We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 461 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a great few days at the Gansevoort Meatpacking. Despite the snow and wind we were very cozy in our suite. Room was great and quiet, tons of space. Chris Richardson at the desk was great, and all the staff were very helpful. Love how easy it is to get cars and cabs and location is great for downtown!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear 727ZIL,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to keep you warm during the frigid New York temperatures. As you mentioned, our location is ideal and close to plenty of renowned shopping and eateries. It’s great you took advantage of this aspect. Very much looking forward to taking care of you again!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    305
    126
    98
    69
See reviews for
130
383
62
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The party was awsome! The place, super cosy, with different types of drinks, beautiful people, bathroom super clean, and a wonderful view of NY. The only think I didn´t like was the space...maybe because was a looooooooot of people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Dayana G,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We’re delighted you took comfort in our luxurious rooms. Aren’t the views from our rooftop stunning? It's an ideal spot for celebrating or relaxing above the skyline. Sounds like you found yourself amongst quite a night on the town! Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further comments or questions. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wow what a treat, Chris Richardson the front desk concierge really made our trip enjoyable. This hotel is so lovely and in a wonderful location. Super close to a lot of activities and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mariahdee,

Thank you for the lovely review. Your compliments are truly valued and we’ll be sure to pass them along to Chris. You’re right, there is an abundance of opportunities steps from our front door, and it’s our pleasure to point you in the right direction. We look forward to your return!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am not the type of person who makes reviews on hotels; however, after my experience at the gansevoort hotel in the meat packing distinct I felt implored to reward quality service. I am a frequent traveler for business, and as such, hotel rooms can often blend into each other. But what often stands out from hotel to hotel is customer service. Chris Richardson was both extremely friendly and helpful to my demands. He helped me get my room early knowing I needed to make a business meeting. I can not begin to explain how important this was to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear R K,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We always appreciate feedback and are glad you took the time to share your thoughts. Chris is an important member of our team and he’ll be thrilled with your compliments! We pride ourselves on ensuring that each guests needs are individually met, and are grateful to you for reconfirming our high standards. We’re looking forward to having you back.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I dont really usually write reviews but I was really well looked after during my stay- its in a great location, great vibe at the hotel and I was helped out of everything I needed by the staff- a guy called Chris Richardson sorted out everything I needed and was very professional. I will be staying here on all business trips to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Laurence K,

Thank you for the delightful review. We agree that the hotel is perfectly suited for your business needs, and we’re thrilled to become your home-away-from-home during these work trips. We will continue to provide you with the ultimate in service and comfort every time. See you soon.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at the Gansevoort on a family trip for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Years. It's a fantastically designed modern hotel located right in the middle of the Meatpacking/Chelsea district. The surroundings are beautiful, and the Chelsea Market - a must visit - is literally a block away. Great place to head down for breakfast in the morning.

The rooms were perfectly adequate with all the right amenities, and compared to some other New York hotels I have stayed in - they're huge! We booked a 1 bedroom suite with an interconnecting double bed room and it was like having your own apartment, just without a kitchen. The decor is very interesting and "hip" - one of our rooms had a full length portrait of a fashion model spanned across an entire wall! You feel like you're in New York even when you're in the hotel room.

Service was quite mixed - while we didn't run into any rude employees, generally it's all a bit flat. Would be nice to see the staff give some more personality and go out of their way just that little bit extra to match the amazing energy of the property itself.

One incredibly frustrating aspect we encountered had to do with the key cards. I don't know what was going on - but it seemed every 10-12 hours our key cards would simply expire. This happened for the first five days of the trip and it drove us INSANE. We would have to go down and get new keys made twice to three times a day, and because we had interconnecting rooms - sometimes the front desk would mix the keys up and only allow them to open one room etc. I believe it was an issue with the batteries in the door handles, because once they called an engineer on the fifth day the problem stopped.

One of the biggest recurring critiques of this hotel is the noise. Let me tell you - ask for rooms ending in 16, 17 or 18 on each floor. These rooms are nestled away in the corner of the hotel, far from the elevators and the main street where most of the partying happens. It's definitely worth it - we had family staying in a room directly across from the elevator and they didn't get one night of good sleep.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Gansevoort. It's a great property located in a great area. With a little more attention to detail and personality from the staff, this could be one of the best hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms ending in 16, 17 or 18! The noise is far less of a problem on this side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear BH_Perth,

Thank you for the detailed review. We truly value your feedback and are constantly striving to become the best we can be. We’re glad you enjoyed our trendy New York ambience. We want our service to exude that same sense of quality and luxury. We will pass along your observations to our team. We regret to hear your family was kept up at night. Our reservations team is always more than happy to accommodate guests by moving them to a room better suited to their needs. We loved having you this holiday season and hope to exceed all of your expectations upon your next visit. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any further comments or questions. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

very good hotel but i would make the following comments:
on the positives:
excellent and discreet service at the door, the front desk and the list (elevator)
rooms are a good size (family of 4 sharing one room) and despite the luggage, the shopping etc we did not feel as if we were crammed into a small space
beds are VERY comfortable
negative:
some of the features in the room as 'tired' (finishings, boombox....)
the bar on the top floor is questionable -- patrons leave empty bottles in the lift, if you go there late, the bar stinks of alcohol, the fauna itself....well not my type. Personally all this is a complete no-no in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Nicolas C,

Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for the positive remarks. We regret you didn’t have a perfect stay. We’re glad our seamless service and sizeable guestrooms made up for some of this, however. We are currently is the process of refurbishing, and hope you return soon to take in the improvements. We’ll pass along your feedback to the Plunge Lounge team. We hope the expansive views of the city and Hudson River took your breath away nonetheless. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further concerns or questions. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.