We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Amazing Customer Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #191 of 452 hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Amazing Customer Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am not the type of person who makes reviews on hotels; however, after my experience at the gansevoort hotel in the meat packing distinct I felt implored to reward quality service. I am a frequent traveler for business, and as such, hotel rooms can often blend into each other. But what often stands out from hotel to hotel is customer service. Chris Richardson was both extremely friendly and helpful to my demands. He helped me get my room early knowing I needed to make a business meeting. I can not begin to explain how important this was to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear R K,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We always appreciate feedback and are glad you took the time to share your thoughts. Chris is an important member of our team and he’ll be thrilled with your compliments! We pride ourselves on ensuring that each guests needs are individually met, and are grateful to you for reconfirming our high standards. We’re looking forward to having you back.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    263
    115
    91
    67
See reviews for
112
329
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I dont really usually write reviews but I was really well looked after during my stay- its in a great location, great vibe at the hotel and I was helped out of everything I needed by the staff- a guy called Chris Richardson sorted out everything I needed and was very professional. I will be staying here on all business trips to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Laurence K,

Thank you for the delightful review. We agree that the hotel is perfectly suited for your business needs, and we’re thrilled to become your home-away-from-home during these work trips. We will continue to provide you with the ultimate in service and comfort every time. See you soon.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at the Gansevoort on a family trip for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Years. It's a fantastically designed modern hotel located right in the middle of the Meatpacking/Chelsea district. The surroundings are beautiful, and the Chelsea Market - a must visit - is literally a block away. Great place to head down for breakfast in the morning.

The rooms were perfectly adequate with all the right amenities, and compared to some other New York hotels I have stayed in - they're huge! We booked a 1 bedroom suite with an interconnecting double bed room and it was like having your own apartment, just without a kitchen. The decor is very interesting and "hip" - one of our rooms had a full length portrait of a fashion model spanned across an entire wall! You feel like you're in New York even when you're in the hotel room.

Service was quite mixed - while we didn't run into any rude employees, generally it's all a bit flat. Would be nice to see the staff give some more personality and go out of their way just that little bit extra to match the amazing energy of the property itself.

One incredibly frustrating aspect we encountered had to do with the key cards. I don't know what was going on - but it seemed every 10-12 hours our key cards would simply expire. This happened for the first five days of the trip and it drove us INSANE. We would have to go down and get new keys made twice to three times a day, and because we had interconnecting rooms - sometimes the front desk would mix the keys up and only allow them to open one room etc. I believe it was an issue with the batteries in the door handles, because once they called an engineer on the fifth day the problem stopped.

One of the biggest recurring critiques of this hotel is the noise. Let me tell you - ask for rooms ending in 16, 17 or 18 on each floor. These rooms are nestled away in the corner of the hotel, far from the elevators and the main street where most of the partying happens. It's definitely worth it - we had family staying in a room directly across from the elevator and they didn't get one night of good sleep.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Gansevoort. It's a great property located in a great area. With a little more attention to detail and personality from the staff, this could be one of the best hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms ending in 16, 17 or 18! The noise is far less of a problem on this side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear BH_Perth,

Thank you for the detailed review. We truly value your feedback and are constantly striving to become the best we can be. We’re glad you enjoyed our trendy New York ambience. We want our service to exude that same sense of quality and luxury. We will pass along your observations to our team. We regret to hear your family was kept up at night. Our reservations team is always more than happy to accommodate guests by moving them to a room better suited to their needs. We loved having you this holiday season and hope to exceed all of your expectations upon your next visit. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any further comments or questions. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

very good hotel but i would make the following comments:
on the positives:
excellent and discreet service at the door, the front desk and the list (elevator)
rooms are a good size (family of 4 sharing one room) and despite the luggage, the shopping etc we did not feel as if we were crammed into a small space
beds are VERY comfortable
negative:
some of the features in the room as 'tired' (finishings, boombox....)
the bar on the top floor is questionable -- patrons leave empty bottles in the lift, if you go there late, the bar stinks of alcohol, the fauna itself....well not my type. Personally all this is a complete no-no in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Nicolas C,

Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for the positive remarks. We regret you didn’t have a perfect stay. We’re glad our seamless service and sizeable guestrooms made up for some of this, however. We are currently is the process of refurbishing, and hope you return soon to take in the improvements. We’ll pass along your feedback to the Plunge Lounge team. We hope the expansive views of the city and Hudson River took your breath away nonetheless. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further concerns or questions. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our overall experience of Gansevoort Meatpacking was definetely positive. We were over from the UK to visit our son who lived only a few blocks away so the location was great for us and we really enjoyed the ability to walk to West Village & Greenwich Village with all the interesting shops and restaurants. The hotel is quite noisy as there are some lively clubs and restaurants nearby and our initial room was on the eighth floor and our first night was quite disturbed. I discussed this with reception the following day and they immediately upgraded us and moved us to a room on the eleventh floor which was much appreciated and solved the problem. There is a swimming pool on the roof which must be great if you are visiting in the summer.There is a small gym which was clean and well equiped which I visited most days and there are exercise classes available if required. The staff were really friendly and helpfull with special mention of room service and reception staff. Also very impressed with standard of room cleanliness and housekeeping. The only area I thought that let things down a bit was The Chester Restaurant where we had breakfast every day. I think the staff tried to be helpfull but there always seemed to be some confusion over what we had ordered and I thought the restaurant itself was a bit dull in comparison to the modern contemporary style of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear BrightonEgghead,

We truly value your feedback and thank you for sharing your experience. Our rooftop bar is a very popular destination for local downtown NY’ers and visitors alike. We hope, despite the party, you had the chance to sneak a visit; the view is really something to behold. It was our pleasure to move you to a more suitable room. Perhaps when we see you next, we can tempt you with a therapeutic massage at our renowned Exhale Spa (just the thing for unwinding after an uncomfortable long flight). The Chester is a new addition to our hotel, and we’re grateful for your comments. We'll continue to work to train and educate our hard-working staff. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further questions. Thank you.



Sincerely,



Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here with a group of girls 10 days after staying at The Standard High Line which is literally blocks away. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great area, but the service was lacking. We booked limo service through the hotel – twice. First the limo picked us up from the airport which worked out fine. Next, we had arranged for a limo to take us to a Broadway show. We were in the hotel lobby on time and were told our limo was waiting. Then when we walked to the limo, it drove off. The concierge indicated it must not have been our limo. It was raining and we were in a time crunch to get to the show on time. The concierge just sat down and got on the phone for about 5 minutes without following up with our group. When we asked the concierge if we needed to arrange alternative transportation, he said “are you in a hurry”… Hmm most people arrange transportation based on a pending reservations.. Then he asked a bellman (who was busy) to help arrange transportation. So we went out in the rain and found our own transportation with no help from any bellman or concierge. The hotel did send us two half bottles of vueve the next day and arranged for transportation to pick us up from the show. But, asking for forgiveness, while making the problem less of a problem, is not the same as just getting it right. I will also say, we did not have the hotel door opened for us a single time. The service at The Standard High Line was much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear kstotts,

Thank you for the detailed review. We’re glad you enjoyed the ambience of our property, however we regret to hear about the issue you encountered with our team members. We strive to deliver the highest level of customer service and it saddens us that you did not experience this. We will speak to our concierge team immediately to sort out any confusion, and to ensure positive, helpful attitudes at all times. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope that we will have the opportunity to show you just how much we do value your loyalty. Please feel free contact digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.


Sincerely,


Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a Friday night at the hotel and we had an outstanding experience. Hotel staff was very attentive and the room was clean and modern. The mattress was probably the most comfortable Ive ever slept on.

Centrally located in the Meatpacking district, its a short walk to some great restaurants, bars and clubs (no taxis required). The rooftop bar is a popular spot for locals and business travelers - the bar was 3 deep but the service was still fast. Check out the Highline at sunset for a wonderful stroll.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Robert S,

Thanks for the great review. We’re thrilled our featherbed mattress, goose down pillows and Egyptian cotton sheets provided you with a great night’s rest. We believe a rejuvenating sleep is crucial before exploring all that the New York City has to offer. It’s wonderful you spent time sipping refreshments above the skyline on our rooftop! The panoramic city views are breathtaking. We look forward to looking after you again soon.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;