We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #180 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is our top pick for a hotel downtown. It's location close to the High Line and Hudson River Park is a big bonus. And the rooftop pool with exquisite views is open all year for swimming and gazing at the eye-popping views of Freedom Tower, Empire State Building, Hudson River. Suring our last visit, we had an air conditioning malfunction in our room and Jonathan at the front desk bent over backwards to make it right. He offered options to have an engineer check it out and repair or to have us moved into another room. The problem was fixed and Jonathan checked back with us twice to be sure we were comfortable. He offered us service with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear SassySuzie,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed everything from our rooftop to the various nearby attractions in our downtown location. There’s nothing like sipping on a refreshing cocktail above the skyline while looking out onto expansive views of our beloved city and the Hudson. We apologize again for the air conditioning issue, but are pleased it was resolved immediately and with sincere care. We will be sure to pass along your sentiments to Jonathan and the rest of our team. Next time you stay with us or are in the area, stop by our new American eatery, The Chester, for a delicious bite. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/1dZVV4W. We hope to see you in the future!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    283
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
358
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here for business recently and had a poor experience. The rooms are okay but definitely not worth the price they are charging. I had an issue with customer service. I ended up having to pay for hotel even though it was pre-paid by the business I was in town to see. It took 3.5 weeks for them to reverse the charge! Not acceptable for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Hannah M,

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication you experienced involving the room charge. We are looking into this issue immediately to ensure that it won’t happen again. If you choose to give us another chance next time you’re in New York City, we’ll be sure to have the payment situation arranged in advance to avoid any confusion. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further questions or concerns. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the roof deck pool to the fantastic service - the Gansevoort is THE place to stay in NYC. One of the best features is the location - no need to leave meatpacking - just hang around the hotel - fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Andy P,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted you consider us to be your favorite hotel in the city and will pass along your compliments to our team! Our location truly is in an ideal downtown spot full of distinguished restaurants, unbeatable shopping and popular sights, like the historic High Line. Next time you stay with us, may we recommend tasting the new American eatery in our hotel, The Chester? The buttermilk fried chicken with black pepper biscuits and ham hock gravy will leave you wanting more. We hope to see you very soon!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked a room for my partners birthday, a Standard Double. I flew in from Paris so the plan was plan was to meet her late at the hotel with one of her friends one of her friends. I called ahead to ask for a high room with a view and was told by a lady she would put the request through. On arrival I was greeted with a swift valet service but I encountered a problem, the bus boy left one of my items in the car after they had taken it away and they wanted to charge $50 to retrieve it as the car was not on site. I was a little annoyed, and was told I could walk over and get it for free but I was on a tight schedule. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Double on the 10th floor from the 2nd. The guys at the front desk were very professional and informal so it was easy to relax and explain what I wanted, alp they granted us late checkout. The concierge also helped me organize a bouquet of 20 roses to be sent up at breakfast. The Deluxe Double was amazing, it was a large furnished room, with an exquisite bathroom. I love a room with a decent bathroom. There was also a great selection in the minibar. It is noticeable the treatment you receive if you are a guest staying in the hotel or just there on a night out. The staff are genuinely nice and helpful. Props to Jared who helped me in times of need. He helps give the Hotel that extra bit of service that all customers look for. The rooftop bar & pool was amazing too, it was great for tanning as we had the weather in the 80's. I would come here again. Close to great restaurants of Chelsea & brilliant for shopping

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

Thank you for the review. We’re thrilled you celebrated your partner’s special day with us and are glad it was time well-spent. Although there was a brief fault in the valet service when an item was left behind, we’re happy to pull through with a room upgrade and a smooth stay. We’ll pass along your sentiments to the wonderful Jared and the rest of our team. Next time you visit, we will lead you towards even more exciting activities and delicious options in the nearby area. Spend an afternoon strolling along the High Line, taking in the expansive city views, and end the day with a lovely dinner at one of the Meatpacking District’s renowned restaurants, such as Bagatelle or Scarpetta. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here as part of a girls night in NYC. We were three girls in one room (king bed and sleeper sofa) which was a good size. The room was a bit pricey but there were not many options in NYC to sleep three so it was not that bad. The service was great - Chris was particularly helpful. Housekeeping also came within minutes when we asked for the sofa bed to be made up. The rooftop pool was amazing as we got lucky with weather and it wasn't very crowded. We also spent the evening at the rooftop bar (staying there allowed us to avoid the long lines) - the views were gorgeous and the bartender was very nice and helpful. The location could not be better - right near great shopping, the Highline, Chelsea market, many bars/restaurants, beautiful cobblestone streets. Also a short walk from Soho, W Village and other great NYC areas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Natalya M,

Thank you for the review. Sometimes a girl’s night out is just what you need and we’re glad you spent it with us! We’re pleased you were impressed with everything from our service to our rooftop and of course our wonderful location in the Meatpacking District. If you visit again, our concierge team will point you towards even more trendy, nearby options to check out in the area. We bet you’ll love the Asian-fusion restaurant Buddakan for an upscale dining and nightlife experience. Try the lobster egg rolls and the Cantonese steamed sole. The opportunities are endless in Manhattan! We hope you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great room, very accommodating staff (they allowed me to look at 3 different rooms, made sure I was satisfied). They sent up 2 bottles of wine, gratis, and granted us late checkout without a problem. The room was stylishly done, very comfortable bed, great bathroom.
Rooftop bar (and pool) great, terrific views, and the late night rooftop club scene was fun.
We live downtown, and are looking forward to another stay-cation there soon!

Room Tip: Grand deluxe room was bigger, had a king size bed and a bathtub. Better view as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Joyous_Health,

Thank you for sharing your experience. First of all, we send our best birthday wishes to your husband and are delighted you celebrated the important day with us. It’s a shame Pastis didn’t please your appetite, but there are a number of renowned restaurants in the Meatpacking District that we bet you’d enjoy. In fact, we just opened a new restaurant right in our hotel called The Chester. It’s an American eatery and bar that is already creating excitement on the cobblestone streets. You can’t go wrong with their lobster cobb salad. We hope you check it out next time you stay with us!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I took my husband here for his birthday and we both loved it. So close to great restaurants and nightlife. The concierge didn't give us the best restaurant recommendations. We went to Pastis and it was terrible! Completely overpriced and not good food, at all. We loved the hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Joyous_Health,

Thank you for sharing your experience. First of all, we send our best birthday wishes to your husband and are delighted you celebrated the important day with us. It’s a shame Pastis didn’t please your appetite, but there are a number of renowned restaurants in the Meatpacking District that we bet you’d enjoy. In fact, we just opened a new restaurant right in our hotel called The Chester. It’s an American eatery and bar that is already creating excitement on the cobblestone streets. You can’t go wrong with their lobster cobb salad. We hope you check it out next time you stay with us!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.