early check-in, late check-out, exclusive discounts to top designer stores, and complimentary valet parking, amongst many other things. The possibilities are endless and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed at the Gansevoort Meatpacking for 3 nights (Mar 22-25).
It's in a great location and is close to some of NYC's best clubs and restaurants.
They accommodated my early check-in, which was nice.
Booked a Grande Deluxe Room and it was spacious for NYC hotel standards.
Prior to booking, I knew there was a rooftop bar (which is open until 4 am on the weekends) and another club downstairs so I was prepared to deal with the noise from party-goers.
However, I was not prepared for, and was very annoyed when I was woken up very early on my last day by loud banging noises coming from the room above me.
Turns out that the repair staff couldn't' wait until after 9 am to do repairs, which I thought was really inconsiderate for some of hotel guests.
When I inquired with reception, all I got was a standard apology.
Regardless of this noise issue, I would still recommend this hotel and will probably stay here again next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear J26Ottawa,

Thank you for the review. We are saddened that your experience wasn't completely up to par. We understand the grave importance of a good night’s rest and we sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance. We work diligently to ensure our guests are safe at all times, and only conduct early morning repairs if the issue is time sensitive. We sincerely regret that our reception team was not incredibly apologetic, and will relay your invaluable sentiments to the rest of our team. Nevertheless, we are glad that your incident does not deter you from us and we are confident that your next visit will exceed your expectations. We’re also pleased that you were able to check in early to enjoy our spacious grand deluxe room and the surrounding area. The Meatpacking District is truly a splendid location and offers the most decadent restaurants, vibrant nightlife and luxurious shopping. Please contact Digital@TheGHG.com with any questions or further concerns. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.