We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #191 of 452 hotels in New York City
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We came to this hotel after reading reviews and for the proximity to great shops and restaurants. Due to the meatpacking ambiance, the hotel attracts mostly immature party crowds. We were unable to sleep well because groups of rowdy, drunk people kept walking the hallways. The staff was polite and accommodating but they simply stated that is the crowd and ambiance of the location.
I would not recommend this hotel if you want a nice night out with your spouse/partner.
The decor was o.k. except for the pictures hung up of random couples.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear VBrando,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It saddens us you didn’t have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Our hotel does draw a lively crowd at times, however we are more than happy to resituate guests to a room that best suits their needs. We offer rooms away from the elevators and rooftop that may be a better fit for you. For your next trip to NYC, you might prefer our Park Avenue location. It's away from the Meatpacking District's nightlife scene but still centered around amazing attractions, such as the historical Flatiron District. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further concerns or questions. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    260
    113
    91
    66
See reviews for
109
324
57
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I am a regular guest at both the Gansevoort Meatpacking and the Gansevoort Park. Both excellent facilities in great locations.

However as a seasoned traveler, I am
a big believer that it's not just the physical facility, but the staff that makes a for an excellent stay. To this end, I have followed the General Manager of Gansevoort Meatpacking from the Gansevoort Park. His name is Bogdan and he is not only a true professional in every sense, he is the type of person who will go out of his way to assure that your stay is everything you expect it to be. If you have a problem he will rectify it, if you need something, he will make sure it gets done. And he oversees a friendly, helpful and professional staff all the way from the front desk to the concierge to the security.
No hotel is perfect and no hotel never has problems, but to me the proof is in how they handle those situations.

You can rest assured that if you stay at the Gansevoort Meatpacking, you will have a good experience and if anything falls short or you have a problem, reach out to Bogdan.

PS the rooms are a bit smaller at the Meatpacking than at the Park, but the wealth of restaurants and shipping in the neighborhood makes up for that.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Beauryan,

We wish you a warm welcome back and thank you for the great review. We’re thrilled with your compliments and will pass them along to Bogdan and our dedicated team. We truly value your feedback and are delighted you continue to return. Next time, we’ll point you towards new Manhattan opportunities to check out. There’s never a dull moment in the Big Apple! We look forward to taking care of you again.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed there for business and it's a nightmare. At 4am the rooms in my floor had a lot of people on it and the front desk and security weren't ready to help with all the noise.

The room is OK and the address really good but the noise and the service...

If you are not looking for a nightclub do not stay there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ppaschoal,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize your stay wasn’t up to par. We agree, noise is the last thing you want when away on a business trip. Our reservations team is always more than happy to move guests to a room more suitable to their needs. In your case, it would have been our pleasure to situate you in a more secluded area away from the nightlife activity. We would love a second chance to surpass your every need. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'm all about seizing the moment. At times we have had the "I don't want to be a bother" feeling & that's exactly how my friend felt on her birthday this week. Granted we were only 6 days into 2014 and it was the coldest night that the city has seen in over almost 100 years; She's one of my closest friends so I chose to brave the weather & book a room at Gansevoort in the Meatpacking district for a night of fun. Being a native of the NYC I've seen the hotel in passing & have always wanted to have an experience there. In no time she was convinced & we were on our way.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the most respectful staff that I've encountered in a while. We were shaking from our 30 second walk from the car to the lobby but since my information was already in the system the thought of the weather quickly faded due to the expedited service. The ceilings are high, the lighting is soft and the doorman is on point. We really didn't have to wait for entry. It's a very quiet controlled environment. I found it peaceful. We weren't accompanied by significant others so the 1 room was great. I'm a stickler for cleanliness and I have absolutely no complaints. You can tumble down their hallways and while I don't suggest it you probably won't have a spec of lint on your person afterwards. The bedding is so comfortable and the view oh wow. The view is incredible. From the high rise skyline to the cobblestone on the sidewalk you can see everything. It's totally worth every dollar and it was even worth the cold.

We spent the night celebrating at a nearby lounge, so much fun. A couple of friends drove us back. We were able to sit in the hotel lounge for a bit and chat. I'm a creative artist and the drinks were flowing all night. I was on a different wave & truly able to appreciate the space. It's opulent. The different textures made me feel as if anything were possible. Needless to say we over slept a bit. Woke up 20 min before check out and immediately called the front desk. We were greeted graciously and even offered help. I couldn't have asked for a better stay and I know my friend is appreciative as well. As long as you have some respect I'd recommend Gansevoort. It's modern and classy. Check out was just as easy as check in and I can't wait to book again this summer.

Sometime we have that "I don't want to be a bother feeling" fight it and book a room at Gasevoort, it's be worth it. 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear hervision,

Thank you for the detailed review. We were thrilled to provide you with a luxurious shelter away from the cold weather. We loved having you and will continue to provide the highest quality service every time you visit. We adore helping our guests create everlasting NYC memories. Aren’t the views from our rooftop breathtaking? There’s nothing better than taking an afternoon to sit back, relax and sip on a refreshment while looking out onto the Hudson River. We hope you return soon for another celebration or simply for a quick getaway!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a great few days at the Gansevoort Meatpacking. Despite the snow and wind we were very cozy in our suite. Room was great and quiet, tons of space. Chris Richardson at the desk was great, and all the staff were very helpful. Love how easy it is to get cars and cabs and location is great for downtown!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear 727ZIL,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to keep you warm during the frigid New York temperatures. As you mentioned, our location is ideal and close to plenty of renowned shopping and eateries. It’s great you took advantage of this aspect. Very much looking forward to taking care of you again!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The party was awsome! The place, super cosy, with different types of drinks, beautiful people, bathroom super clean, and a wonderful view of NY. The only think I didn´t like was the space...maybe because was a looooooooot of people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Dayana G,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We’re delighted you took comfort in our luxurious rooms. Aren’t the views from our rooftop stunning? It's an ideal spot for celebrating or relaxing above the skyline. Sounds like you found yourself amongst quite a night on the town! Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further comments or questions. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a treat, Chris Richardson the front desk concierge really made our trip enjoyable. This hotel is so lovely and in a wonderful location. Super close to a lot of activities and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mariahdee,

Thank you for the lovely review. Your compliments are truly valued and we’ll be sure to pass them along to Chris. You’re right, there is an abundance of opportunities steps from our front door, and it’s our pleasure to point you in the right direction. We look forward to your return!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.