We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for our family of three and though we felt like we might not be cool or hip enough to stay there, we were never treated that way. This place is gorgeous, roomy and lavish. Anyone who complains about the rooms is just too finicky. I couldn't find anything to complain about. The decor is pleasing and the amount of space you get is more than any we've seen in our five stays in the city.

We did not visit the bars or lounges as we do not drink very often, so we cannot review those aspects, however, I think it may be a bit unfair to grade the hotel on their bars when you are in NY and can go to so many other places and have libations. And to not have stayed at the hotel and review the lounges isn't fair either. These should be separately rated.

I would go back anytime and maybe every time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear bbqrulz,

Thank you for the great review. We’re pleased to hear your wonderful compliments - the feeling is mutual. If bars aren’t your scene, our concierge team would love to point you towards amazing dining options in the area. We suggest a trip to Chelsea Market for shopping at Anthropology or maybe venture for a bite to eat at one of its well-renown eatery options such as Sarabeth's Kitchen and The Lobster Place. The possibilities are scrumptious and endless. We hope you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    311
    126
    99
    69
See reviews for
132
389
62
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bay shore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at gansevoort this past weekend 6/22. When we first walked in we were like wow this place is amazing! When we got to the desk to check in our room was not ready which okay was not a big deal. So they asked us would we want to down grade our room to a roof without a terrace which was why we paid the extra money for a terrace. And still charging us the price of the higher room. That was the first thing. Then within 10 minutes our original room was ready. The roof top pool was beautiful and the waitress by the pool was great. The wait staff at the bar and bartenders on the other hand were not. We wanted to go up to the club that night and it took us 30 minutes to get into an elevator for our floor. They were packed the elevators because they let people in from the outside to use the lounge upstairs. We had to take the elevator down to go back up that's how bad it was. The bartenders that night were absolutely so rude and the wait staff that night were yelling at you to get out of your way and throwing your drinks around. Not respectful at all, the bouncers were rude as well. We did not feel like we were treated as well as we should have since we paid a good penny to stay. So nice hotel, great location, don't recommend going anywhere near upstairs at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ctice29,

Thank you for the detailed review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. We are looking into your concerns regarding our rooftop management, and will be passing along the information to the rooftop team. The suite with a private terrace is a wonderful choice, and we are glad you experienced the secluded cityscape view. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to surpass your needs in every aspect of our services. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any questions.

Sincerely,

HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our total experience in Meatpacking was great, and great service from individuals like Omar made it even better. The location of the Gansevoort is perfect.
Why do you require 200 characters? Please don't answer this question, but you should give some thought to deleting the rule.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for the review. Omar will be pleased to know he made your stay memorable. Our Meatpacking hotel is in a prime location for a plethora of restaurants fit for foodies and of course the sought after Soho shopping experience. If you stay with us again, our concierge team would be more than happy to introduce you to even more activities and sights in Manhattan. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelsall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent service from the reception to housekeeping. Excellent views from the rooftop pool and bar, room lovely and with an upgrade on arrival even nicer with a terrace to relax on at the end of a long day. Excellent restaurants in very close proximity which meant after a long day out it was great to be able to go back to the hotel and relax before dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Coopersollom,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your upgraded suite, complete with a private terrace. Our dedicated Gansevoort team will be pleased to know that your stay was positively memorable from check-in to check out. Were you able to walk the historic High Line or explore Chelsea Market for fresh delicacies? There are so many new discoveries to be made in NYC, that one trip just isn't enough. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Gansevoort in the meatpacking district. From the valet who graciously greeted us to Jonathan and Jenny at the front desk, the staff was superb. Even the life guard at the pool was extremely professional and courteous. I had my daughter and some of her friends with me - and reserved two connecting rooms. They were spacious and very upscale. Best part was I didn't hear much from their room in spite of being on a low floor. The breakfast the next morning sitting outside was wonderful. But far and away the best part was relaxing atop the hotel at their pool. It's next to their bar, yet separated and gorgeous. The view is amazing - and the Freedom Tower greeted us each morning. The ONLY negative is the police decided to have a checkpoint outside the hotel until the wee hours - so their sirens were definitely not following any rules of quieting down. Welcome to NY . . . nothing you can do about it from the hotel's standpoint - but ask for a high floor to make it a perfect experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear travellady0613,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you are pleased with so many aspects of our hotel! NYC is the city that never sleeps, however, we'll provide just the right ambiance for your night time needs. We will be sure to let Jonathan and Jenny know that they helped make your trip wonderfully memorable.For even more amazing views of the city, check out the historic High Line next time you visit. You won’t be disappointed with the art, landscaping, and gorgeous sights. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

@Hotel Gansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago for three nights for a wedding in Manhattan. For what we payed (triple room) it was very expensive. The room was small, but very clean and modern. The view from the window was a lovely reminder of the splendor of New York city. The rooftop pool looked cool, but we never had the chance to utilise it. The view across the Hudson River was glorious. The neighbourhood around the hotel was an up and coming popular area of town, with nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Danny C,

Thank you for the review. We offer a variety of room types and sizes – let us know your preferences and we will provide you a suite that best fits your needs. We're glad you enjoyed the panoramic view of the city and the breathtaking Hudson River scenery. Maybe next time, you'll be able to experience our rooftop pool – it's a refreshing experiencing from head-to-toe. Along with our restaurant Toy, our rooftop offers plenty of food and refreshments to feed your indulgence. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any other questions or concerns. We hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my girlfiend for 4 days. The room was good but the bed was excellent!! The service at the front desk was excellent with professionals clearly trained for their task and of global quality. The same can not be said about other services, ie. the concierges (talked to 2 different persons) were too arrogant and not service minded. The pool and rooftop bar are excellent venues however the service there is terrible. The bar personnel is not attentive and below standards for such a hotel. Everyone, from the hostess to the waiteress to hte bartenders seemed confused about their task and not friendly at all. In addition, whereas smoking is adverted (also by the front desk) as permitted in the outside part of the rooftop terrace, it is not. The hotel caters a club downstairs and the rooftop lounge as going-out destinations for the general public in the going out nights which is excellent for a guest since it is an in-house option to go out.
All in all a 4 star rating!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Andrej A,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any negative experiences during your stay. We strongly value seamless hospitality in all areas of our services and are looking into the issues you had. We are glad you enjoyed our plush feather beds as well as the convenient nightlife. Should you choose to stay again, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your expectations. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any other concerns or questions. Thanks again, and we hope you return in the future.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.