We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and brooding...and a $9 bottle of water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #178 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dark and brooding...and a $9 bottle of water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thumping music in the lobby and thumping music on the roof. I had a quiet room, minus the Sheldon like knocking from maid service on the morning of my check out, but a coworker was too close to the roof top and could hear the disco sounds.

That said, the area is amazing, and I didn't lounge around the room anyway, as there is a ton to walk to and see in this part of town. But not sure I'd want to hang out much in the room. Hallways noisy.

Room Tip: 4th floor room was away enough from the roof and lobby crazy noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Machalter,

Thank you for the review. We regret that you did not find the quiet you needed during your stay. Our rooms are meant to be your retreat from the bustling streets and busy nightlife NYC offers. We are confident that on your next stay, you'll get the peace and tranquility that should've been there prior. Our reservations team will be happy to place you in a room that meets your high standards and sleeping preferences. That goes for your coworker as well! For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    283
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
358
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is an edgy, young hotel with an extremely friendly vibe. I am an older female who needed a vacation away from Long Island and I came to the Gansevoort for the Exhale Spa which is located in the hotel. I took classes everyday and had massages and swam in the luscious outdoor rooftop pool. The staff at the hotel and spa were incredibly nice. The atmosphere was young, as I mentioned but anyone would feel comfortable. There is a great bar and pool table in the lobby but you could also order tea and sit for hours chatting with a visiting friend. The rooms are very clean and the food is great. The service at the restaurant was attentive and genuinely nice. I go to a lot of hotels and I will be back to this one for sure. I really had a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mary326,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted you had a wonderful experience and took advantage of many of our amenities. The rooftop is a wonderful place to catch-up with friends and indulge in the city skyline. Did you know Prieto Select Salon is located right in our hotel? A fresh new hairstyle, or just a fabulous blow-out might be just want you need before a dinner out. We look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It was my first time staying at the hotel and it certainly won't be my last! The staff was warm and welcoming. We were willingly accommodated with any question, request or complaint we had. We had an issue with street noise our first night and called to request a new room and the manager, Paul, switched us immediately to a quieter room. I lost a necklace which was found by Erica Lee in Housekeeping and who immediately passed it onto Security. It was then sent to my home. Thanks Erica!!! Great location to walk around exciting areas of New York - Meatpacking, Village, SOHO. I'll be back!!!

Room Tip: north side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Bdlinn,

Welcome to Gansevoort and thank you for the amazing review. We are thrilled you felt well looked after by our dedicated team, especially by Erica and Paul. They will be pleased to know of your wonderful sentiments. We look forward to taking care of you again and being your NYC retreat.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've stayed at the hotel several times lately and continued to be underwhelmed. I had an issue with the plumbing one time, a frozen thermostat on high the next. The front desk staff have a slightly arrogant attitude, the food in the chester is just ok. On the positive , the manager is very concerned about customer satisfaction. I would suggest the front desk clerk give the staff course in be in friendly and the engineer get things working.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Jim P,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are deeply disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations or make your stay nothing short of perfect. We value your feedback immensely and respect the fact that you continue to give us the benefit of the doubt. We would like to ensure that your comments are taken seriously and we will be taking extra measures to make certain that your future stays only get better. For any further concerns or questions, please contact us at digital@theghg.com

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very modern yet luxurious.
Lovely relaxing stylish seating area to meet friends in the foyer.
Lovely breakfast rook. Looking out onto a busy area, great for people watching.
Great location to mooch around e meat packing area of New York.
Fabulous roof top pool area with stunning views.
Pre book treatments if you want them, as they can get booked up quickly.

If you're lucky, apparently, Lindsey Lohan sometimes comes here drinking at the weekends!!

Brilliant party venue on Fridays and Saturdays. Very chic trendy bar venue. Gets packed.
Drinks are a bit pricy but hey, it's NYC.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Elka F,

Thank you for the great review. We're delighted you're a fan of our rooftop and modern decor. While you were enjoying our expansive views, hopefully you were also able to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool. The Meatpacking District is a lively area and the perfect place to indulge in some 'people-watching' as you previously mentioned. We attract a large array of guests, so you never know who you'll run into under our roof. We look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at the Gansevoort Meatpacking with my best friend for his birthday last year. The location is amazing and Alexis at the Front Desk was a doll upgrading us to a suite and sending a beautiful amenity to the room when we checked in. The suite in the fourth floor was beautiful, so clean and neat, and the bath amenities from CUTLER are definitely a plus plus. The room service late night food was also surprisingly delicious. Very friendly service from the Doorman and pro active and quick check out. I have no doubt in my mind that next time I go to New York, the Gansevoort Meatpacking is where I'll be staying. It was really GREAT!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your the amazing review. We're thrilled to have exceeded your expectations in every aspect of our services. Alexis and the rest of our devoted team will be pleased to hear of your wonderful sentiments. Did you know Prieto Select salon is right inside our building? They even do in-room services so you'll never have to leave the comfort of your suite. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed two nights. Great rooms and location. Rooftop lounge was awesome, had a sweet view. The breakfast service was weak - go out for breakfast, so many better nearby options than that hotel, unless you're in no condition to venture far off...

Room Tip: Our large room was great as it had space for 15-20 people to hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Gus S,

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you're pleased with the rooms and the location. We agree, Plunge Lounge has magnificent views of the cityscape and we're delighted you took advantage of it! On another note, we're disappointed to hear about your breakfast experience and will be sure to pass on your feedback to restaurant management. It is very important to us that your entire stay, from check-in to check-out is flawless, including where you eat. For any further concerns or questions, feel free to contact digital@theghg.com.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.